Robin’s snow

I finally tracked down the elusive phrase…  The snow that comes after you’re already thinking it’s spring?  Kathy refreshed my memory; it’s the robin’s snow.  You know, snow after the robins return?  Well, we have more this morning. 

But first, pop over and send good vibes to Kathy and her family.  It’s not my place to share their news, but I know they’d appreciate any prayers, crossed paws or happy thoughts on their behalf.

Creed-Napkins-500x500

From The Virginia Shop

Now as a Virginian by birth and again by marriage, I am very familiar with our March/spring, wild weather.  I also learned that “in like a lion, out like a lamb” thing in grade school.  But here’s where it gets ridiculous.  Saturday, I ran in a tee – albeit long-sleeved – and no jacket, and was sorry I wore ankle-length pants instead of capri pants.  Yesterday, it was sleeting and snowing on my way to church, and then it cleared enough for a wet, muddy hike in the woods.  Then, up to a thin blanket of snow this morning, and according to the weather folks, it will be in the 50s tomorrow again.  WHAT?!

Fickle is one thing, but this is too much.  Of course, the same weather people say it will be in the 40s again after tomorrow…

How’s your weather – and attitude?

This entry was posted in Friends.

13 comments on “Robin’s snow

  1. kathy b says:

    I so hate this time of the year in Chicago…..
    So I m going to Virginia soon. Make it warm please

  2. gmariesews says:

    My attitude is good. My weather is grey and wet. The sun made an appearance for nice dog walks all weekend and some shirtless sun bathing (for the dog – not me!). But now it’s all rain, all the time. Welcome to Western Washington!

    Off to send Kathy good wishes. g

  3. Nichole says:

    I was running around last week sans jacket, and this morning woke up to 18 degress. We’re bracing for another foot or so of the white stuff tomorrow…

  4. Nancy says:

    It sounds a lot like Wyoming. The transition from Winter to Spring can stretch into mid-April or even May.

  5. AlisonH says:

    Got layers on. It’s just brisk enough to enjoy a good sweater, and looks to stay that way awhile after a few days of upper 70’s last week. It’s pretty out there.

  6. Sue says:

    On Friday it was 81 degrees, on Saturday it was 42 and on Sunday we had thunder storms all day. Today is cloudy and windy and about 40 degrees. The whole winter has been like that, up one day and down the next.

    In New York State we always watched for the first robin of spring, but robins winter here in the Ozarks. We have big flocks of them all winter.

  7. Bubblesknits says:

    We’re supposed to have strong storms today, but later this week we get another snap of frigid air. Blech.

  8. Marjie says:

    Ryan marched into the house about 90 minutes early, announcing, “The school was afraid of keeping us runts for a slumber party! They’re certain snow and sleet are starting momentarily!” Maybe he’ll get one last 2 hour delay tomorrow morning.

    Of course, about 4 years ago (I think), we had blizzards on Valentine’s Day, St. Patrick’s Day and Income Tax Day, after a virtually snowless winter. Sometimes I think we are just meant to be confused.

  9. Katherine says:

    I’m thinking it is a good thing I’m too busy at work to stick my nose out the door. The Texas weather is so confusing–blankets on the bed one night, air conditioning running the next. If I dared to plant seedlings it would snow tomorrow and the weather elves would have a good laugh at my expense. I hate the saying, “It is what it is” but it applies!

  10. Blond Duck says:

    It’s 95 degrees today! So hot!

  11. Definately spring here. It’s been in the 70’s for about the last week, and mostly sunny. Expecting a slight dip in temp as the clouds are gathering for some promised rain, wither tomorrow, Weds, or both. Attitude? Slightly fatalistic, I’m afraid. Soo much to do, so little time to do it.

  12. Blond Duck says:

    I hope you’re better today!

  13. gypsyknits says:

    Thanks for the prayer shout-out :). Much appreciated.
    Still no Robins here and it’s snowing….again. Since I read your most recent post (first) I’ll add we’re gonna need those winter coats and shovels for awhile yet.

Leave a Reply

