Foolish History

photo.JPG

Mother Nature laughed; Palm Sunday snow in Virginia

Some of you know I like trivia and history, and others still may be aware that I dislike practical jokes, pranks, surprises, etc.  So while my father and sometimes the Knight delight in this day for foolishness, I do not, and I wondered how on earth an international day of rude pranks came to be. 

Hello, Wikipedia.  April Fools’ Day has been around for a REALLY long time.   Read Wiki’s account, and you might blame a pope, a rooster or even Chaucer, but the simple truth is, laughter is good medicine and many people enjoy a good prank. 

Are you a prankster?  What’s the best one you’ve pulled or had played on you?

14 comments on “Foolish History

  1. Katherine says:

    I am NOT a prankster and do not appreciate having jokes played on me!! I’ve been told that I have no sense of humor (which is certainly not true) and that I am a bad sport, but the bottom line is that I see no fun in tricking people. Jokes are one thing but some people seem to think that things like covering your lawn in plastic flamingos is funny. OR, opening the back gate so that a long-horn steer is eating my herbs for breakfast. Not funny!! In my opinion that pope and Chaucer have no class. The jury is out on the rooster!

  2. Sue says:

    I’m solidly in the no prank group. I agree that rudeness is just rudeness regardless of the date.

  3. AlisonH says:

    A good laugh is wonderful, one at anyone’s expense is not a good one.

    Wow, that’s some serious road ice. Brr.

  4. Marjie says:

    No fan of pranks here. No one in my household would dare try any “April Fools Jokes”. I think that kind of thing goes along with having a rather juvenile mind. Hope I don’t insult any of your other readers, but I call it as I see it. (You know I’m blunt.) Glad you didn’t have more snow for Easter!

  5. kathy b says:

    I once frightened our hair dresser, when he was not in the cutting process, re: a mouse in his store. He jumped on the counter and freaked out…
    It was april fools day…too bad they are closed today. He took it very well. THe staff helped me prank him

  6. Nancy says:

    I do NOT like pranks and always dreaded when April 1st fell on a school day. It was often one of the loooongest days of the school year.

  7. I’m not much of a prankster, my sister how announced on FB that she had accepted a two year long intl. assignment and for a minute I took the bait. Ha!

  8. Ruth says:

    I like fun pranks, not mean ones. I have no talent for this, my Dear, however pulled off a doozy a few years ago. He asked one of the secretaries down in X-ray to call up to Surgery and say he wouldn’t be in that day because his wife ( me) had called in to say he had been arrested the night before. Then he went up to work in Surgery, where all went as normal until,….he met the Director of Surgery in the hall…then she stopped in her tracks, looked at him, and said….oh, oh, you’re here. He acted all normal, then she said, well, I heard that….then suddenly she stopped and said, wait! It’s April Fool’s Day! Tee hee… Good one, and no critters were harmed in his little prank. 🙂

  9. Bubblesknits says:

    I fall in the “fun pranks are okay” category. A couple years ago (may have been last year actually), we switched the kids’ sheets while they were at school. M got the pretty pink princesses and E got the blue Star Wars sheets. We left the comforters alone and covered everything up so it would be a surprise. The squeals that night when they went to crawl in bed were hilarious. That’s the type of pranks we do around here. 😉

  10. Barbara says:

    Both my father AND my best friend Nancy were born on April 1st. We always tried to pull something over on Dad, but he was way to canny for us.
    Hope you had a great weekend.
    (Apple bananas are short and chubby and taste a tiny bit like apples and strawberries. They turn yellow when ripe, but I’ve noticed often they’re still a bit green when soft. Was introduced to them years ago in the Caribbean. Whole Foods carries them sometimes as well.)

  11. Kathy says:

    My mom told me the origin of April Fools yesterday. Previously I had never thought about it. The male flight attendant tried to fool us yesterday by announcing that we were on a nonstop flight to chicago’s o’hare international airport and if that wasn’t in our travel plans we were on the wrong plane. Of course we were going to Houston and it didn’t take him long to say, “April fool!”

  12. gypsyknits says:

    Well, Mr. Bettis pulls enough pranks all year that I certainly don’t need a day set aside for it 😉

  13. Walden121 says:

    No, but when I was young this was my little sister’s favorite day. She spent the whole day doing pranks!

  14. Blond Duck says:

    I suck at pranks!

Leave a Reply

