Advice for Ellie?

Sweet Ellie

Board meeting bore Ellie

Happy Thorsday, little friday and Thankful Thursday!   While I do have a question for you over on the girls’ blog, we’re hoping some of you might have some advice for our friend Ellie and her mom.  See…  Ellie had to go to the vet yesterday because she is dehydrated and otherwise truly stressed out.  Her people moved a few weeks ago, and because her people work long hours, she was day-tripping with a former neighbor.  The vet and Ellie’s mom decided that Ellie’s stress comes from not knowing where HOME really is anymore.

I haven’t moved a dog in YEARS, and when I did, it was the unflappable lab of my childhood.  She was with her pack, so nothing else mattered.  I’m hoping some of you might have experience helping a dog adjust to a new house.  Ellie’s mom is looking into a dog-walker, so Ellie can stay in her REAL home during the work day, and she is trying a Thundershirt as well…

Thankful?  I’m so happy the Knight is home.  He had one last fire department trip to make, and now he’s back home, just in time to play with his new toy, a Traeger Grill.   The man might have a smoked meat obsession, but I did have a piece of the smoked bacon for breakfast…

JLC_LogoI’m incredibly – still – moved by the women I serve with in League leadership.  They are creative, caring, clever people, and as much as I’m looking forward to the new League year, it’s going to be hard to see this leadership team become past tense.   At least one of them does read my blog sometimes, and I truly cannot thank them enough.  This has been a trying, sometimes TERRIBLY stressful year for me and the JLC, but it has been my pleasure to work with such dedicated, phenomenal women.

Who – or what – inspires you?

7 comments on “Advice for Ellie?

  1. Nancy says:

    Sorry, I don’t have a pet, so I can’t offer any advice to Ellie.

    My inspiration comes from many places: blogs, magazines, friends.

  2. Katherine says:

    I will pop over to the girls blog to talk about Ellie. Having moved around the world and always with dogs I may have some insight that would be helpful.

    I am inspired by the women around me who work hard (in and out of the home), take exceptional care of their families, take terrific care of themselves and give tirelessly to the community. They make me feel hopeful about the future of our country. I’m talking about women like you Chan!!

  3. AlisonH says:

    What’s a Thundershirt?

    When I need to remember what kind of human being I want to be when I grow up, I pick up my Rachel Remen books and read through some of her stories of herself or her patients, her wisdom in dealing with all the things life can throw out there.

  4. Marjie says:

    Poor Ellie! My mastiffs have moved the way your lab moved: “Where my people go, I go.” The white lab we had for about a decade was much the same. I hope Ellie’s people can get her to settle down. And welcome home to your Knight; hope you both enjoy his grilling creations!

  5. gmariesews says:

    I’m telling you – smoked bacon. I think I slobbered on my phone reading that this morning. And I soon as I got home – I was telling JB, The Knight got a smoker and he smoked bacon! Bacon. You need to smoke some bacon – soon! I really like the fruits of the smoker.

    Inspiration:: lovely women::my friend Carolyn::Talbots::Boden::your blog:: g

  6. Sue says:

    Our move was easier than I expected because we had three dogs and they all helped each other. Also the new house had it’s very own park with squirrels to chase, otherwise known as a big back yard. I would suggest a friend.

  7. gypsyknits says:

    hmmm…everyone I know who moved with a pets were cats and labs, both of which have no problem adjusting.

    He bought the grill?

Leave a Reply

