Rule of Threes

220px-Triquetra-Vesica_svg

Triquetra – the trinity knot

So…  a quick  search leads me to believe that while lots of us believe bad things happen in threes, there is no clear-cut superstition that explains the origins.   Of course, plenty of threes have significance, the Christian Trinity, for instance… which has distinctively pagan connections, of course.   (Click on the image to learn more.)

Anyway, a third woman of fame who impacted my life has died.  Annette Funicello was my favorite Mouseketeer.  I don’t know anything about her really, but I liked her enough that I was totally unwilling to embrace “The New Mickey Mouse Club” when it came out.  No one else was Annette. 

In the fire service, at least locally, it is a common superstition that death and significant incidents come in threes.  So, if the medic unit lost a patient, everyone waited for the next two.  If there was a multiple alarm fire in the night, the oncoming shift (shift change, 7 am) all but worried the next one into being.   Yes, superstitions are silly, but…

Are you superstitious?

13 comments on “Rule of Threes

  1. gMarie says:

    I don’t know that I am superstitious, but I don’t walk under ladders. I’m very sad about this news you bring today. She was always my favorite in mouse ears.

    Wishing you a day with no more bad news. g

  2. Sue says:

    My Grandmother, who raised me, was very superstitious. She was raised in PA Dutch country and had little hex signs hanging in the kitchen and she had little sayings for everything that happened. I didn’t inherit any of that except I did learn all the sayings which I try to avoid as much as possible. I did learn her fear of thunderstorms, though. She would unplug everything in the house and go sit on her bed in the dark. I guess she was waiting to be hit by lightning. I’m not that extreme, but I don’t like storms and feel uneasy when they’re in the area.

  3. kathy b says:

    IN some ways yes……
    I am so familiar
    with the superstitions you mentioned!
    The Ides of March bug me every year…there that’s one!
    Im one to say THAT S GOOD LUCK to people ……!!!

  4. Katherine says:

    I am not but my mother was–the whole ladders, black cats and umbrellas thing!! It took me years after I left home before I was able to put a hat on the bed (a death in the family). I have to admit though that when I read about Annette last night I said to DH, “That’s three!”

  5. Nancy says:

    The rule of thirds is common around here, too, and is usually true to some extent, especially deaths.

  6. AlisonH says:

    The human brain is wired for it. I have friends who bought a beautiful landscape photograph from a talented local photographer, just a gorgeous picture, but I find it quietly bugs me: if the guy had cropped it a little or if he’d held the camera just slightly to the left or right, then the picture would divide into thirds rather than straight halves and it wouldn’t leave the viewer unsettled without realizing what the problem is. The eye wants odd numbers.

  7. Marjie says:

    I’m not superstitious, but sometimes you have to wonder. I’m sure it’s especially true with emergency service people that they see things in 3s.

    On the bright side, it’s sunny and warm here, and I hope it is the same there! Heather has a blizzard going on in Denver, and I’m so glad it’s not here!

  8. km says:

    I’m not superstitious, but…if you want to hear silly things you should read about hockey players. I think they’re the most superstitious athletes.

    They do say that auto-immune diseases come in 3’s. With T needing to be gluten free and on thyroid meds, I often wonder what’s the one we’re missing?

  9. Barbara says:

    About threes, yes. Waiting for the shoe to drop.

  10. Nichole says:

    Yes… and I do believe in this bad things come in 3’s… :/

  11. Blond Duck says:

    Completely. And bad things come in 3s.

  12. The adage that everything happens in threes is more than a superstition to me. If you only knew the threes I’ve been hit with the last few weeks, if I doubted it ever, Channon I sure don’t now! I can’t believe how timely this post is and yes, Annette Funicello was a favorite of mine too!

    Thanks for sharing Channon. I will be off the social networking radar for the next month or so. A family emergency is calling me to Idaho. I leave tomorrow! Take care and enjoy this glorious weather!!!

  13. gypsyknits says:

    😦 So sad. She fought a courageous battle and she certainly was my favorite mouseketeer too.
    I suppose I’m ‘superstitious’. Things do happen in threes. My grandparents instilled beliefs of ‘superstitions’ (if you will). My Native American grandfather was an important mentor in my life so I suppose one would say I have ‘strange’ beliefs yet they are pertinent in my life :).

Leave a Reply

