Hounds, the common denominator

DSCN0827

Baby Sissy celebrating her spin on Boxing Day, 12-07

Happy Boxing Day!   I miss December 26th at my stepmom’s homeplace.  I miss the spoonbread, the Virginia country ham biscuits (really… all ham biscuits should be two-bite-sized and feature thinly sliced, very tender country ham), her SPECIAL egg nog, cheese biscuits (think cheese “cookie” with a half pecan pressed on top), and tremendously good cheer.  Knowing Boxing Day would happen made it easier to be a good sport and work Christmas Day when I was a paid firefighter.

Courtesy of Write Meg

Courtesy of Write Meg

Am I the only one who has food associations for holidays?  Even though I don’t like goose, I’m still a little sad there’s been no Christmas goose for years and years.   When we were much younger (read: teens?) my lone male cousin on my maternal side and his father provided said goose for our family fete, straight from their own river access, right there on the farm.  Now, I’m quite accustomed to my sister’s beef tenderloin for Christmas dinner.  I’m also all about local food customs, and some say spoonbread, along with the Virginia country ham, originated right here…  The same formerly-goose-getter cousin introduced us all to his adult hometown’s stuffed ham.  (Don’t judge.  I hate kale and still thought this was quite tasty.)

photo.JPGNext up is a pretty basset stamp a friend used on the envelope of her Christmas card.  I think I need to find one!  I just love a freckled basset… 

I’m sure Sissy would love to have a stamp.  Of course, then Gretchen would want one too…  hmmm…  I think I’d get plenty of use out of them though, don’t you?

IMG955405.jpeg

Next up is this fun floral arrangement.   I got my first “mum dog” when I had back surgery, so when another local basset-mom was in the hospital, I knew just what she needed.  Our florist asked only for an extra day to figure out the ears and other basset modifications, and the result was definitely worth it!   Wouldn’t that cheer you up?

Well, this post is long enough, so tune in tomorrow for the final chapter in our tale of how the love of hounds makes the world go ’round.  We hope you had a great Christmas.  Here in the Woods, this is the second day of Christmas, and my true love is giving me – well, my beloved car – a transmission flush and some other necessary maintenance.   Does anyone else celebrate Christmas through Epiphany?

10 comments on “Hounds, the common denominator

  1. Mary says:

    Hope you had a good Christmas. Growing up in UK with British family members always meant Boxing Day was spent with friends and relatives in London. Yesterday, we had the traditional English roast (beast) beef, roasted potatoes, roasted winter veggies and Yorkshire Pudding (though the pud was a fail—some family were late arriving). C*dbury Fl*kes were given out. So, yes, a lot of food associations. And in the tradition of British Christmases—Christmas Crackers were snapped and we wore our paper hats. And yes, Christmas through Epiphany.

  2. Nichole says:

    What a FUN floral arrangement – LOVE it! 🙂 I too associate food with holidays and certain people/places/good times…. and now you’ve made me very, very hungry! 🙂

  3. Katherine says:

    My mom and dad (both from Virginia Beach) would celebrate through what they called “God with us” and the decorations never came down until a week after New Years day. We ate a LOT of Smithfield ham and spoonbread, and it was dirty work but someone had to finish off those fruitcakes!! LOL

  4. Kathy says:

    What a great bouquet!

    Our Christmas food is prime rib (so good!) and birthday cake since it’s also my brother’s birthday.

  5. Nancy says:

    Couldn’t help but smile at the floral arrangement – I know your friend loved it!

    Oh yes, holidays and food are definitely twined together in life. New Year’s and Easter was always ham, Christmas and Thanksgiving turkey and sometimes goose (which I detest). Of course, my mother had a special fruitcake that was divine. It takes forever to make but is mighty tasty. Birthday cakes were always angel food. Oh my, I could go on and on about food and memories.

  6. gmariesews says:

    Yes, food and holidays are very twined together. We had a nice (mostly) quiet day. Love, love the hound stamp, don’t know where you would find a GG stamp – maybe a custom order? You would get TONS of use from them. So glad you holiday was lovely. g

  7. Natalie says:

    My family always leave their tree up through Epiphany..or three kinds day as that is what my mother did. 🙂 Food has big memories for me. Love food associations as it bring in a lot of the senses.

  8. kathy b says:

    you HAVE to get that Basset stamp. It is meant for you!~
    I love the floral basset as well.

    Food…oh boy. YEs food associations. Tonight we’ll have our Christmas ham. AL and Nate arrived from VIrginia at 0700 this morning. Nathan is a dear and I hope he’s our new tradition for good….

  9. Sue says:

    Love that bouquet!!! Yes we celebrate Christmas for practically a month. When we have a tree, we keep it up most of January and we still give and receive gifts. Why limit all the fun to just one day? Boxing day used to be the day we got together with neighbors, but with work schedules what they are now, we generally do that before Christmas.

    We usually do turkey and we have one defrosting that we’ll cook for New Years, but this year because we both have colds, we had steak for Christmas dinner. It was quick and easy and my furry friends loved the leftovers.

  10. Mom says:

    While in FL Boxing Day took on a different meaning with all the Canadians in the neighborhood – a lot of fun competation! Nearby was a Greek Orthodox community where Epiphany has a religilous focus. The celebration included throwing their main crucifix (?sp) of a cliff into the Gulf. Young men of a certain age dived into the Bay to retrive it. The one to surface with it received special recognition and blessings. The Greek community grew due to divers collecting sponges. I love the various customs of different cultures.

Leave a Reply

