Pickin’ and Choosin’

I suppose today kicks of the commercial side of Christmas, or depending on where you live and such, it might have started sometime yesterday, whenever the pre-Black Friday sales began.

In case you can’t tell, I’m no fan of Black Friday, crowds, or full parking lots.  However, I am proud to support the 3rd annual Small Business Saturday tomorrow.  (Forgive last year’s graphic…  my old relic computer at work isn’t playing well with the site this year.)

Now, I do shop online and at big box stores.  Frankly, little makes me happier than to let my fingers do the typing/clicking, but as I am employed by a small business, married to a small business owner, was the daughter of a small business owner, etc., I am well aware that small businesses and their suppliers need my business, so when I can put on my public face and go shopping, I try to frequent small businesses.

The definition of a small business is open for interpretation.  Certainly, the Etsy crafters and other owner/sole employee businesses fit the bill, but Wikipedia suggests that businesses with up to 500 employees fall in there too.  Franchises are also up for debate, so keep all of that in mind as you scan my list of favorite small businesses.

  • Dog House Yarns  –  Closed today (Friday)
  • The Pink Palm  –  While part of the Lilly Pulitzer brand, it is independently owned and part of a small (4) chain
  • Bevello  –  Another growing-chain boutique
  • Sammy Snacks – A local pet food company gone “global”, but since I can still walk in and chat with the owner, it’s small!
  • Rock Paper Scissors – For people who still like paper
  • Horton Vineyards
  • Darling – I might become a thrift-shopper yet!
  • Piddleloop – Project bags marketed for knitters but they’re cute enough for anyone!

(While I haven’t been compensated for mentioning any of these businesses today, I do have a personal relationship with most of them.  It’s why I’m comfortable telling you about them; because I know you won’t be disappointed!)

Pretty sure you can’t pull that together in a couple of hours…

As for the title of this post… well, I’m pickin’ and choosin’ the parts of the tradiational holiday stuff I’m doing this year.  Life is hectic, and I’ve wanted to host a gingerbread house decorating party for years, so guess what the JLC Board meeting/party is going to feature?!  I’m sure there will be some disappointed people and perhaps even a hurt feeling or two, but I’m going to do what I need to do to find and hold onto the joy of the season. 

Let the Christmas season begin. 

What holiday tradtions do you hold dear?

 

7 comments on “Pickin’ and Choosin’

  1. gmariesews says:

    Santa Puzzle::Living Trees::Christmas Lights::It’s a Wonderful Life::Decorations

    My familys loves the tradition of PJs for Christmas and socks – both handmade by mom. I support small businesses like the local chain fabric store, my friends who make stuff, the local yarn stores, local nursery, etc.

    We have never made a gingerbread house – but I will get downtown again this year to the see the houses. g

  2. AlisonH says:

    Picking our own tree in the woods, tromping through the mud to get it, bringing it home and always, always finding it’s bigger inside the house than out in the forest–there’s something comforting about that. Nature, bigger than life, right here.

    And then my hubby decided to ditch the allergies and the bother and got a prefab tree after several years of no no no! from me. Breathing is good.

    Family time, though. That’s the real part. We’ll have three kids home–can’t wait.

  3. Sue says:

    My Mom and I used to shop on Black Friday before it got so crazy. We’d do a little shopping mostly for each other and have a nice lunch and we both looked forward to it.

    Now I shop on Black Friday, but I do it in my robe and bare feet at my trusty computer.

    I’m trying to do mostly hand made this year. Etsy, here I come.

  4. Nancy says:

    • decorating the Christmas tree while listening to carols a day or two after Thanksgiving
    • Advent candles and devotions at my kitchen table during the season
    • counting down the days with my Advent calendar and treats
    • serving oyster stew on Christmas Eve

  5. Katherine says:

    Our whole family gathers around 9:00 Christmas morning for a big breakfast and to exchange gifts. Around noon we pack up and go to SIL’s parent’s house to do it all again (eating and gifts). This year, however, we have all decided to not exchange gifts and each make a donation to a charity or group. It feels good already and I hope it is a tradition that will continue in the future!!

  6. Nichole says:

    Great post! Reminds me… we happened upon Sammy Snacks at Marshall’s — of all places!!

  7. kathy b says:

    I love to hear your ideas about where to shop Channon. Your picking traditions is so important…no reason not to LOVE the season. Good to get planning so you have TIME for the dogs and the Knight and some quiet walks in the Virginia woods

Leave a Reply

