Inspired by…

Courtesy of Leopard and Lillies

Courtesy of Leopard and Lillies

Leopard and Lillies.   I am really into grey and plaid, so what’s not to love? 

I first tried on my old, navy/cream/hunter/wine plaid flannel shirt with a dark grey tunic-style sweater.  Not enough contrast, but I’ll try a light denim shirt under it another day.

I could have changed into the “madras” style plaid flannel shirt I bought myself while Christmas shopping, but it’s a thicker, newer (read: stiffer) flannel, and frankly, the whole point of this outfit is I wanted to capture that I’m in my jammies but presentable ambience, and changing “base layers” at that point would have defeated the feeling.  So instead, I pulled out old faithful, my favorite sweater dress, tried the zipper in a couple of positions and opted for the totally unfitted, totally unzipped option.

photo.JPGI’d link for you, but sadly, I can’t find the Olivia and Grace dress anywhere online.  (It’s over a year old; I clearly remember wearing it last Christmas season, and I think I bought it from one of those fashion clearinghouse/discount websites.)  It seems the NBC shopping network MIGHT carry that line, but…  And the flannel shirt is seriously at least 15 years old.  It’s softly pilled, sloppy big, but did I mention I love plaid flannel?

Sorry for the awful self-portrait, but it shows you the plaid and the fun zipper!  The angle also hides the soft lumps and bumps the too-big shirt makes around the shoulders.  If you want a truly polished look, go for a truly fitted shirt underneath, as both the inspiration and my own outfit make the layers evident, but that’s the point of layering, right?  I will also note that this isn’t a figure-hugging sweater dress to begin with.

Clarks Bendables Ingalls Dover Ankle Boots

Clarks Bendables Ingalls Dover Ankle Boots

I completed the relaxed look with navy tights and boots.  (Warning: boots run small and narrow.)

Are you ever truly inspired by an outfit you see on another blog, in an ad or on the street?  I’ve decided my TRUE style is preppy meets comfy.  I still love shirt tails hanging out of a pullover, over a skirt or skinny pants, and I need clothes that don’t mind a wee JRT in the lap (or on the shoulder or…) and can handle basset snot and drool.  Like an idiot, I bought a pair of black jeans last month, and I think I had them on 20 minutes (at a party) before the Knight said, “What on EARTH is that on the back of your thigh?!”

We decided I either sat in a food drip or Sissy slung a goober at me before I left the house.  Hem.  Anyone want a pair of black jeans, worn once, washed and goober-free (but still covered in dog hair)?

Note to self:   Quit buying black pants, regardless of fabric.  There are only so many lint rollers in the world.

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Fashion.

13 comments on “Inspired by…

  1. Nichole says:

    Cute outfit – I’d love to see the full length though! Love the booties!

  2. km says:

    LOL @ your note to self. I have to buy black jeans or dark wash…all our puppy fur is black. I tried on a pair of cream pants and somehow must have carried black fur with me to the store…because it was clear before I purchased the pants that they could never work at my house.

    I think my wardrobe could use some reading of the fashion blogs. I clearly need to update some things. Right now I’m just thankful that 2012 was a minus weight rather than a plus weight…and I’ll look for new pieces as spring items hit the stores. That’s when I usually find my favorite things.

  3. kathy says:

    Sorry, just had to laugh at the part where you said you think, “Sissy slung a goober at me before I left the house.”

    I went to a job interview recently. I made sure I took my dog outside one last time while I was still wearing sweats. Then I changed into my black pants before I stepped outside the door.

  4. Katherine says:

    I’m looking at your picture and thinking that you are so pretty, and then I read the Sissy slinging goobers comment and now I’m thinking that you are SO funny too!! Double whammy LOL!! I just can’t give up on black yet no matter how much dog hair is flying around. I have one of those sponge things that is supposed to pick up more hair. Maybe a little more!

    I love the grey sweater she is wearing on the Leopard and Lillies site. I’ve been looking for a grey cashmere t-shirt but haven’t had any luck yet. Let me know if you see one.

  5. AlisonH says:

    Laughed out loud at that last line!

    Our heater is not up to overcoming the water that got in the ductwork and it was freezing inside this morning. Wool wool wool I don’t care what style color cut just give me wool! Brrr.

  6. gmariesews says:

    Super cute outfit. Love the dress with plaid and the zipper in any other position would look fussy. Those little boots are cute too. And with same color tights they wouldn’t cut you off at the top of them – bit problem I have wearing shoes and boots like that. I’m still in the market for a pair of knee high grey books and the perfect pair of cowboy boots.

    Dog slime is a horrible, horrible thing – shows on everything – black, dark denim, etc. I get so exhausted by it. My brother wore black pants out one day – he literally put his pants on as we were walking out the door.

    g

  7. Marjie says:

    Along the lines of your last comment: I stopped wearing white tops for a good 20 years, and changed to ecru. It’s much more baby-barf color coordinated. Did I ever tell you about the time my first infant heaved right into the neckline of my sweater, while we were at the lumberyard? Nothing like baby barf in your sweater in February to ruin your day.

    Happy New Year!

  8. Sue says:

    With both black and white dogs my color choices are really limited.

    The only thing I really wanted for Christmas was a new flannel shirt. I didn’t get it, so I’ll buy myself an early birthday present. My favorite has a smocked front and is so comfy while having a feminine look.

  9. Walden121 says:

    Ah, yes I have, but I am usually too lazy to pull them off!

    On the dog side, Wookie . . . orange and white hair that is like 5 inches long in the winter pretty much shows up on everything, especially dark colors!

  10. Bubblesknits says:

    I’m inspired all the time, but sadly, when I try to incorporate said inspirations into my own wardrobe, I usually fall short. I *just* managed to finally wear a scarf “stylishly” and not for warmth. lol

  11. Kristi says:

    I’ve said more than once that black is the (yellow) dog’s favorite color. I’m glad to know I’m not the only one who picks clothing based on the dog’s fur color. At least my dog matches the carpet.

  12. kathy b says:

    IT is not an awful self portrait…plaid and flannel…might be another New YEars Reso . for me. I love casual.

  13. Barbara says:

    Cute outfit, Chan. Comfy and cozy.
    Laughed about the lint rollers….something I rarely have need of around here, but after you know who left, I have been wandering the house with one in hand. 🙂

Leave a Reply

