Souperday!

Are you off today?   I know plenty of people who are celebrating the Presidential Inauguration and Martin Luther King Day, and some are also doing the Day of Service, but for me, it’s a regular ol’ Monday, with the added complications of no mail, no bank, etc.

I love to bake.  The Knight is the COOK in our house, but I am also the soup fanatic.  While I aspire to try and perfect more soups – I use that term to include stews, bisques and any other variety, okay? – in the meantime, I’ve found some truly remarkable pre-packaged products.

121270Campbell’s has moved uptown.  Okay, only a few cousins…  there’s still a strong, red and white canned presence on your grocer’s shelves.  Meet Campbell’s Gourmet Bisques.  I’m head over heels for the Thai Tomato Coconut.  I mean…  I think I could eat it every day, and that’s coming from a woman who only repeats water over and over and otherwise craves variety in her diet.

I promise you could pour four boxes of this into your fine china tureen and no one would ever guess you hadn’t made it yourself… unless your friends and family know you’re sneaky like that.  My only complaint is that I don’t have any more of this in the pantry.

Oh – and don’t let the Thai part scare you; it’s not spicy.  You get the Thai “feel”, but there’s nothing close to native Thai, burn a hole in your tongue spiciness in there.  Heck, I’m thinking that in a pinch, the coconut milk in my pantry could meet the traditional red & white canned tomato soup and…  it wouldn’t be the same, but it would be tasty, especially with a grilled cheese sammy.

tumblr_m7s6k6JXKV1rcqw8go1_250Campbell’s Go is another not-Knight-friendly line of soups.  (The man did eat rattlesnake stew in Sedona, but from his own kitchen, he wants incredibly boring, traditional foods.)  However, I’ve also already tried the Moroccan Style Chicken with Chickpeas and whoa is it awesome!   Unlike the flavorful but tame Thai Tomato Coconut Bisque, this soup bites back.   It’s definitely a stand-alone, don’t need no stinkin’ partner on the plate soup.   I’d say unless you know you have a low tolerance for spicy food, give it a try.  It’s not extreme, but I’m not comfortable saying everyone will find it palatable.

I have at least one other variety of each soup type in my pantry.  They’re great for nights the Knight is busy being the fire chief.  And to be fair, the bisque – the whole box, not a single serving as described on said box – more than filled me up on its own too.

Are you a soup fan?  Are you a soup maker?  Feel free to share your favorites, including recipes!

This entry was posted in food.

16 comments on “Souperday!

  1. gmariesews says:

    I am a soup fan and a soup maker. I love split pea – home made and in fact, might put that in the crock pot this morning for dinner tomorrow – it’s always better the second day. Jay smoked a beef roast for dinner last night and I plan to use that later in the week in my version of pasta w/ bean ala Olive Garden. and Rachael Ray has a black bean stoup (thicker than soup, but not as thick as stew) that is fabulous. My recent favorite find – Campbells Tomato Basil in a red and white can, but no water needed. Great with grilled cheese. g

  2. kathy b says:

    I love soup. . I have a tendency to make too much of it.
    A friend shared her UNSTUFFED green pepper soup recipe and it is so good.
    I;ll share the recipe if you need it…..

  3. km says:

    I LOVE soup. At this house Potato Soup is the one we make all. the. time. I cook 5# of potatoes in 6c. of homemade chicken stock and enough water to cover the potatoes. I use a trick from a slow cooker book and use a can of evaporated milk to make it creamy and I use my immersion blender to smooth out the whole soup. Then I season with garlic/onion powders, salt and pepper. It’s super basic, but everyone loves it. And when 10# of potatoes are 99cents…well, this soup saw us through unemployment. Serve with cheese, bacon, and chopped green onions. My family loves the Paula Deen taco soup (but I use spices instead of the pre mixed taco/ranch reasonings). The fall we discovered White Chicken Chili (look at my pinterest Recipes we LOVE).

    I think M will be thrilled with the Moroccan soup. I doubt I could eat it (nothing campbells is GF). He keeps asking me to try recipes he had on his trip to Africa.

