Finding Center

Oddly, being insanely busy makes me philosophical.  Yesterday, while finally starting the taxes, I was pondering the concept of enough.  You know… having enough.  Being enough.  Contentment, satisfaction with where you’re at…  ??

Then a friend sent me this link this morning.  I wish I could guffaw and just find it humorous, but it speaks to me.   I love the notion that we are evaluated solely on our merits, but the problem is, everyone defines that a little differently.   I happen to really admire spunk, so I’m hoping someone else does too and that high school senior ends up at a good school where her sass can be appreciated and cultivated so she’s prepared to be a highly successful adult, however she might define that.

So how do you cope when life isn’t fair?  Let’s face it… especially as adults, we often need to play the connections game, like it or not.  When you’re caught in the hamster wheel and spinning like a top, what do you do to hold on?

DSC01437I grab the fur-girls and head for the trails.  First of all, it’s impossible to be stressed and/or cranky when Sissy wants to run.   Look at that happy girl!  Secondly, there are countless studies that show that exercise reduces stress… it really does. 

What works for you?

13 comments on “Finding Center

  1. kathy b says:

    Good question. Being in nature is a sure cure.
    I give in to food urges and it seems to help….
    I am a prayin person as they say in Virginia and that really helps

  2. Nichole says:

    Good question indeed, as I struggle to find my answer right now. Today, it’s mozzarella sticks as a side to my salad for lunch. Why? Because I work for someone who is a bully and has unleashed her furry on me lately.
    Of course, the Lapdogs are always there… and I really ought to think about grabbing one and heading out for walks soon, esp with the warmer temps coming back.
    Knitting hasn’t helped much lately… much because I’ve been TOO stressed to pick up the needles.

  3. Katherine says:

    Long (long) ago DH and I discovered a way–we sprawl on the bed or on the couch and hold each other. We don’t have to say anything, explain or complain, we just hold on. Our granddaughter caught on to the method when she was only 3 or 4. She would say, “grandma, grandpa, I hold you.”

  4. Mary says:

    Step back and reassess. A co-worker (director) was recently acting out (anger) in meetings. At first I just decided to avoid her entirely, then one day I met up with her in the restroom. When I looked at her in the mirror as we washed our hands, I saw such terrible pain in her eyes. We stepped out of the restroom, I put my hand on her arm and simply said, “What is going on?” She let down her guard and told me about her seriously depressed daughter who was away at college and how she feared for her life. We spoke for about half an hour. Sometimes it simply isn’t about us. Sometimes we simply need to step into another person’s life and lean in. Sometimes helping others helps us refocus on what is really important.

  5. Nancy says:

    I love Mary’s answer!

    Thankfully, my life is not stressful anymore. My worries amount to dropped stitches, a pattern that is flawed, or health concerns. How do I cope? Sometimes, like Kathyb, I turn to food, and other times it is having a good cry (they are under-rated) or go for a long walk.

  6. AlisonH says:

    Sending thanks to Mary above for seeing her co-worker’s crying need for help. Doing something for others, being grateful for what we have and are… A good walk in nature is one way to reclaim that, knitting in anticipation of making someone feel important is another. And I wonder if I can knit something for Mary’s co-worker’s daughter?

  7. AlisonH says:

    p.s. And Katherine, when my husband gets home from work tonight I am going to go give him the biggest hug and I want to say thanks to you for that one.

  8. Marjie says:

    I just keep on plugging. Crap happens, and you go on.

    I saw the WSJ article in that paper last weekend. I guffawed. I showed it to everyone in the house. We all howled in glee. It’s great to find things like that when you least expect them, like on the op-ed page of the Wall Street Journal.

  9. gmariesews says:

    I’ve been exercising more, trying to eat less, let go of what I can, and find the small victories. This morning I did something right. Felt good. And when all else fails, I sit quietly. Hope you are well, miss you friend. g

  10. Walden121 says:

    I suck at the connections game and I hate that in resumes and interviews I have to feel like I have to sell myself to someone. I hate how all of that makes me feel. I enjoyed her article, because I agree . . . I shouldn’t have to join forty things to feel like or make someone else feel like I am important enough for them to give me their time. Ugh! Can you tell I am feeling this stuff right now?

    Exercise, play chase with Wookie, craft . . . things that remind me I am a worth while person, even if I am just me.

  11. Sue says:

    Knitting, stitching, reading, playing with the dogs and sometimes a good cry.

  12. Blond Duck says:

    Dancing, hitting the punching bag, running and painting.

Leave a Reply

