First Dogsgiving

Courtesy of the Pond

Queen Bitty is brilliant.  This year, she’s instituted a pre-Thanksgiving special dog-centric celebration, since too many dogs are ignored on Thanksgiving while the humans gather and gorge. 

So from the Pond (where Bitty lives) to the Woods, it’s the first annual Dogsgiving!  Bitty and Bear are celebrating with turkey legs, but of course, we need a Sissy-friendly diet, so we’ll be celebrating with salmon and potatoes instead.  The fur-girls have posted their take on things here

Do your dogs celebrate holidays with you?  Even in my “real life” (read: local, not just here in doggy bloggyland), my friends are pet-centric.  Yesterday I got a text and saw a Facebook discussion about where to board pets.  In my family – on both sides AND inlaws – our pets get and give gifts too.

Happy Dogsgiving!

14 comments on “First Dogsgiving

  1. Bridget says:

    Of course our pets participate in holidays – eating, gifts, excitement! That’s part of the fun! (I get it honest too, since my parents did the same.)

    Happy Dogsgiving to the girls!

  2. gmariesews says:

    Of course – my dogs all have personalized stockings. They get and give pressies and there is usually some hullabaloo about the holidays – they get skin and icky parts that people don’t normally eat. g

  3. Katherine says:

    Our fur-babies do indeed join in the holiday festivities! I just bought one of Macy’s gifts yesterday. She loves her tree with the squirrels inside so much that I bought her extra squirrels. She will receive several gifts, as will Max, and this is one that she will share with Max. He doesn’t like the tree–only the little stuffed squirrels. Macy loves to drag the tree around with her. Yes, holidays extend to the pets in our family. Without them there would be no celebrating!!

  4. Nichole says:

    The “important” family gives our dogs gifts… 😉 And no way would I ever consider boarding my dogs over the holidays!

  5. Sue says:

    My dogs celebrate more than we do. They have special traditions that we follow and favorite treats to share. They love opening gifts and shredding the paper. It wouldn’t be a holiday without them around.

  6. Nancy says:

    Sounds like a fun celebration for the four-legged family members. Bon Appetite!

  7. Marjie says:

    Duckie, as handled by Queen Bitty, is brilliant. She has such fun festivities! I saved a bunch of take-out chinese food containers, so I can give our friend Greg leftovers to take home to his golden retriever, Dakota. He’s the dog who came to visit, and Mark was walking him around our yard, a few months back. He deserves Thanksgiving, too.

  8. kathy b says:

    THe feline Clowder around here will indeed be offered turkey tonight. We are early due to Fireman’s working THursday and I just couldnt wait another night for the bird….
    I will give them the dark meat as their regular food is duck and green pea….
    We have just learned that Tank has a heart mumur….not good…but we are not going to begin the echos and ekgs just yet…

  9. Kathy says:

    Here”s a dog worry for you. Lucy is spending her first night ever alone tonight. Rene is working, I’m on vacation. Pet sitter will be in three times, last around 10:00. Then Lucy is on her own until Rene gets home tomorrow about 7:00. Every other night she’s been with either or both of us or in a kennel with her doggy buds.

  10. Blond Duck says:

    Thanks so much! 🙂 I was going to put their pictures up but no other doggies besides the girls wanted to come, and I didn’t want to throw them up without your permission…I hope you’re not upset!

  11. I’m still trying to decide what to do with Micro on Turkey Day. Don’t want to leave my bud behind, but he’s becoming pretty anti-social with people he’s not familiar with. Then there’s poor diabetic Maggie. /le sigh/

  12. We do include our pets at holidays…they give us joy year round, so it would be unthinkable to leave them behind, or just leave them of the festivities…

  13. Natalie says:

    Awe! what a fun idea! 🙂 My dogs will most likely get nice yummy antlers or some kind of bones as their treats!

Leave a Reply

