Keeping On

In the shadow looming over Boston… the nation… the world, here in Virginia, we are remembering what happened at Virginia Tech six years ago today. 

Now that I know many of you like quotes too, I’ll share some that seem appropriate today. 

     If you’re going through hell, keep going.  – Winston Churchill

     o-MISTER-ROGERS-HELPERS-QUOTE-570

I’m very proud of the emergency service providers who worked – and are still working – both at Virginia Tech six years ago and in Boston and everywhere there’s heightened security measures today.  Whether you are the praying sort or send out good vibes, please lift them and their families up today.   They don’t have the luxury to grieve or “go into shock” over what they see; they just keep working, as do the medical professionals caring for the injured.

And knowing a few marathoners, my heart goes out to the runners who didn’t get to finish the race.  I consider 5-7 miles my “long days”  as I learned in my teens that I’m just not wired for long distance runs or hikes, so the marathoners and even 13.1 crowd have my utmost respect.

Boston has been through hard times before.  Ironically, that’s what they were celebrating yesterday.  They – and we as a nation – will keep on going, and I hope those runners will too.

This entry was posted in History.

12 comments on “Keeping On

  1. kathy b says:

    GREAT post Channon. Great thoughts on the caring medical pro’s!!!

  2. Katherine says:

    Thanks Chan for always remembering the first responders who put their lives on the line in situations like this. Our prayers and constant thoughts are with the people of Boston and especially the runners and the families of those who lost their lives and those who are injured!

    Our oldest granddaughter is planning to run her first marathon in the next few weeks. The devastating events in Boston yesterday shook our family on a personal “what if” level!!

  3. AlisonH says:

    Thank you, Chan. It was my daughter’s birthday yesterday, and as we went to bed she was still waiting to hear if some of her old high school friends were okay. The Red Cross and Google sign-in pages are wonderful things when they’re made use of.

  4. Mary says:

    When my son was a volunteer EMT/firefighter (at the tender age of 16), I would know when he had experienced a particular traumatic rescue, such as a fatal car wreck involving his classmates. He would come in late at night and slide up next to my bed and just whisper, “Mom.” I could hear the pain in his voice and instantly be awake. We would go sit in the living room so he could talk it out. I was so grateful that he instinctively knew he needed to talk things out. The responders in Boston will need to do likewise as they try to process the incomprehensible horrors of yesterday.

  5. Nichole says:

    As a person who calls Boston her home (I grew up just 25 minutes North of town and now live just about 35 minutes away), thank you for this post. That was a great quote… very fitting.

  6. Nichole says:

    And wow, 6 years already? Wow.

  7. Nancy says:

    Mr. Rogers’ quote really struck me: it is so true – focus on the people that rush to help and focus on the “good” in people.

  8. Marjie says:

    The guy who lives across the street from me (a member of the family that owns our local newspaper) was running in that marathon, and had just finished when everything went boom. He and his brother booked it out of there. It was a horrifying event; really, bombing a civilian sporting event? VA Tech was horrifying, but it was one loonytoon targeting his school. Targeting a civilian event? Just beyond belief. And the doctor who had finished running the marathon minutes before the explosions, then went to the medical tent to treat the injured? Amazing. And he said he was kinda tired.

  9. Blond Duck says:

    5-6 miles is my sweet spot– no more than 54 minutes. I feel terrible for the runners who lost their lives. It’s just so terrible that EVERYTHING is being targeted.

  10. gmariesews says:

    I’m feeling a very real disconnect from everything these days. Someone walked up to my desk yesterday and said – tell me what you know about Boston. I just looked at her blankly and then googled it. Horrifying. Seriously.

    Sue had an amazing post about this today. I don’t have words, but I’m very proud of and thankful for the people who choose to be First Responders. Not an easy job, I’m pretty sure it’s horrifying more days than not, and yet they keep going back and doing it again. I’m also incredibly moved by what the local (Boston) sports professionals are doing to help. g

  11. Barbara says:

    I so agree, Chan. The emergency services (it was fortunate so many were at the finish line, wasn’t it?) did a super job. Everyone helped and it makes us so proud.
    A horrific day.

  12. Walden121 says:

    I love Mr. Rogers and it is true. Situations like these show the bad side of the few and the wonderful side of the many. Not just emergency services but people in general who were helping.

Leave a Reply

