Day of Service

This Saturday is the kick-off for the National Day of Service.  No, no links, because Chelsea Clinton’s inaugural events have it on Saturday, but it is also listed as Monday, under the title of the Martin Luther King Jr National Day of Service.  Heck, why not volunteer and serve your community on both days?!

This is what resonated with me:

Clinton said parents, schools and faith communities should strive to provide as many volunteer opportunities as possible “so that children grow up thinking of service as part of what it means to be a good person, part of what it means to be an American citizen.”

Couldn’t have said it better myself.   It’s why the Junior League is so important to me.  I’ve mentioned before that my own parents modeled good civic leadership and the concept of doing my part to improve my community.   I love that Junior Leagues “do good” while training their members to be solid volunteers and civic leaders. 

article-new_ehow_images_a05_68_4o_make-hand_tied-fleece-blankets-800x800If you’d like to make a difference, you can search “National Day of Service 2013” with your community name and find organizations already planning great things, or you can buy a few yards of fleece and make no-sew blankets and drop them off at your nearest hospital, animal rescue/shelter, Ronald McDonald House, etc.  I’ll also keep mentioning that your local emergency services, be they paid or volunteer, will never turn down homemade sweets or a cute card.  

I know many of you already give generously of your time and talents.  Thank you.  Together, we’ll make the world better and brighter.

What’s resonating with you today?

This entry was posted in JLC.

12 comments on “Day of Service

  1. gmariesews says:

    Gosh resonating – do good, be kind. I try to live by the golden rule but don’t always suceed. I need to make up some fleecy dog beds to donate. And pillow cases for Ronald McDonald house are always a fun, quick project. Thanks for the reminder – after walks this weekend I’m pretty sure I’ll be sore and not want to do too much else. g

  2. kathy b says:

    I love the DAY set aside for this . Thanks for the reminder, I’d forgotten it was up coming.
    I love volunteering at the shelter…I got my civic mindedness from my father…I must say.

  3. Nancy says:

    Thanks for the reminder. I’ll make some presentation pillowcases for Quilts of Valor.

  4. AlisonH says:

    Was just paging through a favorite cookbook (“Passionate Vegetarian,” every recipe I’ve ever tried from there has been wonderful) trying to figure out what to make into a gallon of soup to deliver to the Ronald McDonald house tomorrow. I haven’t ever done this before–it’s about time.

  5. Katherine says:

    We love to make goodies for DS’s fire station and the two nearby his. They are always so appreciative! GD#3 and I like to volunteer in the children’s wing of DD’s hospital. Over all I think people are giving more of their time to volunteer work these days because I meet them out there working. It makes me so proud to be an American!!

  6. Natalie says:

    Thanks for the reminder! Need to figure out what I can do this weekend.

  7. Ruth says:

    I guess a planned “day” of service is a good start for many folks…we, like you, try to make it a lifestyle choice to be serving somehow, somewhere, most of the time…..resonating today…the difference between lonliness and just being alone.

  8. Nichole says:

    I need to try those no-sew blankets… they’d be a lot faster to make as snuggies for the foster pups than knitting some! 🙂

  9. Blond Duck says:

    I’m such a bad volunteer.

  10. Mom says:

    Thanks Daughter for living so effectively a basic belief that is still a large part of my life! You make me proud of who you are!

  11. Bubblesknits says:

    I’ll have to do a rain-check for my day of service. Saturday is E’s school pageant and Monday is full of doctor’s appointments for me and the kids (no school, so we’re cramming them in). This would be a good time for me start on those baby hats for charity. 🙂

  12. Sue says:

    Great idea but I’m stuck at home with recovering boys and baby girls that ave to eat constantly. I will cast on for a dog blanket though. It’s been a while since I took any to the shelter. They’re great easy knits to do while watching TV.

Leave a Reply

