Floral Memories

photo.JPGAs soon as the snow melted last week, these beauties were showing off for us.   I don’t recall planting a single crocus bulb, but the prolific purples have spread like wildfire.  Some years there’s a white one or two, but this year, I didn’t see any.  The purple may have choked them out!

Interestingly, they’re most prevalent over Fred’s side of the memorial garden.  That’s curious, because Sissy wears purple, and always has.  So Sissy’s signature color covers Fred’s burial spot.  Weird…  (They’re both basset hounds, if you haven’t been visiting long enough to remember Fred.)

Thanks Hooey, for the flowers.  (Yes, all of my dogs have a host of nicknames!)  Do you have blooms yet?

This entry was posted in Flowers.

15 comments on “Floral Memories

  1. gmariesews says:

    OH Fred, how sweet! Those little beauties remind me of my grandma – she always had crocus in her yard. I noticed mine were up a couple of weeks ago – mind you seeing those pretty purple faces coming through snow is much better than just poking through dirt.

    There is a stunning stellar Jay sitting at my pond, looking for food and just looking around. I can see him from my chair. Lovely. Actually I think it’s gathering for next building. g

    • gmariesews says:

      nest building. I have no idea what next building is. But he had little twigs in his beak. I’m assuming it’s a he since the color was so vibrant. But i’m not really a ‘bird’ person. g

  2. Nancy says:

    They are a lovely tribute to Fred and your memories.

    Still too cold here for blooms, but they will be appearing next month if the daytime temps continue to increase as they have in the last week.

  3. StarSpry says:

    So beautiful! It’s very interesting that they’re prevalent on Fred’s side 🙂 We had some yellow ones popping up, but then we got more snow, so I’m not sure how they’re doing now.

  4. kathy b says:

    and PURPLE is so IN this year. I see all the news people etc wearing PURPLE.
    I only have a nice cluster of snow drops so far…..

  5. Katherine says:

    What a sweet memorial for Fred!! My favorites are the purples because they stand out so beautifully in the snow. We have a pear tree that thinks it is spring and is budding, and my herbs that grow in window planters have decided they want to go outside. (Yes, I talk to them and they talk to me). What a wonderful time of the year!!

  6. Marjie says:

    We had sun and snow showers all at the same time today. And no flowers. But we can hope!

  7. Can’t wait to see some Crocus myself! Still a couple weeks off yet. Just catching up on your blog… miss you!

  8. Sue says:

    Surprisingly we don’t have any blooms yet. We’ve had a very mild winter and I’d expect to see some by now. Maybe nothing survived last summer’s drought.
    Sue

  9. Blond Duck says:

    LOVE flowers. Don’t like spring pollen.

  10. Pretty crocus! Yes, we have some Daffodils, Narcissus, and a few Iris so far…not to mention the plum tree is in bloom. Looks like the roses are getting ready to do their thing too. Spring it is.

  11. gypsyknits says:

    Purty :).
    No blooms here but we do have an inch of snow and strong winds.

  12. Jessica says:

    Ahhhh, crocus…the harbinger of Spring. They always remind me of my parents, and the house i grew up in. my Mom has plenty of crocus planted around the yard…followed by my favorites, the hyacinth, and tulips and daffs. No wonder I married a dutch guy, and my first dog came from Holland! :o)

  13. Bubblesknits says:

    Daffodils have been blooming all over the place down here. They’re one of my faves. Love the pretty purple Crocus blooms, though.

Leave a Reply

