Bella Belara

09060114GB_148_BellaBelara_001_HOr, in which we learn that Chan doesn’t even know what perfume she wears.  Sigh.  I wear Bella Belara, not Belara.  The differences are obvious; pink and black bottle, not shades of blue, and then there’s the scent profile…  They aren’t radically different, but clearly I am fragrantly unaware.  No wonder I lack a signature scent.

I love the stories about your signature scents though.  I’m not sure why I am suddenly a little consumed with finding one of my own. 

DSC01765

Snow 2010… repeat please?

But happy Thorsday, little friday and Thankful Thursday anyway.   I’m doing a snow dance along with countless school children and teachers in podunk; our own school district closed proactively, the one immediately to our east is closing early, also as a precautionary measure.  The weather forecasts are varied, but seem to insist that sometime very soon, the temperature will drop 8-10 degrees and it will snow. 

The fur-girls are hunkered down at home, just in case.  I can’t complain about drool and slobber gobbers on my pillow when the Knight doesn’t finish making the bed because he’d have to bother the dogs.  Spoiled much?

Thankful?  I’m thankful for so very much, but I’m really grateful for the other women in leadership in the JLC.  I’m one week into about three weeks of mid-year reviews, and not only am I excited about how far we’ve come already, I’m blown away by their dedication and candor.  I knew coming into this year it would be one of great change and transition as we select a new focus area for our community service efforts, but we’re also managing to move forward on several other fronts because we really are a group of phenomenal, talented women! 

Who are the phenomenal women in your lives?

13 comments on “Bella Belara

  1. Kathy says:

    The ones I work with! I started a new job (I work in a male-dominated field) and at least half the group is women. They took me out for a “girls’ lunch” and there were 10 of us!

  2. kathy b says:

    My Vet Kristine who I volunteer with is an amazing woman. I wish she thought so.
    Im inspired by Brooke SHields and her battle with depression. Does that count?

  3. gmariesews says:

    Wow – great question. great women in my life – well I’m gonna count you – you inspire, encourage and support me all the time and I appreciate it. Carolyn – who encourages me to spread my sewing wings. Paula – who takes time to help me with fitting. Local Y – who is so much stronger than she knows. JessicaB – caring, amazing, supportive, real. and Kari – I just like her.

    Sorry you don’t know how you smell – I’m going to assume that means it’s not horrible. I’m with you – we’ve been in a deep freeze – for about 10 days and are expected to go another week. Personally – I’d prefer snow to this bitter cold. g

  4. Katherine says:

    I had a good laugh over the unmade bed! It didn’t get above 40 here last week and our bed had two dogs in it everyday. Why make the bed when it will just look lumpy because you have to make it around two dogs? Anyway, they were warmer with the blankets piled up around them. Spoiled? Oh no, not ours!!!

    I’ve said so many times that my Mother was my hero, my role model, and my mentor. She was an amazing woman–kind, loving, concerned about everyone and willing to pitch in and help in any situation. I still haven’t achieved those things on a regular basis but because at an ever advancing age I STILL want to be like her, I will continue trying.

  5. AlisonH says:

    My mom. My daughters, and I’m thinking of my oldest who, despite severe illness and all those moments we’ve held out breath, wondering if she would make it, she’s nailed that PhD and getting that master’s of public health from Johns Hopkins on top of it so that she can change policy and therefore the world for the chronically ill. To be their voice. There’s no stopping her! She amazes me.

  6. Nancy says:

    The most phenomenal woman in my life was my mother. She endured a lot of heartache but remained positive. She worked like a man on the farm but didn’t complain. She was creative but didn’t have time to express that creativity.

  7. Marjie says:

    You already know about our weather. I’m not looking forward to single digit temperatures, so I hope you get your snow! It will make my temps worthwhile.

    My 3 daughters are out there working hard to earn themselves great lives. I’m very proud of them.

  8. Nichole says:

    I’d love to share some of our snow with you! 🙂

  9. Natalie says:

    My sisters…they help me so much and really make me feel whole. 🙂 I have others but those are first that come to mind.

  10. Sue says:

    My BFF Sue who beat breast cancer and is always there for me 24/7.

  11. Hi Channon! Just popping in to see how you and the “fur girls” are weathering the snow. It appears all is calm on the home front. Truly something to be thankful for:)

    I happened upon this pinterest set of boards full of all kinds of fiber “stuff” anf immediately thought of you. Enjoy! http://pinterest.com/fibreverywhere/

  12. Walden121 says:

    We got about an inch here and boy did the temperature drop and get windy! My sister’s are awesome!

  13. Ruth says:

    Lynda, Bernice, Pam, Bonnie, and Kim…all women who have overcome great losses and/or hardship in their own lives, and use the knowledge gained from those experiences to create amazing things and to help others overcome their losses/obstacles.

Leave a Reply

