Pillow talk

PillowThere are countless photos of Gretchen using Sissy as furniture, so turnabout is fair play.    It’s not a great photo, because it was taken with my laptop.

Happy Thorsday, little friday, thankful thursday…  Yeah.  I’m barely up to faking it.  It’s been a rough week, hasn’t it?  I have friends who are marathoners, and thankfully, the local runners in Boston – both to run and cheer – were not hurt.  I have another friend who used to live very near the 25 milepost and always had a party on race day, and she’s rather rattled as you might imagine.  

It feels as though something dark and tragic has happened every day this week thus far.  I hope all of my Texas friends and relations are safe and weren’t impacted in any way by the fire in West, and of course, those working at the scene and caring for the victims are in my thoughts and prayers.

But there is still joy.  Tuesday night, the League’s Community Resource Board selected a recipient for our Emily Couric Community Advocacy Award, and that’s always a cause for celebration.  Last night, the Membership Council hosted our now-annual Joint Leadership Social, for incoming and out-going leaders in the League.   We were at a new venue, and it was fun to have some of our Sustainer (Life Members) leaders join us too. 

I’m also especially grateful that our local woman’s organization is a part of an international association with a proud, productive history AND some of the most dedicated staff EVER.  I honestly can’t count how many after-hours, from their homes conversations I’ve had with AJLI staff over the past few years, and they always laugh off my attempts to express my gratitude.   (And that call last night saved our League hundreds of dollars after a hotel registration snafu… even though it creates more work for AJLI staff.  They get that we’re non-profits and money matters.)

photo.JPGAnd I’d be remiss if I didn’t note that I have all kinds of help at home too.   They’re at work with us today, and it’s impossible to be too morose when you  have a happy fur-girl or two shadowing you.

How are you balancing all of the dark news in the current events?

10 comments on “Pillow talk

  1. Sue says:

    I hate weeks like this and there have been way too many of them lately. We need to make some sunshine in our lives. Hug our doggies!

  2. Of course turn about is fair play! If you’re going to be used as a pillow, it seems only right that you might return the favor at some point. Glad you have your happiness helpers at work today! While the news these days does tend to want to drag me down, I am trying to focus on what is good in this world. But mostly, I remind myself daily that I know WHO is in control. Thankful for that fact this Thursday, and every day.

  3. Katherine says:

    I’ve been very depressed this week but the cute pictures of Sissy and Gretchen make me feel better!! We all have so many things around us for which we are thankful. It scares me so much to think about how quickly those things can be gone! I’m so thankful for my husband, family and sweet loving pets and I’m trying not to hold on to them and not let them live a normal life out of fear I will lose them. It’s hard!!

  4. Marjie says:

    I think your company is just adorable! I’m sure they are great cheerers for you!

  5. Nancy says:

    Love the photos!

    So many of the happenings in the world are out of our control. Looking for the good in those around us makes bad things a bit more bearable.

  6. Blond Duck says:

    They’re so cute!

  7. gmariesews says:

    I am an avid news avoider. I hate all the depressing even on normal weeks – there is precious little in the news to give thanks for. This week with really learning the new job I’ve just been chin down going about my day.

    Your girls are lovely as always and I’m glad they are around to bring some sunshine into my day as well as the days of others. Because how can you look at those photos and not smile? g

  8. gypsyknits says:

    Love the pics of those girls-Priceless 🙂

    The week has a been rough one that’s for certain worldwide and personally but somehow the human spirit ‘pulls up those boot straps’ and moves on. These days it’s important to find the blessings (there are days it’s a little tough to look).((hugs))

  9. Bubblesknits says:

    It was definitely an awful week. The fear on E’s face when she first heard the news and thought the bomb had exploded nearby…/sigh/. Even after we told her it happened many states away, you could tell how confused and sad she was that someone would do something like that.

Leave a Reply

