Seattle Cozy

Hey gMarie!  I can’t wait to mail the next box of books.  The Homecrafting Mysteries by Cricket McRae are set in a Seattle suburb, as I understand it.  What is now Snohomish was originally Cadyville.  Sadly, I learned that tidbit from Wikipedia.  Maybe as the series progresses, I’ll learn more about Cadyville?

Lye_in_Wait_Back_featureThe first book in the series is Lye in Wait.   As you might guess, the victim succumbs via ingested lye.  I confess, I had to whine to basically blogless Susan to press on; character development is secondary to plot advancement for the first half of the book, and that’s not a style I admire.  I like to get to know the characters, and to really enjoy a book, I generally need to be able to relate to or even LIKE a character or three.  By the time the book ended that was the case, so if you feel the same way, just keep reading and it’ll get better.

The main character is Sophie Mae Reynolds, a young widow, living with her best friend, a divorcee with a 10 yr. old daughter and a senior corgi.  I can see why Susan was drawn to this series; it appears that in each book, Sophie Mae has a new hobby.  (Susan knits, crochets, spins, weaves, makes soap, does several kinds of beadwork, and those are just the first handful of hobbies than come to mind!)  In Lye in Wait, Sophie Mae is earning a living making soap, lip balm and more.  I’ve already started the second book in the series, so stay tuned for more.

 Any exciting weekend plans?

11 comments on “Seattle Cozy

  1. Nancy says:

    I read Lye in Wait on my Kindle last year and enjoyed it.

  2. Katherine says:

    I’m sure I haven’t read this book but I remember reading a book about a character named Sophie Mae who had a husband who was a police officer. I always say I’m going to keep a journal of the books I’ve read so I can go back and check these things. I guess it is never too late to start!

    I love it that you give us tips on good books!! Thanks for sharing your reading adventures with us.

  3. AlisonH says:

    To knit knit knit…

  4. Sue says:

    I’ve read a couple authors recently who place their stories in Washington State. I’ll have to go back and look them up.

    This weekend I’d like to finally get thru the taxes so I can get back to more pleasurable tasks.

  5. Marjie says:

    It’s always fun when a book gives you a real feeling for where it’s set. And it’s especially nice that Susan passes books on to you. I hope G enjoys these also, since they’re set in her back yard!

    No good weekend plans. Even the pie is mostly consumed. Blah.

  6. gmariesews says:

    Oh – I’ll look forward to getting these and getting to know Sophie Mae! I love Snohomish it’s a cute little destination town, with lots of lovely shops and great places to eat.

    Weekend plans – same as most of this week. A lot of nothing. g

  7. LOL…a “reality” cosy, wherein we admit to being drawn to many crafts, not satisfied with only one. Love it. Plans for the weekend include the usual homework and housework, with a side order of The Pink Room documentary (Google this!) and busy Sunday schedule.

  8. Barbara says:

    Pleased you’re seeing signs of spring….hope this next storm coming across misses you completely.
    This weekend? Reading for one. (I am currently in an Ann Rule mode and reading everything she has on Kindle.) And I saw some hothouse rhubarb in the market, so grabbed it. You know me and rhubarb. I’ll make a couple things today and save some for a more involved tart recipe.
    Hope you have a good weekend planned!

  9. kathy b says:

    I think Im getting downstaffed today. I wanted to go today.. oh well. more kitten/knittin time.
    Party tomorrow with FIreman’s side…will be FUN

  10. Bubblesknits says:

    Busy weekend here. Kept a friend’s daughter while she was dealing with a very sick hubby. E was perfectly happy to play hostess, btw. lol Also doing a bit of gardening. T rented a tiller this morning and we’re putting in the raised bed frames tomorrow. Planting will come after the last frost.

  11. Nichole says:

    Unfortunately, the weekend is nearly over already. Boo! But we’re celebrating St Patty’s Day and enjoying some down time before racing season starts.

Leave a Reply