  4. Walden121 says:

    I love soup, but am less likely to buy it prepackaged due to allergy stuff. I was disappointed that I had to go to Google to find the ingredient list as Campbell’s didn’t even include it on their site, sadly enough I had to go to Wal*Mart site to find the ingredients. Sounds interesting, but it’s not okay for me to eat unfortunately.

  5. Nancy says:

    Oh yes, I love soup and could eat it every day of the year – all varieties except those that are cold.

    I’ve never seen the two Campbell products that you mention in the stores in this area. I’ll have to be more observant the next time I shop.

    My favorite soup is White Chicken Chili as well as plain Tomato (served with a grilled cheese sandwich, of course).

  6. Katherine says:

    The soups sound wonderful! We are big soup eaters! I had to laugh at the Knight eating rattlesnake. Growing up in Arizona I learned that every desert kid has to eat rattlesnake and crickets at least once in their life. They’re not bad but not good either!!

    I love it that the Knight is the cook. DH cooks a lot and is grilling hamburgers tonight. Let’s hear it for cooking husbands! Bravo!!

  7. Natalie says:

    I love soup and will have to give these a try! I usually don’t like cambells that much so we’ll see how these new ones stack up! thanks for sharing!

  8. Sue says:

    I was brought up on soup from those red and white cans. Every school day my Grandmother and I ate soup and a sandwich at lunchtime and watched a soap on TV. I still love soup and I still watch a soap. Have you tried the creamy onion soup from The Outback? I love it and I found the recipe if anyone is interested.

  9. Marjie says:

    We all love soup. You know that I make a lot of beef stew and cream of broccoli. I also keep dried veggies in stock, and save leftover rice – you can freeze it in 1/4 cup chunks, then toss rice and dried veggies in with boiling water and beef bouillon or chicken bouillon cubes – 1 per cup. Sorta homemade soup in a couple of minutes! Hooray!

  10. Nichole says:

    I am a soup fan and may now have to try the Thai Tomato Coconut (I DON’T do spicey)! mmm… I had a nice (but canned) corn chowder today and on Friday, I had some FABULOUS lobster bisque from a local sandwich shop. I do like to cook soups when I can and tend to make HUGE (overly so) pots when I do… turkey soup, chicken noodle, etc.

  11. Kari says:

    I really only eat soup when im sick and its always tomato soup. Now I do like some thick soups like corn chowder and baked potato soup. I have NEVER made a soup from scratch or anything like that.
    Ps im not a baker at all. I can make the heck out of some bread in the bread maker 🙂 I cant make chocolate chip cookies to save my life. Ask me to make some lebanese or mexican food from scratch im your woman. Here the spicier the better.

    I did have today off being a state employee. I did some cleaning since I feel like I have to do some nesting every day 🙂

  12. AlisonH says:

    I’d never heard of that. I’m going to have to go look for it, thank you! I love a good soup.

  13. Blond Duck says:

    Ben loves Amy’s Lentil!

  14. Yay! I’m a soup fan and a soup cook. Last week I made an awesome split pea to share with the Team on Weds eve after practice. Today, I was the lucky recipient of some fresh veggie soup that a friend made a huge pan of…I’d like to try to soups you mentioned…but I don’t recall seeing either of those fancy Campbell’s choices on MY store’s shelves…and think YOU live in Podunk!

  15. Bubblesknits says:

    I love soups, but I usually need something to go along with them to fill me up. 1/2 a sandwich usually does the trick. The first one you mentioned sounds great. I’m glad you described the Thai flavor, too. I know our local WM isn’t carrying those yet (I was just there yesterday, perusing the soup aisle), but maybe they’ll be there soon. I have hope, considering I found my fave micro-brew there this week. 😉

  16. Farah says:

    I love soups,stews, bisques, chillis…. I was thrilled with the new lines of Cambells Gourmet Bisques. I agree the Thai tomato Coconut is the BOMB DIGGEDY!!! Fabulous texture and flavor.Just the right amount of cilantro and heat.. THe best tomato soup I have ever eaten! My only complaint after finding it, now I can’t find it ANYWHERE! Have been to 5 stores in my city and NOT one box! So SAD! THe Butternut squash was yummy but needed a kick so I add curry and a dash of Cayenne and Voila’..
    Now to find a recipe for that Thai tomato Cocunut Bisque>> I MUST HAVE MORE..

Leave a Reply

