Whack a…

… butterfly?

Yeah!  The last board meeting of the year is always very relaxed and a celebration.  This year DEFINITELY called for a party.  The previous two years, we’ve taken advantage of the proximity to Cinco de Mayo, and this year’s board suggested that we continue the tradition.  Our hosts provided a carnitas spread, white sangria and more.  Ahhh…

photo.JPG

The pinata and our canine host, Stirling

As a surprise, a pinata was filled with candy, cosmetic samples and those tiny little bottles one finds in some hospitality set-ups.   We didn’t have anywhere to hang the pinata, so a couple of brave women took turns holding while we hit, until our male host volunteered for the job.  (Obviously, we didn’t use a blindfold or spin around before striking.)

It was great fun!  I wish I had before and after photos of the pinata stick one of our members brought.  It looked brand new, having survived unscathed its first use at her son’s birthday party.  Who knew JLC board members were harder on their toys than 7 yr. old boys?!  Or maybe we really had that much bottled up after a really productive, but tough year…

When was the last time you had a pinata?

 

13 comments on “Whack a…

  1. Sue says:

    A few years after we were married, we invited a couple we knew to dinner. We fixed all Mexican food and Rob picked up a pinata. Them the other couple came down with the flu the day before the dinner. We had that pinata for ten years till we moved and gave it to the little girl next door.

  2. Nancy says:

    I don’t think I’ve ever taken a whack at a pinata.

  3. AlisonH says:

    Oh, that’s a pretty one!

    I think I took a halfhearted semi-whack at one once after a kid’s party, when the thing was already toast. But I remember seeing lines of them hanging from the rafters at a bazaar catering to tourists crossing over the border to Juarez, Mexico, when I was ten. Such a different place from anything I’d ever seen. So bright, so colorful, so different. We bought a hand-carved onyx chess set with a hand-inlaid wooden board, for something like ten dollars. 1969 dollars, but still.

  4. Marjie says:

    Your canine host looks like a very fine fellow, indeed. Glad you had a fun year end celebration.

  5. Nichole says:

    Oh that sounds like such fun…. now we need a pinata filled with YARN! 🙂

  6. Katherine says:

    Thanks to Nancy for admitting she has never whacked a pinata! I was feeling deprived and possibly the only person in the world who has never had a pinata. Our youngest daughter was hit with one of the sticks when she was quite young. After that I just thought they were dangerous. Now I think it is the candy and goodies that come out of the pinata that is dangerous (to my hips)!!

  7. gMarie says:

    What fun. And what a brave hubby to hold that pinata while grown women took turns wailing on it.

    Here’s hoping my weekend includes some sewing. g

  8. km says:

    What fun! I think my girl would like the cosmetics samples too. My kids have begged for pinatas, but since we just do family parties I haven’t wanted to do one. I bet it would be more fun with things other than candy.

  9. Bubblesknits says:

    You just gave me a fabulous idea for a friend’s upcoming birthday!!! Thank you, thank you, thank you! 😀

  10. Ruth says:

    Great ending to your JL year! I could use some “whacking” therapy. 🙂

  11. kathy b says:

    :Last summe we had a family party. We got a pinata for the kids to whack at outside. It was very fun for all. They had to have their eyes covered and we spun them around

  12. Kathy says:

    I ran a cinco de mayo 5k on Saturday and there was a piñata there for the kids.

  13. Krystle says:

    This looks and sounds like so much fun!! I have helped fill and hang many a piñata but I don’t recall when I actually got to take a swing at one!

Leave a Reply

