Power of the Paw Please?

Double-posting, since the fur-girls and I don’t have a complete overlap of followers/readers…

photo.JPGGretchen is in surgery.  Her wound looked … watchable when I left for work this morning, and was BLACK and spongy when I got home.  We went back to the emergency vet (more praise… different staff, more of an efficient feel tonight, which it turns out, we needed) and before I could smooch her and promise it would all be okay, Gg was in the back, being sedated and prepped for surgery.  Evidently, all we could have done better was not let her lick it AT ALL, so when she does come home, it’s the cone of shame 24/7.

I also have to publicly retract anything not wonderful I’ve said or implied about the biter’s owners.   I got a wild hair on my way home and stopped in.  They’re rescuers of cats and dogs, and truly are upset that their boy hurt my wee one.  They said all the right things and then some.  If only I had listened to you wise folks and talked to them last month!!   I totally misinterpreted their good intentions and efforts to integrate a rescued boy into their home, and … well let’s just say as with most dog aggression problems, to err is HUMAN.

Hopefully, Gretchen won’t pay too high of a price for my ignorance and poor judgment.   Another silver lining… sometimes those neighbors you don’t know are really decent folk just waiting for an introduction, or heck, even a welcome to the neighborhood.

Please don’t worry if you don’t see an update here for a while.  I anticipate a long, late, short night, but for those who are my friends on Facebook, I’ll try to at least update there.  And yes Sissy, you SHOULD have your own Facebook page.  Maybe that will be my distraction tonight.

6 comments on “Power of the Paw Please?

  1. sue says:

    All paws crossed here. Emergency vets are the greatest.

  2. gmariesews says:

    4 sets of crossed paws here as well as lots of fingers. I’m glad the introduction to the neighbors turned out far, far better than anticipated and that they did all the right things. I’ll stalk you on FB tonight. Many, many hugs to you all. g

  3. Blond Duck says:

    I’m glad they were neglectful people and were sympathetic. Black? I’d be freaking!

  4. Bubblesknits says:

    Prayers being sent up. I wish I could be there to hold your hand while you wait. :/ Much love to all of you.

  5. Nichole says:

    I won’t double post my comment… but sending some more hugs & good vibes!

Leave a Reply

