46 cents

Otherwise known as, “Chan couldn’t think of a title for this post.”  Unique titles are hard to come by some days.

July 2012 021Today’s a special day!  It’s Miss Sue’s birthday!  She’s the dog-ma over at The Portuguese Water Blog, and while they’ve had a really trying year or more, there are three dogs celebrating with her for the first time, and we know that has to bring her joy.  Gg and Sis are hoping maybe Sydney will pass along fur-girl licks and love for them.

Gg’s modeling a pretty frock Miss Sue made and sent to her this summer.  It’s a very soft yarn, so it will be put in regular rotation after Gg’s stitches come out tomorrow.  It’s pretty cold and windy here right now, and that shaved/bare skin and a drastically lowered activity level have Gg VERY temperature-sensitive right now. 

Thanks to once again basically blogless Susan, I also scored three onesies for the wee one to wear once the stitches are out.  We tried one earlier, but the gentle pressure on the stitches made her uncomfortable.  They’ll protect the tender skin/incision as her activity level increases again.  In case you’re wondering, Gg wears 3-6 mos., and I can even snap the bottom closed around her little nubby tail.  Yes, there will be photos once I know she isn’t uncomfortable in it.

61VD4+q6QBL__BO2,204,203,200_PIsitb-sticker-arrow-click,TopRight,35,-76_AA278_PIkin4,BottomRight,-26,22_AA300_SH20_OU01_I’ve been doing a LOT of yoga the past 10 days or so.    It’s been too cold or wet to take Sissy out most days, but Gg also gets REALLY upset when we leave her behind, so…  yoga it is.  Through Pinterest, I ran across a new (to me) yoga book for the novice, The Women’s Health Big Book of Yoga.  Yes, I bought the Kindle version.  I figure this way, no matter where I am, I can look up a pose, routine, whatever.  I frequently use my laptop for new yoga or fitness routines anyway, so I figure it can’t be THAT much different.

I’m hardly a yoga purist.  It’s centuries old stretching through strength training with a focus on breathing, as far as I’m concerned.   I do find I enjoy my yoga workout more if I haven’t had anything to eat or drink too soon before I start, but that’s true for me for any exercising.  A sloshy belly isn’t happy hiking or running either.

46 cents for your thoughts…

 

 

9 comments on “46 cents

  1. Sue says:

    Thank you for your good wishes today. My guys had a surprise party for me this morning. I’m glad Gg is getting those stitches out and hope she’s feeling much better soon.

    I used to do Yoga and it can be very calming. I should look that book up on Amazon and get back into it.

  2. Katherine says:

    Gg looks so sweet in her little PANK sweater dress!! I know you will all be glad when she has those stitches out.

    My thoughts aren’t worth 46 cents but I can say that Yoga is the way to go. I believe it benefits young and old, men and women. I had a tough time getting DH to try it but now he loves it! I also think it benefits all the other exercise we may do through more flexibility and stamina. Best wishes for getting back on the road soon with the fur-girls.

  3. Blond Duck says:

    Have you tried pop pilates/ blogliates? They’re on youtube, free and phenomenal. My pooch is much less pouchier– something not even running could do.

  4. Marjie says:

    That’s a cute sweater=dress Sue sent to Gretchen. So glad she’s on the mend. Have a nice weekend; I hope it’s warmer there than here, so Gg can go outside!

  5. Nancy says:

    So glad to here that Gg is doing well and that she will be dressed to the nines once it is comfortable for her to have a wee bit of pressure on her incision site.

    I’ve never tried yoga although there are classes in my community.

  6. gmariesews says:

    Hmm – beautiful dress. Wonder where the little darling gets her love of sweater dresses from? You should maybe consider making her a winter white one 😉

    I’ve wished Sue a happy birthday and seen and heard all about her surprise party. Sounds like big fun was had by all.

    Inflation being what it is – shouldn’t our thoughts be worth more than the cost of stamp? Or was a stamp a penny when that phrase originated? Remember when a penny was actually worth something? Happy Friday – couldn’t have made it through this week without you. g

  7. Ruth says:

    I’m not sure I have 46 cents worth of anything for you. Today the sun shone, and the temps hit the low sixty’s…I made chocolate shots, visited a post-op friend, did a little homework, and generally enjoyed life before the busy weekend begins.

  8. kathy b says:

    I’m so happy Gg is in the homestretch of this event……
    My 46 cents….oh I am still soooooo happy not to be working weekends. It is a real joy. It has not warn off …..
    IM off to see the kittens and momma this morning. They are too sweet.

  9. AlisonH says:

    Gg is rocking that cool sweater!

Leave a Reply

