Early Spring?

Phil predicted an early spring, and we have had snow showers all weekend.  Hmmm…  Anyway, on the off chance Phil’s shadow knows what’s going on, I picked up the pile of spring catalogs and had a look-see this morning.  Here’s what I can see coming to my wardrobe, listed only in order of the way the “rags” were stacked beside my chair:

426142_A813_FF_NYT

Land’s End

Land’s End Dotted Supima Cardi.  (Descriptions are my own; I’ve linked in photo and text, so you can find everything I mention here.)  Why yes, I do have a navy dot blouse from last season, but I like navy and dots so…  I did say I could see these things coming to my house, not that I’m actually pulling the trigger and ordering.

How I’d wear it?  Now, with my PANK jeans, green skinny cords, PANK wool pencil skirt, red dresses…

Later?  Coral crops, white cropped jeans, maybe even get crazy and wear it with my red dot skirt or my baby blue and kelly green Lilly P skirt…

Hmmm…  I think I’ve made a good case for this one.  That’s something following a few style blogs has taught me; if it won’t work with the wardrobe I already have, it isn’t a wise purchase.

422374_A512_FF_64W

Land’s End

Print shirt.  I almost assuredly won’t buy this one, but I LOVE the color combo.  Yeah, it would go with plenty of things, but I’m not a fan of 3/4 sleeve tailored shirts.  I can roll the sleeves up if they’re in my way, but I can’t make them longer when I want full-coverage.  I’d also be fibbing if I said I wear a lot of this style of shirt.  Frankly, if it isn’t flannel and it buttons up the front the length of the shirt, it doesn’t get much wear in my world.

Sadly, that’s it from one of my go-to sources.  Their colors are great, both for me and for Pantone’s trends, but I’ve done a great job (hem, hem) with wardrobe building the past couple of years and basics are, well… staples that don’t need replacing year to year.

J. Jill

J. Jill

J. Jill is a new resource, but gosh I love what I’ve gotten from them.  I can wear turtlenecks again because I found theirs.  However, their latest offerings do little for me; this scarf is the lone winner and I might even order it to assure it doesn’t sell out while I wait for it to go on sale.  You can see it as part of an outfit HERE; I have a lot of coral and grey pieces in my wardrobe, and I love the idea of combining them.

How I’d wear it now:  With any of my grey cold-weather dresses, with a grey cardi and black on the bottom (pencil skirt, jeans, trousers), with the lone black turtleneck I own…

Later?  With a coral tee, a grey tee over those coral crops, with one of the two warmer weather grey dresses I own, or even my trust little black dress that gets so little wear because I need something lighter/brighter at my face.

Talbots

Talbots

I am MAD for this Talbots look too, but seeing as how I have a new, kickin’ red trench, the skirt is all I might actually consider.  I do want navy and/or nude pumps, but I only have one pair of Talbots shoes and I’ve only worn them once so I don’t know how I feel about them.  As for the skirt, I do have an orange wrap cardi, a black cardi, the aforementioned black turtleneck, and a black drape-necked blouse, but I really don’t need more skirts for their own sake.

When I wore the PANK wool pencil skirt on Thursday, I really stressed myself out with pulling the whole outfit together.  Oh, I got plenty of compliments, so evidently it was worth the trouble, but honestly…  I’d rather have a dress and just add footwear and a sweater/jacket/coat if needed.

That’s the part of wardrobe building that I’m just starting to embrace.  Sure, in theory a skirt is more versatile than a dress, but my need to plan my outfit in the morning based on my mood, the shifting weather, and my fluid schedule gets me in trouble when I’m standing in front of my closet and the clock is ticking.

Talbots

Talbots

Yes, I do realize I could stage a few options and then pick one, but I kinda’ do that in my mind, and let’s face it…  I’ve known me for a good while now, and I’m resistant to change sometimes.  Thankfully, Lilly Pulitzer and Talbots too know women like me, and the online Talbots Spring Look Book says this gem will be available in mid-February.  Hello, Cupid?  What’s sweeter than the universal preppy combo of PANK, pink and green in a shirt dress?  I can promise you, of all the things posted here, this is the one I’ll order right away… as soon as it is available.

(Note: rabid clicking to assure it isn’t available for pre-order doesn’t work… just so you know.)

Actually, Talbots has tons of stuff I’d like to bring home this season, but it all seems scheduled for release later this month.

