Goodness part 2

I don’t even know where to start, so fasten your seatbelt and hang on.

Firstly, I’ve given another update on the fur-girls’ blog.  The short version is Gg is doing well, had her drain removed and the new vet is awesome.  Stitches come out soon, and we MIGHT be able to ditch the cone of shame then, which would make my little “I’m healed already!” girl very happy.

Then, my personal trainer – Sissy – demanded a run yesterday.  I was trying out my other new shoes – the New Balances – and I can say that while the sole is a little firm for my tastes, it performed admirably on wet pavement, over a mucky gravel road and in a brief pounding on the concrete section of the road.  No blisters, and I do have to say I think the NB lacing system suits me best of all the brands I’ve worn.   Maybe in time, the sole will feel more flexible.

Courtesy of Amy's blog

Courtesy of Amy’s blog

While that’s all good, I do have two more pieces of goodness to share.  First, the always thinking of others Amy sent my Christmas present, since we can’t seem to get together.  Why yes, I do feel quite guilty that I can’t get her baby’s present mailed, much less Christmas goodies a month later.  Gah!  

Isn’t it lovely?  I’d love suggestions.  It’s just shy of 400 yds., and if you’re curious about the details, follow the link above to Amy’s post about the handspun.  Thanks so very much Amy, for the beautiful handspun and for your friendship.

photo.JPGLast but hardly least is my tee from Pack Mom.   I entered a contest last month, and I was one of the lucky winners!  It’s a really pretty, dark red tee.  Why yes, a certain DIVA dog has been feeling left out over the past week and does keep inserting herself into things.  I figured it was somehow fitting here…  You know it says “…Pack…” even if her head does cover the P and the A, right?

The well-timed package arrived on Friday, while I was still reeling from a very late night with Gg and the emergency surgery.  It was wrapped in a similar red, tied with a turquoise ribbon.  I just love that color combination, don’t you?

photo.JPGAnd here’s the back of the tee, without any canine models.  Thanks Pack Mom!  Jenn was even very helpful as I tried to figure out what size I wanted.  Those ladies fitted tees are tricky, aren’t they?

Thanks ladies, and thanks to all of you who have checked in on the wee one, offered advice, etc.  It’s all meant so very much, and I hope that we’ve turned the corner and Gg is on the mend.

Have you gotten any goodies in the mail lately?

10 comments on “Goodness part 2

  1. Amy says:

    I’m so glad that you like Handspun! It was calling your name the entire time I was spinning !

  2. gmariesews says:

    I love that you and the girls are feeling a bit spoiled right now. There is goodness to be found – sometimes we have to look a bit harder to see it. I’m glad you pointed out it said Pack Mom, I was thinking it said QUACK mom B-)

    And you think a month late for Christmas is bad – well I still haven’t sent yours – not sure when that will happen. And I’m 2 PIF gifts behind from 2011. {hangsheadinshame}. g

    ps – handspun is lovely. What do you want it to be? I have a lovely handspun, handknit cowl from Amy. Or possibly a small shawl?

  3. AlisonH says:

    Wishing for packages, anyway–I bought a whole lot of mink yarn about a year ago and I was looking around yesterday going, where did it all go? Oh. Right. I’ve been knitting it up. Funny how that works.

  4. grace yaskovic says:

    no goodies in a long time!!! love the yarn and the tee shirt color is awesome!

  5. Sue says:

    A birthday package arrived this morning. I’m not opening it till the actual day. Ginger is sending me a Norma Jean poster. That’ll be fun. In the mail today were four new bandanas for the doggies. It’s neat to get presents.

    I love the Pack Mom shirt. I might need to get one of those.

  6. Marjie says:

    The timing was very fortunate, with those wonderful presents arriving at the very time when you needed the most cheering up. I’m glad your little girl is riled up about her cone; that says to me that she’s mentally doing well, and she should be all up to snuff fairly soon! Then she can join back up with your personal trainer, instead of having hurt feelings at being left behind.

  7. Blond Duck says:

    All I wear is NB. I’m so glad she’s better!

  8. Ruth says:

    Great news re Gretchie! My “gift package” arrived by car, right at supper time tonight. 3 of 4 and 4 of 4 just drove from LA to TX to AZ to CA (home) in the last three days. Grrls and I are so very happy to have them home.

  9. Kathy says:

    I ordered some flame-resistant clothes for a trip out to the field. In a few weeks they should show up at my house. Does that count as an upcoming good mail day?

  10. Nichole says:

    Pretty yarn, cute tee!

Leave a Reply

