Scent you are here…

Oddly, fragrance has been on my mind, and I just filled out a survey about fragrance habits.

Do you have fragrance habits?  I used to get a new scent every time I got a new steady beau.  For several years – or so I was told – my co-workers at the firehouse knew I was on duty when the stairwells smelled like me.  That would have been the Liz Claiborne Claiborne era, followed by the Ralph Lauren Lauren era…

07030156CU_p29_Belara_0001_HThen I married the Knight.  I love me a floral, but I can’t stand a strong scent, and several friends are even less tolerant than I am, so I don’t wear fragrance daily.  Plus, I think shampoos and lotions are far more fragrant than they used to be, and the wrong combination can give me a headache in three seconds.

I think my favorite fragrance ever is Kate Spade by Kate Spade, but wow is it a luxury treat. 

Currently, I spray on Mary Kay’s Belara more often than not, but in the summer months, I’m still polishing off an ancient bottle of Jessica McClintock.  I do have Gucci Guilty for special occasions, but it’s pretty potent and a little heavy for me for daily use. 

Do tell me about your fragrance use.  Has it changed over the years?  Or do you truly have a signature scent?

15 comments on “Scent you are here…

  1. gmariesews says:

    You know – I’m not a big fan. I’m always afraid I’ll smell like the woman you can’t stand to be in the same building with – you know the ones I’m talking about. I am, however, a huge fan of vanilla and citrus, but not together. I tend to have scented body wash and matching lotion that I use. I think it’s enough for me. g

  2. Karen says:

    My husband bought me the Cinderella perfume by Sephora and I love the way it smells. Well, I love everything about it, that it’s Cinderella, the shape of the bottle and I feel like a princess wearing it 🙂 he also bought me the eyeshadow compact and on the mirror in a beautiful script across the bottom it says “it’s the exit he’ll remember”. It’s those little things that make me happy!

  3. Amy D says:

    I’ve never been one for scents, mainly because my Mom is so sensitive and most things set off her asthma. But I’ve always loved CK “One”. I also love patchoulli, but I don’t wear it because it tends to make people think that I’m a dirty pot smoking hippie. 🙂

  4. Nancy says:

    I’ve worn many fragrances over the years, but my all-time favorite was Chanel #5. Then I discovered Zen when I was in Japan: I simply love it. I rarely wear fragrances anymore because of my nasal allergies.

  5. Marjie says:

    I never wear perfumes. There’s enough scent in shampoo, soaps, lotions, even unscented hair spray. The relative from Denver used to wear overpowering perfume, but, thankfully, she’s over that now.

  6. Katherine says:

    DH bought me Jean Charles Brosseau’s Ombre Rose over 30 years ago and I have worn it exclusively since then. Once he bought a bottle for my birthday and he happened to have our then 7 year-old grandson with him. The sales person sprayed the perfume on a card and waved it under GS’s nose and asked, “what do you think?” He answered, ” It smells like Grandma!”

  7. Bubblesknits says:

    I have a signature scent, I guess. When the hubs and I first met, I had just started wearing “Moonlit Path” from Bath and Body Works. 11 years later and hee still associates that fragrance with “me” and complains (rather loudly) if I wear anything else. lol Also, it’s one of the few that I can wear that doesn’t give me or my Mom a headache.

  8. AlisonH says:

    Hadn’t thought of that in a long time… I was a fan in college and wore a particular scent I have associated ever since with a guy I (thank heavens) broke up with. Tried wearing something else for awhile but, nah. Liked the first, no longer liked the associations with it.

    Later came the major bout of pneumonia that left me asthmatic, so, it’s all off limits now, so, just as well I gave up the stuff.

  9. Mary says:

    Clinique Aromatics Elixir. Used it since it came out in 1975. That is brand loyalty. Evidently many folks I know, esp. my adult children, immediately think of me when they smell it anywhere. I do use it everyday, but very sparingly (tiny spritz). And there is a benefit to having a signature scent. When my children were younger, I traveled on business a great deal of the time. When I was away, my daughter would go to my scarf drawer, plunge her head into it and take a good sniff. She told me it helped her ‘not miss mommy quite so much.’ She’s almost 30 now and she (and her three older brothers) still associate the scent with me.

  10. Blond Duck says:

    Mine is Happy by Clinique!

  11. Ruth says:

    For the last 1 1/2-2 yrs I’ve been wearing Love Spell by Victoria Secret (shocking, I know) mostly in the form of either lotion or body spray. It’s a yummy combo of cherry blosson, peach, and white jasmine. I fell in love with it because my friend always the hand cream…and every time she put it on I swooned. I still occaisionally wear my last fav…something from Lancome..Tatiana..I think.

  12. gypsyknits says:

    Had to laugh. My mother found a very old bottle of perfume that I bought for her many moons ago. May I just say I now understand why my mother would only wear it around the house. Whew! It’s some strong stuff ;). But boy was it affordable for my kid size purse….79 cents for a very large bottle 😉

  13. kathy b says:

    OKay you asked! I have changed so much in this department of my life. I used to wear ANISE ANISE and Calvin Klein ? HAppy??
    I wore it on dates with Fireman.

    NOw if there is any scent At all I just want it to be clean. I think the smells of perfume interfere with my tastebuds when I am eating. Weird I Know…

    I always thought Dr Pepper tasted like perfume as long as we are on it….

    I like when my shampoo leaves a scent in my hair however…..

    I dont like to hug someone and come away with their perfume on me….

    I think I have some strong smell opinions! Wow

  14. Sue says:

    Rob and I both have allergies to many scents and my headaches are another factor, but I love the scent of vanilla and use it in shower gels and body lotions. My two favorite real scents are Chanel #5 and Shalamar. I have some of each for special occasions.

  15. Walden121 says:

    My favorite smells are more food orientated . . . what does that say about me? Any who, coconut and tangerine are among my favorites, but I have to be picky due to my allergies. I hate walking in the mall, ugh!

Leave a Reply

