Thanks Reader

I use Google Reader… or maybe that should be past tense?  I had a very busy morning, so it was REALLY the wrong day for Reader to blow up.  Basically Blogless Susan had alerted me to the problem, so I wasn’t surprised when I opened my Reader (which was at 0 when I went to bed last night) and it showed over 400 unread posts.

So, I’m not being rude…  I’m trying to read your posts, but…  It’s not you.  It’s not me.  It’s Reader.

Courtesy of Amazon

Courtesy of Amazon

In the meantime, I did finally finish Killing Kennedy.  I plowed through it in a couple of phases.  The first half or so went very quickly, and then I got distracted by a certain furry patient for a few weeks.  I picked it up a time or two in between, and then finished it off easily last night.

They stuck with the facts, but I didn’t find it a satisfying read.  Yes, I’ve read almost everything on the subject over the years, and maybe I’m more of a conspiracy theory fan than I care to admit, but…

Since it’s non-fiction, I don’t think it’s much of a spoiler to note that it was TOTALLY preventable.  I didn’t feel the same way after reading Killing Lincoln last year (or whenever).  Sure there were things that could have been done to prevent THAT assassination too, but with JFK’s shooting, over and over, I thought “You idiot.  If you’d just done your job…”  Any number of men – yes, MEN – had the chance to follow protocol, exercise sound judgment, and President Kennedy might not have been killed that day in Dallas.

I remember hearing that each generation has a moment – “Where were you when ____?” that stamps their place in history.  How do you feel about that?  I wasn’t born when JFK was killed, and I don’t really remember Nixon leaving DC, but I do remember watching the hostages leave Iran, I remember sitting with my father watching and waiting to hear if Reagan was alive, I remember watching the Space Shuttle explode, and I most certainly can tell you where I was that clear morning of September 11, 2001.

Is there a singular moment in world history that made time stand still for you?

11 comments on “Thanks Reader

  1. gmariesews says:

    A single moment – no. I was exactly 1 month old when Kennedy was shot. I remember all of the things you mentioned. I think the worst for me has to be a toss up between the Space Shuttle and 9-11. g

  2. Sue says:

    OK, make the old gal feel even older! Yes, I was playing hooky from school when Kennedy was shot and watched the whole thing unfold on TV. Yes, we did have TV way back then. I saw Oswald shot live on TV. I watched Neil Armstrong step on the moon and I watched the aftermath of the shootings at Kent State. I stayed home from work to watch the Viet Nam POWs come home and I watched the Watergate hearings. I watched the events of 9/11 happen with horror and fear. I’ve seen a lot of awful events and a lot of wonderful events and many changes in the way we do things.

  3. Mary says:

    I was just shy of 13 when Kennedy was shot. My family lived in Germany on an AFB. I can still remember a young airman sobbing through the announcement on the armed forces radio/tv. It was evening in Germany when we heard. We all just sat around the TV waiting for more announcements about what was happening while they played dirges in the background. We prayed and cried. Prayed and cried. Then just over four years later, MLK and RFK were assassinated (saw RFK’s happen on TV). Felt like my teens were filled with the death of leaders.

    A good singular moment was watching Neil Armstrong and Buzz Aldrin land/walk on the moon in 1969. Magical.

    And then I remember all the rest of the times you mentioned. On 9/11 I was working in DC just a mile from congress…having just flown in the night before from NYC.

  4. Katherine says:

    I remember exactly where I was at each of the events you mentioned but it was 9-11 that sticks with me most. Our daughter called and told us what was happening when we were on the way to the office in the morning. When we arrived everyone in the office gathered around the little TV we had in the break room and after several hours we all decided we needed to go home, but DH and I stayed. We sat alone in the office with the doors locked, not answering phones, motionless and not speaking for hours. Neither of us slept that night. Fireman son had been called to do search and rescue in Oklahoma City and I was greatly afraid that he would be asked to do the same in New York.

  5. Nancy says:

    Thanks for confirming that Google Reader is acting strangely. Reader has been goofy for me the last two or three days. I’m glad it wasn’t just on my computer.

    Several events are in my “I remember when. . .” category: the walk on the moon, Hale Bopp comet (wish I had taken photos or at least tried to take photos), Japanese tsunami, 9-11, and so many others.

  6. Walden121 says:

    I remember where I was on 9-11
    I remember where I was when OJ was found not guilty

  7. Marjie says:

    I watched the moon landing on TV when I was just short of 9. I remember it to this day. I remember all of the events you mentioned, but 9/11 angered me the most, and I still stand on my soapbox over it.

  8. Blond Duck says:

    Ha! Ben’s got that book on his desk!

  9. kathy says:

    I remember the same things you do. The most personal was the Iranian hostages since one of my hometown citizens was one of them.

    I was born two years and one day after the Kennedy assassination. I always get reminded of it as my birthday approaches and my mom usually tells me her memory of it, so even though I wasn’t alive I kind of feel like I was.

    I am currently reading Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Slayer. I think next I will read the O’Reilly book on Killing Lincoln. Are you aware that the National Geographic channel will have a show?/miniseries? on Killing Lincoln on this upcoming Sunday night? I don’t know the details, just heard a blurb on NPR tonight.

  10. gypsyknits says:

    I read both books and much preferred the Killing Lincoln.
    I clearly remember JFK shooting. I was a mere 7 yrs old. I remember where I was sitting in my second grade classroom in a small Appalachian school when our teacher was summoned out of the class and we were told to remain seated and be quiet (which we did. I do believe we knew something was very wrong but weren’t sure at that time). Our principal (who was also the 6th grade teacher) heard the news on the radio. My teacher, Mrs. Arnold came back to the classroom. Her eyes were red from crying. She and the principal kindly told us what had happened and we were going home for the day.
    I remember there was no school until after the funeral and we watched it on our black and white tv (antennae television).
    The Challenger, 9-11 were defining moments as well. Sad, there are so many of those moments in my lifetime 😦

  11. Natalie says:

    Ugh…reader was very frustrating yesterday…I gave up!

    I remember where I was when Princess Diana died, and 9-11. the others I was not born or too young for.

    My dad was a big fan of Kennedy and he talks about where he was whenever we talk about Kennedy.

Leave a Reply

