Peekaboo Lulu…

52299_multiflorallinedanceHappy first day of Spring!  It’s a beautiful early spring day here in podunk, with not a cloud in the sky and a bit of wind… blowing in more rain/snow/cold tomorrow… with more of the same on Sunday/Monday.

I haven’t dared to look ahead to Easter Sunday’s weather.  I also haven’t bought a new Easter frock in years, but isn’t this Lilly P perfect?  (Keep in mind I’m a good 6″ shorter than that model, or so I’d guess.  I’ve found that what’s nearly indecently short on her hits me just above the knee.)   Anyway, it’s a happy dress that would be great for Easter, May Day, Mother’s Day, a garden tour tea…

… and yeah, it’s just too cotton-candy cute to really come home with me.

Oh well.  That’s about how my shopping experience went yesterday.  I had time to kill between my dental appointment and my salon appointment, and I have Belk gift cards to spend.  Yep, still present tense.  Still HAVE.  I tried to spend them on a pretty dress, but nothing was right.  We seem to have the one Belk in the south that doesn’t  have a Lilly P section.  Booo!  So, over to the shoes.  I want – again, still present tense – nude and/or navy pumps or slingbacks, in a not ankle-breaking heel height.  I figure since kitten heels are in right now, it would be a good time to look.  Ummm… no.

Then, while I was cooking my head – er… processing my color – I saw the great Lululemon crisis.  Even the Today Show covered it this morning.   Here’s what I know:  I don’t own any of the pants in question.  I also have seen on other blogs that some customers have been told by their local Lululemon staff that they have to demonstrate that their pants in question are indeed indecent, and Lululemon corporate has addressed the cyber complaints to clarify that no, one does NOT need to pose for a staffer’s assessment… so don’t.

I honestly don’t know how I feel about all of this.  Frankly, my Skirt Sports bottoms aren’t holding up as well as my Lululemon pants, even though I consider them comparable in the market sense of the word.  My Skirt Sports tops though still look brand new, and I’ve yet to purchase a Lululemon top of any sort because their styles tend to be too sexy/trendy/youthful for me.  My LLL (I’m lazy… sorry) pants still look brand new, even though I’ve worn them through the woods, mud, muck, etc., repeatedly.  All receive the same care – cold water delicate wash, machine dry low heat, no fabric softener.

But.   Skirt Sports can be found on Sierra Trading Post for great prices, while LLL is rarely marked down but so much.  (Note:  I didn’t pay full retail for ANY of the LLL or SS items I own.)  Skirt Sports hasn’t had an QA problems that I’ve heard of.  This is LLL’s umpteenth QA problem in the less than a year I’ve been aware of the company.

At what point do you pack up your retail dollars and decide the brand isn’t worth the risk?

It’s also worth mentioning that I paid $8 each for two jackets, a technical shirt and a pair of wicking, compression capri pants yesterday at JC Penney’s.  One jacket and the long sleeved technical shirt were by Nike, the other two were (I presume?) JCP’s own fitness label.

DP0205201317030136MAnd have you seen Joe Fresh?!  I didn’t try anything on, but this little jersey dress did make me look twice.  It’s thin, but for summer wear and for $24, that’s not bad at all.  I noticed a really cute top on a Joe Fresh tv commercial this morning too, so I might have to go back and look for that, because spring is here, and eventually, will stay for more than one day here and there.

10 comments on “Peekaboo Lulu…

  1. gmariesews says:

    Well I don’t have any LLL or SS – I tend to buy and wear Target pants to death!

    I have not seen Joe Fresh, but man that dress is darling! Seriously cute. g

  2. kathy b says:

    Thanks for the JCP reminder. THey have awesome prices…I may have to get there in the next few days….
    I love the last dress you are showing on the blog…..

  3. Mary says:

    Based on current forecasts, let’s just say you would need to wear a jacket over that dress (or any other) on Easter down your way. Not horrible, but not balmy either.

  4. Nancy says:

    No real clothing stores in my area, so I am limited to catalog/online shopping. It is hard to get in the mood of Spring and Summer shopping when you can’t see the garment, feel the fabric, and try it on. Sigh!

  5. Katherine says:

    Cotton-candy cute–maybe, but too much so? It’s the kind of dress I would throw a turquoise 3/4 length sleeved sweater over and call it a day. EXCEPT that I am not six inches shorter than the model, I am about that tall and my legs would be very cold!! LOL! I’m sure you can guess that the red Joe Fresh dress is my dress-style bread and butter!

    Weird thing about sports clothes, it’s been years since I’ve bought any. I do Yoga almost everyday and wear Danskins mostly but they seem to wear like iron. I guess I should take a look at what I wear for Yoga because maybe it isn’t as sturdy and “reputable” as I think!!.

    Good luck on the cute shoes with kitten heels search. Now that they are in style I can’t find any I like. I’ve been wearing flats for years because I will not wear those six inch platform thingys!

  6. AlisonH says:

    I’ve become addicted to Wintersilk tops, especially the tunic blouses: basic, great fabric, cheap on clearance (most expensive was $20, some were half that) and they warm or cool me as needed. Machine-delicate wash, air dry, and I do an ironing binge a week with them during the warmer months.

  7. Marjie says:

    Isn’t there a Belk website where you could spend your gift card on Lilly P? That’s what I would try, especially since I think you know how their sizing runs.

    And that flowery dress would be toned down by a white shawl or cardigan, so I think you might just decide you like it. Or you could go with the red dress for summer. Or maybe both. I am such an enabler….sorry!

    I’ve gotten some surprisingly cute kitten heeled shoes at Target. Just a suggestion. Maybe I’ll go hunting on their website later and keep you updated if there’s anything purchase-worthy!

  8. Kathy says:

    Daisy has been keeping me informed almost moment-by-moment on the lulu situation. Amazing that it’s gotten do much national news! I don’t own any of the “pants” in question, which to me are tights, since I don’t do yoga or dress in it casually.

    I did buy an Easter dress. Let’s hope Colorado weather cooperates with my choice!

  9. Barbara says:

    Lily P has been all over my email recently. I get at least one announcement from them a day. Unfortunately, I am taller than you so their dresses do not work for me…and, as I’ve said before, I’m too old for short dresses. But….I do love their shirts!
    That’s a really cute Spring dress you’ve posted. Love those colors!

  10. Sue says:

    The first dress looks like it should be on a seven year old. I don’t know any adult women who could carry that off. I do like bright fabrics and florals, but that one is over the top.

    Glad your pants weren’t of the see thru variety. That would be annoying at those prices. We’ll be wearing winter coats if today’s temps are any indication. We’re still waiting for the 8 inches of snow that we were promised. Hasn’t started yet.

Leave a Reply

