Phil Lied?

Okay.  A few weeks ago, this hairy dude named Phil saw his shadow and winter was over – or however that works.  So can someone explain to me why we have cooler weather and snow (albeit flurries)?! 

2077423-p-MULTIVIEWI’m ready for spring now.  I’m eyeing boat shoes and lace tees, and loving the spring hues.   Here’s what I have in assorted carts.  I can make a case for all of them, but I’m not sure I *NEED* any of them.  I do *NEED* truly nude pumps, with a heel 2.5-3″, but I’m having trouble finding real leather in a color that isn’t taupe or nearly pink. 

But will I *REALLY* wear the boat shoes?  I wore the daylights out of them in high school, but then I wore shorts and mini skirts, and now I wear capri pants and dresses.

p14769317regHowever, I’m pretty sure I’m going to order this lace top.  I could wear it now with my PANK wool pencil skirt and my grey ruffle skirt, my green ankle cords, my PANK jeans, my wine jeans and then all spring and back into the fall with my chambray skirt, my blue/green/white Lilly P skirt, white cropped jeans, my coral cropped jeans…

Okay.  I’m ordering that one.  Thanks for talking me into it!

p14889246v130aI also really want this boucle jacket.  Yeah, I know just a few posts ago I threw 3/4 length sleeves under the bus, but these two items are exceptions, because they’re otherwise perfect for me and my existing wardrobe. 

Looks mint, doesn’t it?  It’s actually lime, turquoise, cream/white, black/navy…  (I can’t tell on the last two).  It would work with my navy ponte dress, my three different chambray dresses, my turquoise and lime tees, white or cream tees… 

I didn’t make quite the same convincing argument for that one, but I might order it anyway.  What do you think?  I don’t have but a couple of not-winter-weight tailored jackets.

426142_A813_FF_75BI’m also craving the Land’s End dot cardi, but I can’t choose between the navy and the coral.  Navy, I can’t wear with my navy ponte knit dress, and the coral, I can’t wear with my coral crops.  I do have another coral cardi and an orange cardi, but I also have a navy “boyfriend” cardi…  I think I just talked myself into the navy.

I can wear it with my red dresses, my chambray dresses, my green dresses… virtually everything that isn’t navy or black, and I don’t have much black at all in my wardrobe.  I couldn’t wear the coral with my reds and I’ve also already purchased a pale pink denim jacket for spring…

Are you ready for spring?

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Fashion.

18 comments on “Phil Lied?

  1. Katherine says:

    You can’t trust a groundhog! Just ask Bill Murray!! I love the way boat shoes look but I can’t stand the way they feel. I’ve never had a pair that are comfortable. DH, however, wears a pair for casual and likes them a lot. Also, I’m dotty over the dot cardi!!

  2. kathy b says:

    I cannot talk about the S word. It is near zero with the windchill today. Snow coming. I dont’ get to feel like spring for many months yet.
    but Im coming ot the Commonwealth in March.that should help!

  3. Nancy says:

    Jackets and cardigans are perfect in nearly any season, and I think you will get a lot of wear out of them. They can be dressed up or dressed down with accessories.

    Snow expected here tomorrow. . .no Spring here for a while, at least.

  4. Natalie says:

    Are those Sperry’s? Because I want them all and matching ones for Carmen! 🙂

  5. Marjie says:

    Yes to the lace top and the navy cardigan. No to the boat shoes. You’ll just feel ridiculous; they aren’t feminine enough for you. I’m leaning against the boucle jacket, because you won’t much care for the 3/4 length sleeves when it’s chilly.

    And it doesn’t matter what Hairy Phil says. We always have at least 6 more weeks of winter.

  6. gypsyknits says:

    Nice clothing choices. Love that coral sweater.
    Spring? Not a fan of spring (mud, Mr. Bettis…well you get the picture) but I must say I’m ready for temps of 70. We won’t see that until May or so.
    We had sleet/ice/snow/sun so far today and it’s not over yet.

  7. Sue says:

    We’ve been having spring but winter is scheduled to be here tomorrow for approximately 24 hours. I’m looking forward to it.

    I want a pink denim jacket, too. Have we seen it?

    Don’t you ever make spur of the moment buys? You make me feel guilty because you give your purchases so much thought and I buy something because it catches my eye.

  8. Walden121 says:

    I agree! So ready for Spring!

  9. Definately love the navy LE cardi…though I choked on the price…we had a week of spring…you wanted more?

  10. gmariesews says:

    I haven’t clicked through your items. How do you talk yourself into the navy? Because I was positive the coral would work with more, even when you already said you have a navy boyfriend cardi. While I realize the styles may be different – how many navy cardigans does one girl need? Get the coral.

    And I thought when Phil saw his shadow it meant 6 more weeks of winter? Umm, yea, that’s why I never pay attention to that. g

  11. Blond Duck says:

    I wear sperries with skirts! They’re cute!

  12. Barbara S. says:

    I am pretty sure no one even climbed out to look for any shadows around here, given our temps and the predicted half foot of snow coming our way.
    Interesting that you linked C&B, DTE starts a new job/position with them in March doing market analysis.

  13. Krystle says:

    Ooohh I love the lace top and the dot cardigan! (I am also so ready for spring!)

  14. Barbara says:

    Hah! I read someplace that Phil’s predictions were wrong most of the time.
    Boat shoes….yes. I have a pair since forever and they are so worn and perfect that my daughter would have stolen them years ago if she could fit in them. 🙂 The Blucher Moccasins: http://www.llbean.com/llb/shop/23773?feat=17915-ppxs&dds=y

  15. AlisonH says:

    Enjoy!

    I’ve still got the last pair in existence of plum 37R mary jane Birkenstocks waiting for me to check out. But then I got that car estimate–probably the end of that car.

  16. Kathy says:

    I think you need the boat shoes! I wandered upon the Sperry Top-Sider store (having previously been unaware of its existence) and bought myself two pairs last Friday.

  17. Nichole says:

    Those are some really cute spring pieces. I too am eyeing boat shoes (Sperry Topsiders) but trying to figure out how much I’d actually wear them… not thinking they go well with capris.

  18. Bubblesknits says:

    I agree. Phil lied his butt off. 😦 Instead of snow, we’ve just had tons of cold rain. This has been the wettest winter I believe we’ve ever had.

Leave a Reply

