Fur-girls immortalized?

Happy Thorsday, little friday, Thankful Thursday, eve of last day of work before a long weekend for many of us…

DSC03227Gretchen is lobbying for royalties and the lawsuit that would be necessary to make them happen.  Hem.  She’s supposed to be my not-trouble-maker!! 

What say you?  Does the ornament basically blogless Susan sent favor Sissy and her tutu too much?  (Follow the link above to the girl’s blog to see Sissy in her pink tutu if you need to refresh your memory!)

Personally, I say no.   When the JLC was looking into doing a cookbook, we learned that if you change as few as three things in a recipe, copyright issues go out the window.  So…

DSC03230

  1. Ornament hound is a tri-color…  maybe.  Sis is registered as a lemon and white, but is arguably only two colors – reddish-lemon and white. 
  2. Ornament hound is wearing pearls.  Gg is my necklace-wearer.  (Yeah, that’s a stretch too…  Sis will wear most anything I put on her.)
  3. Ornament hound has no freckles, and Sissy has freckles everywhere, especially on her feet and legs.

e44d4104-9367-4c77-a468-f9cc552bbc96Now, Susan’s Gg-like present is also quite the look-alike.   Dock the tail and it’s pretty darned close too!

DSC00182

Puppy Gg around 4 months.

Which gift do you think is most like the fur-girl it represents? 

Do you collect items of your dogs breed or likeness?

I want to do theme trees one year.  I think we almost have enough to do both a fire department themed tree and a dog-themed tree.  I’m pretty sure the bassets are the dominant ornaments; I just don’t find as many Jack Russell ornaments for some reason.   Odd, given that JRTs (or any AKC variation on the breed) are very popular in these parts.

Thankful?  I’m thankful for thoughtful friends who REALLY get me and my dogs.  I’m thankful for friends and relations whom all seem to be focusing more on the reason for the season than on shopping and gifts.  And I’m thankful for the special times with friends and family that happens around Christmastime each year.

What are you thankful for today?

14 comments on “Fur-girls immortalized?

  1. Nancy says:

    Both ornaments are great – I especially love the tutu!

  2. gmariesews says:

    Yes, I do collect dog items in my breed. I have tiny china bassets and some lovely bloodhound figurines. I have bloodhound picture frames and heart shaped treasure boxes. I also have enough dog themed ornaments to do a themed tree – I think it’s fun. I also love the idea of hanging the dog’s actual collar on the tree – of course, mine don’t have collars and now that makes me sad 😦

    I think both items very obviously resemble both dogs and it would be toss up for me to pick which was a better likeness.

    Thankfulls: good convos::AAA::health::snow::4-wheel drive vehicles::heat::a few minutes of stolen sewing time to reconnect and feel better:: g

  3. Marjie says:

    Those are really cute ornaments. And if Sissy wants to believe that Bassett is her, just dressed up a little to look like her sister, well, that’s fine, right? I hope you can do your theme trees soon – maybe using table top sized trees?

  4. Sue says:

    The JRT looks a lot like GG, but I love the Basset in the tutu. That is so Sissy. It’s the sort of thing that makes everyone smile. We have tons of dog stuff including a tree full of ornaments. One can never have too many dog, real or otherwise, around the house.

    I have something special to be thankful for today and I’m going to do a post about it.

  5. Susan says:

    Wow, I feel like a celebrity!!! Two blog posts devoted to my meager little gifts. Both of them all but jumped off the shelf at me!!! They wanted to go live with Sissy and Gretchen!!! Glad they are well liked.

    Aunt Sus

  6. kathy b says:

    TUTU ornament is a riot.
    so much to be thankful for: family coming home for CHristmas, our health, and 30 years with the Fireman

  7. Natalie says:

    Love the tutu ornament!!! But the picture looks just like Gg!!!

  8. Ruth says:

    Both adorable. Who can choose which is more like the grrrl in question? Thankful school week will be over in an hour…let the vacation (from school) begin!

  9. Katherine says:

    I do collect JRT items and every year I have my JRT calendar above my desk. Can’t go a day without seeing those precious fur faces!! I’m thankful to be home and by the fire with my knitting. I’m also thankful that “Loaded Potato Soup” was hot and ready in the crockpot for dinner. No work tomorrow–I’m free!

  10. AlisonH says:

    Those are adorable.

    And, having most of my family home or coming home–it’s wonderful seeing my grownup kids enjoying each other’s company.

  11. Karen says:

    What am I thankful for? That I can call you a friend. I hope to meet someday in RL :). I’m also thankful my boy is home and my family is together for 24 days! I love the basset ornament! Do you know where it came from, it favors my girls a lot. I do collect basset themed things, poor little Tiffany always gets the shaft – being Yorkie/Bichon mixed. I love the idea of themed trees. I have a year round alpine tree that is my Fiber theme tree. During February I add my 4 Snoopy with hearts ornaments that have our names on them. 😀

Leave a Reply

