Spinning Retreat

Roughly 10 days ago, I went to the Dog House Yarns spinning retreat at Graves Mountain Lodge.   I really enjoyed the speaker, the scenery, the camaraderie, the food and just spinning for hours on end!

DSC03240Rosanne and Dog House Yarns always have great goody bags and door prizes.  Here’s a glimpse of the contents: two mini-braids of fiber from Greenwood Fiberworks, a wraps per inch tool complete with an attached list of gauges, and some Mary Kay lotion.  Sissy and Gretchen supplied the dog hair on the fleece throw.   Hem. 

The WPI tool was hand-crafted by Fritz of Dog House Yarns.  It’s a handy little thing and will live happily in the end table with my other fiber-like tools.

I also managed to score a door prize of even more Greenwood Fiberworks “pigtails”. 

DSC03242
Aren’t they pretty?  Pigtails – the small, sampler-sized braids – really appeal to me as I can spin them in one sitting.  I’ve done one cowl with some of my first handspun bits, so I’m already pondering what I might do with these beauties.

I brought home some other goodies as well, including some “faux” cashmere for Gg.  While it is synthetic and thus, doesn’t smell like cashmere, oddly that’s what the girl went for as I spread everything out to admire my haul.  No, I don’t have a photo, because I was too busy rescuing the fiber from Gg.  Since it was bagged and she couldn’t rub all over on it, she clamped the bit sticking out of the bag in her mouth and was about to trot off with it!  

DSC03237

I’m spinning a rather non-descript, long-staple processed wool right now, and she couldn’t care less about that, even with the PANK in there.   I’m almost done, and I’m eager to finish it up and get it plied so I can see what the girl thinks of the faux cashmere when I spin it.

To the spinners out there… what’s on your wheel or spindle? 

 

16 comments on “Spinning Retreat

  1. Nancy says:

    I’ve never tried spinning, but it is tempting.

    Congratulations on your door prize loot: I love the colors.

  2. Katherine says:

    Wow! The things we don’t know about people we think we know! I didn’t know you were a spinner. It’s something I have resisted because all I need is one more thing to consume me and/or my time!! Anyway, the fibers are lovely and I can’t wait to see them finished and knit up into something beautiful.

  3. kathy says:

    All those braids are such pretty colors. I will look forward to seeing the spun yarn and what you later make out of it. I have too much yarn as it is so spinning is not a hobby I need to add to my list but I admire those do spin.

  4. gmariesews says:

    Hmmm- have you considered spinning the yarn and then weaving with it? Wouldn’t that make a wonderful scarf? Handspun yarns — yum. I’ve seen photos of some of your handknit projects and they are lovely!

    And no – I don’t spin, nor do I weave. And I have no intentions of starting either. But I do think it looks lovely and meditative. Right now I have an embroidery project (hand) that has to be finished and I have NO DESIRE to do it at all! Consequently, I’m vacuuming, folding and putting laundry away, cooking and doing dishes. UGH. Tonight I’m knitting with the girls. g

  5. Sue says:

    I agree with Katherine, I don’t need another hobby. It bothers me that I can’t figure out how to knit and cross stitch at the same time.

  6. Nichole says:

    Beautiful fiber … such pretty, vibrant colors!

  7. Marjie says:

    Door prizes! Lucky you!

    I spin myself into a tizzy cooking and baking. Does that count?

  8. Blond Duck says:

    Ha. I thought you meant the gym class!

  9. Ruth says:

    The only thing I’m spinning here is a yarn….as in a tall tale. Lovely goodies from the retreat!

  10. Barbara says:

    Lucky you with the door prize!
    I think the braided yarns look fun. Have no clue about spinning, but I know you are one talented woman.

  11. AlisonH says:

    Sing it with me: “So that’s the way we all became the braid-y bunch, the braid-y bunch…”

  12. Karen says:

    I’m drooling over your haul, Chan. Seriously! I haven’t spun since my surgery but seeing your goodies makes me want to see if I am ready yet. I love when I dream about yummy fibers and spinning….,glad I saw this before I go to sleep!

  13. Walden121 says:

    Love the spinning!

  14. Amy says:

    Greenwood Fibers is one of my all time favorites! It spins like a dream and her colors are amazing.

  15. I got nothin’. Still need to fix the wheel from when it got damaged in the move. Love those pigtails…the colors in them are gorgeous. 🙂 I have managed to knock out several knitty Christmas presents, though. (Catching up on posts tonight. Glad you got some reassurance from the Eye Care group. Give both the girls a kiss for me.)

Leave a Reply