Lilly Pulitzer

Lilly Pulitzer

Lilly P also nailed it with their latest look book.  I’ll take one of everything please, starting with this outfit, ostentatious pearl bracelet included.  We’ll call it a statement piece, okay?  Have I mentioned that I love PANK, reds and corals with turquoise, teal, etc.?  It seems Lilly loves ’em too.

I’m wondering if one of the reasons I like dresses so much is I don’t feel the need to come up with three ways to wear it.  I mean, take this coral and pearl beauty.  Dress it down with a traditional jean jacket, top it with a little short-sleeved, cropped white cardi… two very different looks, right?  I also have a cream cardigan of some floaty sort, a navy cardi, and a brick-ish linen blazer that might work with it.  How’s that for making a case for it?

Lilly P

Lilly P

But I am really drawn to all the items in this boucle fabric/print as well.  However, this skirt would suit my body best.  Is it a cop-out or part of my signature style to note I could wear it now with a creamy tee and a denim jacket, a long-sleeved chambray shirt, and then later with a short-sleeved chambray shirt, a sleeveless chambray shirt…  Or of course, I own a few different white/cream tops for every season too…  Lilly P will let me pre-order this one, but I need to try it on in person, so…  I wait.

Oh yeah.  And I did already buy the pale pink denim jacket from Christopher & Banks.  (I can’t seem to get a photo of it for you, so just follow the link.)  It would look great with the last three items (four if you count the bracelet) too!

Has Phil gotten you in the mood for spring clothes yet?

 

This entry was posted in Fashion.

11 comments on “Early Spring?

  1. kathy b says:

    No 3/4 length sleeves here either…they are just icky.
    I love the soft colored jean jacket…and a great price…I may just order one

  2. gmariesews says:

    I don’t understand the comment about the cop out when explaining the final LilyP skirt. I do like that scarf – I actually buy scarfs and wear a lot of them. You found some winners – I love that you make outfits with what’s already in your closet before buying them. Can’t wait to see what actually ends up in your closet. g

  3. Ruth says:

    Well….with the notable exception of that pink and green dress, I like how you’re thinking! I haven’t gotten as far as planning for spring yet, though no doubt it will soon be here. 🙂

  4. Mary says:

    I am pretty much on a no-buy RTW clothing for the forseeable future. Glad you were able to find a nice selection of things.

  5. Nancy says:

    Great choices, and I like your idea of planning how you can wear it before purchasing. I need to do that more often. Love the dotted cardigan – it would look great with a lemon yellow top or dress.

  6. Kathy says:

    Love that red trench coat! There is an orange one at Banana Republic that I really like but I’m not sure how much I’d actually get to wear it.

    http://m.bananarepublic.gap.com/product.html?dn=bp656432002&dv=3&shopid=2&pdn=bc15227

  7. Katherine says:

    Love the Talbot’s red trench (my color!) Love the dotty sweater so much I considered buying it but opted for the floral one instead. If you’re like me you’ll get lots of use from the scarf! I wore a yellow and coral long silk scarf with a long navy sweater and jeans to the Superbowl party last night. The scarf was a hit. One lady said, “Let me try your scarf with my black top.” After that it made the rounds and I just put it back on in time to go home. I think that many times we look at things/fashions and aren’t sure and so we don’t try them. Once we try it we wonder why we haven’t worn it before.

  8. Sue says:

    Since it’s 70 again today, I’m still looking forward to wearing my winter clothes.
    I don’t like 3/4 sleeves either and I finally bought the fabric to make my red trench coat. Now if I only had a spare minute in my day to sew. Maybe once the pups are grown a little.

  9. kathy b says:

    Kathy b here again. Twice today Chan~! I was at Nordstroms with a friend today. OMG. I Looked at some adorable Jimmy Shoo shoes and nearly fell over at their 545.00 price tag. I found a walled that was adorable for 455.00 . Who pays these prices? Really? I was way outta my resale shop zone

  10. Blond Duck says:

    It’s in the 70s and 80s here, and it’s totally spring. My mom and sister just cleaned out my closet so I found new dresses for free!

    Oh, and I used my turkey chili recipe with beef last week (just added more chili powder) and the ladies from art class loved it– ate whole pot. Try it!

  11. AlisonH says:

    Love the 3/4 length sleeves, except when I’m trying to put a full-length-sleeve sweater over them. Other than that, they’re great for our climate.

Leave a Reply

