Comfort Food

I had a food texture discussion with a friend on Monday.  We’re very much alike in many ways, and share a lot of food common ground, so I was left laughing when she shared that she doesn’t like lima beans or cantaloupe.  (Squish = ick) 

True confessions?  I eat lima as a stand-alone meal sometimes.  I cook them in a little milk and butter… ahhh…  a big bowl would suit me fine right now.  Of course, mac ‘n cheese is probably at the top of the list…

But really, I have diverse food habits, so I’m curious… what are your comfort foods?

17 comments on “Comfort Food

  1. Marjie says:

    I like protein and dairy for comfort. Of course, most foods just can’t be mixed, although I do adore some cottage cheese mixed in with fruit cocktail!

  2. AlisonH says:

    Hazelnut chocolate torte. A really good really ripe peach or plum. Comice pears. Any pie made by my mom.

  3. Nichole says:

    Oh, I dislike lima beans… so much so, I pick them out of the frozen mixed veggies. Matt ends up with extra… lol. My favorite comfort foods are mac ‘n cheese, a nice slow-cooked stew, lasanga and pizza! Ok… now I’m hungry!

  4. Jessica says:

    Kraft mac n cheese with heinz ketchup poured on top….or Campbells Tomato soup, with a grilled cheese sandwich (gotta be Tillamook!), dipped in…what else….heinz! :o)

  5. Nancy says:

    Three favorite comfort foods: mac and cheese, rice pudding, and homemade bread, especially the heels.

  6. Blond Duck says:

    Peanut butter toast.

  7. Ruth says:

    Have had to make changes in my diet…so not yet sure what my new comfort foods will be. Thank goodness there will always be tea and dark chocolate!

  8. Chocolate Pudding Pie! Oh how I dislike those limas…

  9. Katherine says:

    Grilled cheese sandwich!!! When I’m sick, depressed, tired, anxious, even happy–I could go on and on because a grilled cheese sandwich works for me at any time. I especially like the ones DH makes for me!!

  10. gmariesews says:

    sometimes anything that I didn’t cook. “Disgusting casserole”, meatloaf and baked spuds, and lima beans. Man I love lima beans – home cooked with ham. But I have been known to just pop the top on the can and eat those for lunch – heated, of course. g

  11. Barbara says:

    I like limas too. Don’t have them often (they are on the no list) but when I used to, I would blanch them and brown them in a Pam coated frying pan. Crunchy on the outside, soft inside. 🙂

  12. Kathy says:

    Probably my mom’s spaghetti & meatballs. But really, if I am stressed out or sad or angry, my appetite completely goes away.

  13. Kathy says:

    I will add jello to my previous comments. When I had knee surgery last fall, it was scheduled for late in the afternoon, thus I could eat a “liquid diet” before 7 am. Man, that jello my mom made was so good!

  14. Sue says:

    Hmmm… I wonder where the comment I left yesterday ended up. I’ll bet someone somewhere is wondering why I sent them a note that I liked lima beans. The internet is a strange and confusing place at times.

  15. Walden121 says:

    I’m with your friend on the cantaloupe, texturally it just makes me want to hurl.

    When I used to think that food and I were friends, I had many comfort foods. Now that I think of food more as a requirement and less as a joy, it’s more difficult to look to food as comforting. Now . . . fried eggs, with the yolk still runny, a good bowl of soup, or some cobbler.

  16. Mr. Puffy says:

    Warm buttered popcorn is a comfort food for me or guacamole and chips ~ yummmy! Chan it sounds like some momentous changes in your life…. opening the door to new possibilities ~

  17. Fried chicken and macarons…Weird? Haha!

Leave a Reply

