Big Hairy Meeting Thorsday

Happy Thorsday, little friday, Thankful Thursday, JLC March GMM Day, Maundy Thursday… that’s more than enough, isn’t it?

My post over on the girls’ blog is rather ranty and serious, so here I want to focus on the thankfuls, because we do have so much to celebrate.   Firstly, today’s a pivotal day in the history of the Junior League of Charlottesville, and I’m excited!   (I’m also really proud of our new website.  It’s a work in progress, but if you’ve clicked over before, let me know what you think now… not that I did anything other than sign the contract and listen in on the conference calls.)

I just deleted two long paragraphs about why this is a big,  hairy meeting, but if you’re not in the JLC, you probably don’t care.  Heck, I’m not sure all of our members care… but I do, and so do many of our leaders.  We’ll select a new focus area tonight, along with all of the other necessary votes to approve the leadership, budget and bylaws changes for the upcoming year.

I’m thankful for the honor of being president of the JLC right now.  I’m surrounded by so many talented, dynamic women, and that makes it mostly a joy to lead through this change.  I’m thankful for the Knight’s support, for the support of my inlaws and Uncle (inlaw), and especially for my non-League friends who listen and care, just because it’s something I’m so passionate about.

photo.JPGIt is Thorsday, so I’d be remiss if I didn’t note that I’m thankful my girls are safe and healthy.  If you don’t follow their blog, you might not know Sis had two lumps aspirated and checked on Tuesday, and they’re just sebaceous cysts.  We also survived yet another encounter with loose dogs yesterday, but you can read about that if you click on the link at the start of this post.

What are you thankful for or celebrating today?

8 comments on “Big Hairy Meeting Thorsday

  1. gmariesews says:

    I’m thankful for the rain as it makes everything green. I’m thankful for supportive friends and family as well. I’m thankful for healthy dogs and fabulous vets. I’m thankful for some down time to create. I’m thankful I have the skills to make some incredible (if I do say so myself) wedding shawls. g

  2. Katherine says:

    I’m thankful that you, my friend, are so passionate about the wonderful work done by the JLC!
    I’m thankful that Sissy is healthy and the cysts are nothing serious.
    I’m thankful that Max is healthy again and can walk on all four paws.
    I’m thankful for Maundy Thursday preparations of a Moravian/Agape Love Feast of a thick chicken soup and flatbread. Life is good!

  3. Marjie says:

    It’s great that Sissy’s lumps were non-problematic! Your walking scare was terrible; good thing your Knight in Shining Sheet Metal rode in. Happy Maundy Thursday!

  4. Happy to hear you can actually enjoy all the stress of JLC leadership at this pivotal point…not so sure I could manage that! Thankful for…Spring Break…no classes to teach or take for ten days!! Thankful for good friends to help us through the rough spots in life…thankful for the week and week-end’s meaningful rememberances…

  5. Blond Duck says:

    I think it’s so cool that you’re passionate about Junior League! I’ve always wished I could get into an organization like that, but I’m too much of a maverick. And so glad for Sissy!

    I tried to e-mail you earlier, but gmail goobered up: http://jenniferfabulous.blogspot.com/2013/02/the-tale-of-rabbit-island.html

  6. Nichole says:

    As someone who knows all too well about cysts and lumps these days, I’m very happy to hear it’s nothing serious! 🙂 Enjoy your meeting!

  7. kathy b says:

    Im thankful for your good news on the cyst front. You dont need anymore worries on the paw front
    Thankful for an awesome trip to virginia…..Thankful we saw daffodils and green grass and some leafing out . Thankful Rozzy made it through the week with zach without giving him much trouble…
    THankful for easy flights there and back

  8. Bubblesknits says:

    I’m thankful that Sissy’s cysts were non-threatening. I can only imagine how scary that was for you.

    Thankful that the craziness that was Spring Break is over and the kids are back in school and my mother and her two dogs are back at her house. (They had their carpet replaced, so she came here during the process).

    Thankful for my husband finding a friend who likes to do a lot of the same things he does. He’s shy, so forming friendships doesn’t come easily for him.

    Thankful for my strong, beautiful, daughter who had the courage to stand up to a bully today.

    Thankful that we’re closing on our old house tomorrow!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

