Happies all around

Happy Thorsday, little friday, thankful thursday, and then all the special stuff…  Today’s a significant anniversary in Sissy’s life – our lives – and then lots of special people in our lives were born on this day, including fellow blogger Designs by Krystle.  Other celebrants include my FIL, Uncle’s MIL, a former co-worker’s wife, and another local friend.

Sissy_Gretchie_Birthday

2009 two-eyed Sissy

Of course, the fur-girls want to celebrate.  It’s an old, two-eyed photo from my 40th birthday celebrations, mock-up courtesy of Anita.  Anyone else notice how red Sissy’s eye (in the right of the photo) is?  Oh well.  I don’t believe we began treating her for eye allergies until about 14 months after this photo was taken.  Yet another reason I remain a little obsessive about that girl and her remaining right eye.

You see the thankfuls coming don’t you?  I’m forever indebted to the staff at our local vets’ office, even though the rock stars that correctly diganosed Sissy’s accute glaucoma and cared for her for those first crazy weeks are no longer there.  There simply aren’t words for the depth of gratitude I have for Wondervet, who is now both friend and “allergy/nutrtional consultant” and still a strong part of Sissy’s care team, despite the half a country that separates us. 

I would be remiss if I didn’t acknowledge the remarkable staff at Eye Care for Animals, where Sissy is also cared for by a national team, including two west-coast doctors, one of whom assisted during her eye surgery and filled in while Vision Vet was on maternity leave, and the other, the Dr. Doolittle of the business, with whom Sis bonded hard and fast on her post-surgical follow-up appointment.

photo.JPG

Sis is pretty relaxed about her eye health…

Gee, I wonder if Vision Vet is going to deliver today (early) and miss us tomorrow?  (That’s precisely what she did with her first child; we had a Saturday appointment and she delivered 2-3 days before our appointment.)  Hem.  No, that’s not worry; if she does, either one of the super-stars from the west coast familiar with this office will fly in, or I’ve been assured the nearest local affiliate will be readily available.  Those of you who know me best know how great my faith is in that entire practice as there’s no trace of apprehension.  While we scheduled this appointment a little early to try beat Vision Vet’s baby’s secret delivery agenda, all she had to do was look me in the eyes and assure me I’d like the guy filling in for her, and rested in her confidence.

Last but not least, I know I lead a charmed life.  Last night, we visited with one of my “crib hood” friends and her family.  I know not many people still live 5 miles from a friend they’ve known since diapers, and our husbands like each other too.   Best of all?  She uses the same local vet we do, and is sure we’d all like the man-doc they use exclusively.  I think I’ll explore that option for the girls’ annual exams and Sissy’s next eye pressure check in 6 weeks.

What are you thankful for today?

13 comments on “Happies all around

  1. gmariesews says:

    : Sissy’s eye health : delivering a healthy baby 27 years ago! : knitting : people who understand : the ability to walk 6+ miles : dogs : snow – even the tiny dusting :

    Sending Birthday wishes to all the celebrants today. May their days be filled with love and happiness! g

  2. Krystle says:

    Thank you for the birthday shout-out! Love the pic of the fur girls in party hats! Poor Sissy with her red eye 😦
    I am thankful for a number of things, another year, blessings in disguise, my degree(!), and wonderful family and friends to celebrate it all 🙂

    -K

  3. Nancy says:

    How sweet – Gretchen is smiling while wearing her party hat! Please give Sissy a belly rub for me in celebration of today.

    I am thankful for my good friends both near and far.

  4. kathy b says:

    Wahooo. .IM thankful for her health as well.

  5. Kathy says:

    Sissy looks like one of the sleeping dogs in the Orvis catalog.

  6. Bubblesknits says:

    Give Sis a big ole hug for me. 🙂 I still think it’s wonderful that you have such awesome and caring doctors for her. Heck, give *them* a hug for me next time you see them.

  7. Marjie says:

    My oldest son is 29 today; can you believe it? So I guess we all need to do some celebrating! As always, fingers crossed for the next eye exam.

  8. AlisonH says:

    Very cool!

    I’m grateful for things that grow. Which is, pretty much, everything and everybody alive.

  9. Nichole says:

    Give Sis a hug and scratchies from us… great thing to celebrate! 🙂 And of course, like Gg gets scratchies and hugs too…

  10. Blond Duck says:

    I’m delighted that Sissy is doing well! I’m devoted to our vet after they saved Bitty!

  11. Katherine says:

    Such sweet photos of the girls, especially Gg’s big grin!! I can tell that Sissy is like Macy when she sleeps–solid comfort and so soundly that I have to check to make sure she’s breathing. Good eye health is a great thing to celebrate and also having great medical help to keep it that way!!

  12. Mr. Puffy says:

    It is a blessing to have good healthcare both for doggies and people :))) I love the party hat picture ~ such a sweet memory. I’m thankful for a renewed spiritual commitment and focus in my life. Have a wonderful weekend xoxox

  13. Barbara says:

    Happy Birthday to one and all!
    You are lucky to live so close to an old friend. My closest is back in Michigan and while I talk to her every few weeks, I don’t see her that often.

Leave a Reply

