Birthday Wishes

picnikfile_ldr-xr

My maternal grandmother & my mother, circa 1990s

Happy birthdays!  Several dear friends have had birthdays or have them coming up, but today is my mother’s birthday, and yesterday was her sister’s birthday too.

And of course, Sunday is Mother’s Day here in the States.

For the first time I can remember, I didn’t even know which horses were running in the Kentucky Derby.  There was no Derby Party, and I didn’t even get to watch it… and still haven’t had a chance.  I hear it was an awesome race…

Now pardon me while I get back to League retreat #2 of 4.  Yeah… four.  Board retreat, done.  Leadership retreat and make-up looming, and then one more for our new focus area.

I do have some incredible leadership/change quotes to share with you, but… another day.

What are you celebrating?

This entry was posted in Family.

10 comments on “Birthday Wishes

  1. Nancy says:

    I’m celebrating SPRING – finally! Yesterday and today, the skies are a brilliant blue, the birds are singing, and temps are in the 70s. Yeah!

    Has anyone told you that your smile is similar to your mother’s?

  2. Katherine says:

    Happy birthday to your Mom and her sis!

    I didn’t watch the Kentucky Derby this year either. For some reason I was thinking it was on Sunday so I missed it. DH found a video of the race on the internet and played it for me and please, please do yourself the favor of finding it and watching when you get a chance. It is amazing!!!

    Looking forward to your leadership info and quotes!!

  3. AlisonH says:

    Happy Birthday to your mom and your aunt!

    Celebrating the plane tickets bought to go meet the new grandson–scheduled for after I shake this little bit of a cold.

  4. Ruth says:

    Many retreats sounds like much for you to me! Celebrating…end of both my spring classes, tho some homework will need to completed before total freedom reigns…and celebrating the graduation with honors of 4th of 4 later this week.

  5. kathy b says:

    Fireman’s 52nd birthday was yesterday! Happy Birthday to your mom and your sweet Aunt.

    Fireman just made me laugh. WE always try to watch Jeopardy together. The final was a Shakespeare question. >Not our strengths…So Fireman’s said, “That’s what your mother said, Alex:” from SNL skit fame!! He gets funnier with age, my Fireman.

  6. Sue says:

    This is the first Derby I’ve missed in many years. We’re celebrating healthy dogs. For a while last year we thought we might lose them all, so this is a great turn around.

  7. Marjie says:

    Happy Birthday to your various relatives! We watched the Derby, complete with the “Traditional Coffee Cake” (according to my boys, anyway). It was a fabulous race. Hope your retreats don’t take too much out of you; it’s hard to never have any down time.

  8. Barbara says:

    I did watch the race…it was great.
    Busy week here too, will email soon.

  9. gmariesews says:

    Remind me in the morning to take stamps to work. I have cards for the May birthday girl (including our good friend VeeDogMomma) to mail – but the cards are at work and the stamps are not.

    It has been glorious here. Sunny, hot, beautiful days. I’m celebrating having a good job that I’m enjoying; getting to a better place in my head; having healthy elder dogs; and friends. 🙂 g

Leave a Reply

