March and the Mms

Happy Thorsday, little friday, Thankful Thursday and more!   I love alliteration, but the regulars already know that, so hang on for the M-ride.  It’s either that, or you’ll need wine to get through my whines about the weather and such, so humor me.

March and its Mmmms…

photo.JPGMud.  You’ll have to click over to the girls’ blog if you want to see THEIR muddy bodies, but you can also see the tractor tire marks in the soft soil.  Isn’t Gretchen Greer dapper in her blaze orange coat?

Our walks are being controlled by that soft, saturated soil.  We simply cannot tread some places because the path is swamped, flooded, or otherwise too wet/gross to walk through, over or around.  The hidden thankful?  No drought conditions here, so brush fires shouldn’t be much of a problem this spring.

March Madness.  In contrast, that’s a happy MMMMMM.  I played basketball, my mother played basketball, and I love me some college basketball, even if UVA isn’t playing.  (Extra credit to anyone who pulls for them in the NIT.  The Knight’s dear uncle has this crazy idea that the Hoos might make it to the final four there.)

Mix, wintry mix.  As in… make up your mind Mother Nature.  My stylist is from Atlanta, and she says the southern “Phil” did predict a long winter.  Yes Virginia, there is snow in March and I’m not amused, even when it’s that perfect icy powder.   Not sure I can find a thankful here. 

Meetings.  My life revolves around meetings, but the ones this month have been and will be pivotal.  Earlier this month, the Knight presented awards as Chief for the last time.  Later this month, regular planning for next fiscal year stuff for the League will collide with changing the course – or most accurately, the focus – of the JLC.  I won’t bother muttering about all the other meetings along the way, and I most definitely don’t want to talk about all the ones lurking next month as we ramp up for transition from this year to next…  Thankful?  Well, it’s always exciting to plan for the upcoming year and we’ll soon be celebrating the successes of this year.

What are you muttering about today?

9 comments on “March and the Mms

  1. gmariesews says:

    hmmm – can I do your mmmms? Let’s see if I can do it. These days I’m muttering about:

    *Meanings – what exactly do those definitions on dressing mean and how does that apply to me?
    *Mother of the Bride – what to make, what to wear, what to knit
    *Money – see directly above.
    *March Madness – I’m so sad Clemson isn’t dancing – you know they get my *vote* every time!

    That’s enough. Thanks for letting me play. g

  2. Marjie says:

    I’m one of those who think March Madness refers to irritation about the weather. ‘Nuff said. I do believe that this year, March came in like a lamb and is going out like a lion. All backward.

  3. Kathy says:

    My Ms….

    Money–I went to the ATM during lunch. I hate not having cash.

    Mudbugs–I’m going to a work-related crawfish boil tomorrow. I’d like to know what the first Cajun who ate these critters was thinking!

  4. km says:

    Our kids are making their own brackets for the first time. We should be done tonight, but if we’re late it’s not like they can cheat without the help of an adult.

    Mutterings…I’m feeling frustrated that rescues seem to be hard to work with.

  5. Sue says:

    My M will be Marjie. I agree with her about basketball. Hockey and baseball are my games.

    Does that mean that The Chief won’t be The Chief much longer? What will he do?

    It finally started snowing, but it needs to get a lot more serious if we’re to get 5-8 inches.

  6. Katherine says:

    Muttering about clients who don’t show up for appointments and call two hours later to say, “I’m so sorry I forgot it was today.” Mayhem and madness come to mind. Mark will not be Chief any longer?

  7. My March Madness involved credit Card fraud today….Mulling over all the fun of switching everything over to the new acct number…when it arrives. Making haste to ready house for guests this weekend…Mother of Pastor is marking 90 years..with a celebratory Tea here on Sat. Muffins, anyone?

  8. Nancy says:

    My mutterings:
    • March madness – I can’t stand watching endless basketball on TV
    • Mindless knitting – I welcome it
    • Meager meals – still trying to shed excess pounds

    (yes, Gretchen looks great in her blaze orange coat – very nice)

  9. kathy b says:

    Mutterings :

    Magnificent post Channon
    Meow…the kittens are going back today….
    MOmma: this momma gets to see her girl in a few daysQ
    Making socks…

Leave a Reply

