Lendperk?

Have you heard of Lendperk?   The Budget Babe introduced me to them yesterday.   I probably would have signed up already if she hadn’t called them the Netflix for dresses.   See…  Netflix didn’t work for me.  Here’s a little insight into the weird mind that is me.

I can’t be bothered to walk to the entertainment hutch-thing, open doors, figure out which device is the DVD player (because I learned Monday that I can’t manage the BluRay’s remote), toss whatever disc the Knight left in there somewhere, insert what I want to watch, and play.  I can however, use “guide” and “list” on our DVR thingee, so I watch NCIS and Diners, Drive-ins and Dives over and over when the Knight isn’t home to operate the audio-visual equipment.

Anyway.

A dress I covet

A dress I covet

In theory, Lendperk seems to have been designed for me.  Here’s more insight into who I am…  while I have favorites I enjoy wearing over and over, I really like mixing it up.  I rarely remember if a friend has worn something before, unless it was something I coveted.  (Yes, I was raised Catholic and know that’s a sin, but green is my favorite color, my eye color, and I just can’t help it.)

What say you?  Should I give Lendperk a try?  February is shot, but March has a League-wide meeting of monumental proportions, and April and May are chocked full of socials, meetings, ceremonies, and other reasons to have extra dresses that I haven’t worn over and over on hand.

Lendperk

The brands they offer are not designer, and they range from Modcloth to J Crew.  They run from truly casual to what they call formal, or what I’d call fancy cocktail/party frocks.  For instance, while this Modcloth pretty is considered formal, I’d wear it to our community celebration awards ceremony or our May/annual dinner.  The ceremony is daytime and I typically wear a true “day dress” (meaning Sunday best or dressy business) while the dinner is obviously in the evening and as the master of ceremonies, I’ll wear something cocktail-ish.

Have you heard of Lendperk?  Should I give them a try?

This entry was posted in Fashion.

13 comments on “Lendperk?

  1. gmariesews says:

    I have never heard of Lendperk and I should check it out before I comment, but I’m not gonna! I think it might be a really, really good idea for you – depending on the cost of ‘rental.’ It would provide you with options that you haven’t wore before – which is important to you. Without the fiscal irresponsibility you seem to wobble with every single time you *want* a new dress. The only potential downside I see for you – packing them up and shipping them back. Do they come with ‘return packaging’ and postage – if not, that would be a definate deal breaker for you – you’d be like us and have a movie hanging out for months because you haven’t watched it or sent it back yet.

    So – you can’t watch Jesse??? Booo, Hisss! g

  2. Nancy says:

    Lendperk is a new site to me. I’ll go check it out.

  3. Nichole says:

    I haven’t heard of them, but it sounds like a great option for someone who has so many social gatherings as you! If you use them, I’m really looking forward to your review! I remember someone passing me a site for a similar program for handbags, but I wear my bags into the ground when I love them, so I never even checked that out.

  4. Sue says:

    For your situation it might work. Depends on shipping and how well cared for the items are, etc. I guess giving them a try wouldn’t hurt.

  5. Lendperk’s new to me! Loving the emerald though. 🙂

  6. Marjie says:

    For you, it looks like this would work, if they have dresses you like. If you don’t like to reuse a dress, this is a much better option than paying so much for a one time garment.

  7. Kathy says:

    Interesting. Kind of like “bag, borrow, or steal” which has had a name change. I’d wonder what you have to do to return. And how well do they check returned dresses for repairs, cleaning, etc. Not that you’d rip it, but you want to make sure it’s in top condition if you are counting on it for a special occasion.

    Keep us informed!

  8. kathy b says:

    Well you know I’m the LAST fashion person in the world to ask. I follow YOU!!!!
    Yes, keep us informed

  9. AlisonH says:

    Twenty a month for one or 49 a month for however many? It sounds perfect for you. Not so much for me–too many things to take into account, like, is it long enough and full enough that when I fall down from my funky balance my butt won’t show. But for your average woman with a full schedule, that looks like a great deal to me.

  10. Krystle says:

    Ooh, that green dress is so cute! I think that it sounds like something that is at least worth trying! Especially since you aren’t particularly fond of wearing the same dress to a gathering with the same people.

  11. Blond Duck says:

    I’m kinda creeped out about wearing clothes other people wear.

  12. km says:

    I think lendperk is a great idea. If I needed clothes that I could “borrow” I’d probably go with the local high end consignment shop. Then I could try on. But not everyone is so lucky to have such a shop. Usually when I’ve needed a fancy dress, I’ve borrowed from my neighbor. We’re pretty much the same size. And she usually lets me borrow the matching jewelry too.

    Some other fun websites I found out about recently.
    http://www.thestyleup.com/ I’ve added this. And it helps me to think about my local weather and outfit ideas the night before.
    http://lisajobaker.com/2013/01/easy-fashion-for-busy-moms/ I haven’t tried stitch fix yet, but I would if my current budget included new clothes. I’ll get the basics…but avoid trendy this season until we fins away to pay off the remodel.

  13. Bubblesknits says:

    I haven’t heard of it, either. If you decide to try it, let me know what you think!

Leave a Reply

