Happy Girl Indeed

By no means am I glossing over current events.  I’ve wept for the fallen firefighters in Texas and I’m truly a little sick at the breaking news in Massachusetts and Maryland.   But as a follow-up to Wednesday’s post, I have two new beloveds.

Run Jump 'n Play Crop

Run Jump ‘n Play Crop

Wednesday afternoon, I had time for a quick wog (walk + jog) before the League event.  I was so excited to see my Yogasmoga package that I ripped it open and pulled on the crops in the living room.  

Their fabric is comparable to the Luon by Lululemon (LLL) that I like so well, but no sheerness fears here.  Their front pocket is made of a different, stretchier fabric, so my iPhone 4 in its Lifeproof case near fits horizontally,  whereas it doesn’t even really fit vertically with the LLL similar front, interior pocket.  There’s also a tiny little rear slip pocket that would hold a single house key but nothing more.

While I did take advantage of a VERY generous offer from Yogasmoga, I would without a doubt pay full price for these pants.  I can assure you I’d wear them on the street, under a long tunic (and just might!), so they really are workout to wardrobe friendly.  I followed their size chart and will say that I probably could have sized down, so if you are a runner who likes a TRUE compression fit, maybe consider sizing down.  Bravo Yogasmoga!!

Happy Girl

Happy Girl

Yesterday, I slipped into my Skirt Sports Happy Girl Skirt (really a skort, but they call it a skirt) in Hot Chocolate.  Sorry the image is so tiny, but I could only find the precise skirt and print on Amazon…  I’ve loved that print since I first saw it, so when I got a special email code from Sierra Trading Post a few days ago, I couldn’t resist. 

I will note before I go any further that this does run a little small.  The other two Skirt Sports bottoms I have tend to run almost a size large, and this one fits.  The fabric is softer than the Tough Girl Skirt, and I’ve already mentioned that I *LOVE* the side/thigh/shorts pockets on most Skirt Sports “skorts.” 

B0041G5FVSHappy Girl is LONG by running/tennis skirt standards.  It’s 16.5″ in front, and 17.5″ in the back.  Despite having a generous backside, I still was aware of the extra length.  I won’t say it’s too long; I’m mature enough to appreciate the coverage, but for example…  I’ll walk, run and would even play golf in this skirt, but I’d have to shove a couple of tennis balls in each pocket and let you know whether I’d feel it’s too long for all the rapid laterals I do when I play tennis.  Another plus is that I’d be perfectly comfortable scooting into the grocery store after a workout in this skirt.  And yet, I didn’t feel it was two layers of warmth. 

The shorts did not ride up, which is highly unusual for me.

I might have a sock happy ending soon.  Turns out BOTH styles I bought to try are the Sof Sole brand Katherine recommended.  I’ve worn each style once, and so far, so good.

What’s on your weekend agenda?

This entry was posted in Fitness.

10 comments on “Happy Girl Indeed

  1. kathy b says:

    So Fireman likes to use Writesock. double layer socks. “BEST EVER!!!!” He says.
    I have worn them too.
    Weekend plans!! How fun to say: IM NOT WORKING
    KNitting. Out to dinner with old friends from our wedding and going to the kitten shower at the shelter. They have a shower to bring in items for fosters during kitten/puppy season.

  2. Nancy says:

    I need to lose another 10 pounds before I would feel comfortable wearing either the capris and skirt, but they are cute, especially the skirt.

  3. Katherine says:

    So glad the Sof Soles worked for you! I love the skort and took a look at immediately. They don’t have the chocolate in my size but I liked the purple “untamed print” and put it in my basket. It is hard to find such cute and versatile sports clothes. Thanks Chan!!

  4. AlisonH says:

    I ordered a little more Colourmart silk yarn as my retail therapy. It’s good to enjoy the little things.

  5. Sue says:

    Like the skort. I love wearing leggings with tunics but I really really need pockets. My wonderful dogs have a habit of locking me out so I need to carry keys all the time.

    This weekend I’d like to finish a few things that I didn’t get to this week so I can start new projects. I also need to trim a few dogs.

  6. gmariesews says:

    Uncle! g

  7. Ruth says:

    Laundry, pre-cooking some meals for the hubs, and other pre-travel ready-ing in addition to the never-ending homework should use up the hours I have before my Sunday afternoon flight time.
    Glad you’re finding running/workout happiness.

  8. Barbara says:

    Love the tough girl skirt! Some great finds in your post today, Chan!

  9. Walden121 says:

    Both look nice, but sizes are too small and prices are way out of my happiness range. I’m glad you like yours though.

  10. Bubblesknits says:

    Those skirts are precious! I’m more of a capri girl, but those are very tempting.

Leave a Reply

