Blogging Dodo

Courtesy of Wikipedia

Courtesy of Wikipedia

While scanning the blogs I follow via Reader – not extinct, but on death row – this morning, two bloggers announced they’re done.  One blogged as a career with another woman and is retiring, so that blog isn’t gone, but still.  The other blogger announced she was done blogging.  Still others just fade out for various reasons.

This is all on my mind for a couple of reasons.  Firstly, when I do decide what I’m going to do when Reader goes away, do I simply migrate my entire list over to the new service or do I purge and cull?

Secondly, I like to blog.  I’m not good at the 140 character game (Twitter, for those even less enthralled than I am), and I rarely post on Facebook for whatever reason, but blogging somehow replaced my old introspective journal habit, and I’ve connected with some truly delightful people.   So, I’ll still be blogging as long as WordPress will have me I suppose…

Any exciting weekend plans?

 

13 comments on “Blogging Dodo

  1. Amy Darsie says:

    I wish I had time to blog. But there are do many other things that have to get done!

  2. Sue says:

    I’m just moving my list over. I have some on it who haven’t posted in an age, but might someday return. I really miss a few of our friends who have dropped out, but I keep adding news ones and Fudge would be so depressed if he didn’t have an audience for his nonsense.

    Glad you’re hanging in.
    Sue

  3. km says:

    someday I’ll be back. until then, the posts are just in my head.

    Fencing tournament for the boys and a birthday party for my nephew. Plus trying to get all the normal stuff done in between. I am deciding to knit…even if things around me are undone.

  4. AlisonH says:

    And I never got around to subscribing to any blog or list, I just read as I go and try not to forget anyone. But I can’t imagine not blogging myself. Born to write.

  5. Marjie says:

    So, do I have to sign up on some service for my name to appear for others? Because I don’t do the whole “list” thing. I do need to keep my memory sharp in some way, and remembering to visit people is one way to do it.

    Technology is so confusing.

    Happy Weekending! Hope you have warm weather!

  6. Nancy says:

    I moved my list over to Bloglovin, and yes, I did cull the blogs that I read. Blogging is not only a fun way to meet new friends but also a great way to document memories, old photos, family history, etc.

    Hopefully, this weekend I will finish a stalled knitting project and get it blocked.

  7. gMarie says:

    I love blogging and reading your random conscious thoughts. I just want a new routine. I can say am *not* after two full days. Weekend plans include sewing, knitting, and housework. g

  8. Don’t stop! Ahem…I know MY blog is nearly dead, but I do have hopes of reviving it in the future…as for Reader, I kinda stopped using it already, because I just can’t keep up anyway…Weekend plans…one last visit in the morning, then a drive, two flights, and HOME!

  9. Barbara S. says:

    I have house cleaning to do, bills to pay, and a few other things I put off this week to spend time with Hubband before he left for a week (first time in a couple of months that he has had to leave though!). Maybe some sewing and most likely some knitting while I watch a movie or such.
    If the weather gets decent I might even go for a bike ride! (As in if it stops snowing and warms back up to 50 where it was yesterday).

  10. Walden121 says:

    I have moved my list and begun to cull.

    Today, I get to drop off my husband’s pants to be hemmed, buy some fabric to make aprons, and do quite a bit of cleaning! 🙂

  11. Barbara says:

    I am constantly in awe how young wives and mothers keep up with blogging, Facebook, Twitter along with kids, jobs, husbands, housework, volunteerism, pets etc. I could never have done it. In fact, can’t do it now. 🙂
    What scares me to pieces is our favorite bloggers stopping suddenly with no warning. I always fear the worst.

  12. kathy b says:

    I LOVE your blog and I love bloggin, and IM
    not going nowheres!

  13. Nichole says:

    I’ve noticed some blogs going by the way-side lately myself… but like you, I enjoy blogging and will continue. It’s fun, you can meet some wonderful friends and it’s just a great creative outlet for me. It also just helps to “journal” some things, like you said. I need to start searching for something to replace Reader as well….

Leave a Reply

