White out?

March 2012 002

March 2012 dusting… too much like what we’ve gotten this winter

Our snow was a non-event in parts of our area, but we were lucky to get a couple of wet inches yesterday evening.   Maybe it’s because we can’t seem to get a decent snowfall even when it is forecasted, but I’m craving winter white in my wardrobe, and have almost none.

Problem is, I can’t find anything I want to purchase.  I’d like an aran-style, tunic-length sweater that isn’t too heavy.   I’m even thinking I might change my mind – AGAIN – and go shopping for a winter white formal for the gala, but I don’t really know what I want, so that makes it hard to shop!

I’ve seen a few articles/ads for white this winter, but again… nothing I care to incorporate into my wardrobe.  I don’t want white jeans.  I don’t want a white coat/jacket.  I’m open to a white dress, but haven’t seen anything that works for me.

Where do you weigh in on white this winter?

This entry was posted in Fashion.

11 comments on “White out?

  1. kathy b says:

    I so want more snow here……Even a dusting is appreciated.

    I vote for very white teeth….
    White pants..no way
    I like white sleeveless shirts under a jacket with jeans……

    I like white nurses shoes but I just bought a baby blue pair of nurse clogs….oh are they cute

    I like white undies

  2. gmariesews says:

    I love Kathy B’s comments. White undies indeed.

    So how is Winter White different from the white you wear in the summer? I wear white tees all year long – but white anything else – well, I have slobbery dogs and fun every color of the spectrum.

    I could totally see you wearing a winter white aran dress however. With pale boots – light, light brown or possibly even those great red boots you passed over. Hmm – you’ll have to let me know what you find. g

  3. Walden121 says:

    Not a fan of snow in general, but Wookie loves it and that makes me happy.

    White clothing is never really in my wardrobe. I can stain anything white within seconds of putting in on.

  4. Sue says:

    Around here we
    d have muddy white so I’ll opt out, except for that Aran tunic. It sounds wonderful and I may have to make my own. I have several patterns and I enjoy cables so let me think about it some more.

    We’ve had no snow yet, just a little coating of ice.

  5. Katherine says:

    I agree with Kathyb–NO white jeans. I don’t like them on anyone!!! I love white shirts, especially silk, and I have a white cabled sweater that never fails to get compliments. As for snow, I feel blessed to have had a sprinkling of the white stuff here in Texas! I doubt we will get more. Hope you are luckier!

  6. AlisonH says:

    Winter white sweaters. I have a few, including an allover cabled almost-tunic length one I knit in high school.

  7. Marjie says:

    I just love winter white velour and panne velvet – both of which are machine washable, by the way – and wear tops, sweaters and simple a-line or princess seamed dresses. A winter white velour cami just entered my wardrobe, and looks great with vivid colored jackets. If you want to try your hand, I can send you a copy of the pattern…it only takes an hour or so…

  8. Amy D says:

    I never wear white, but I love the look of it. I’m too afraid of major stains, especially with a little one who loves to spit up. Maybe this summer I’ll look for a pair of wide leg white pants, but only if I can find the right fit.

  9. Nancy says:

    I like Winter White, but other than accessories, I seldom wear it. I do have one tunic top and a cardigan that I wear infrequently.

  10. Barbara says:

    Not a fair question for a Floridian! 🙂 I have winter white slacks and skirts. As for a winter white gown? That’s going to be a hard one to find. I do love big white sweaters though.

  11. Bubblesknits says:

    I think I’ve only owned one pair of white pants in my whole life and I felt like I was walking on eggshells every time I wore them. No matter how careful I was, something always got on them. lol

Leave a Reply

