A quarter of a century

memorialday

I have never been able to think of the day as one of mourning; I have never quite been able to feel that half-masted flags were appropriate on Decoration Day. I have rather felt that the flag should be at the peak, because those whose dying we commemorate rejoiced in seeing it where their valor placed it. We honor them in a joyous, thankful, triumphant commemoration of what they did.

— Benjamin Harrison

While it is first and foremost Memorial Day, a day in the US to give thanks to those who paid the ultimate price for our freedom – and to thank our military, active, retired, discharged, alive or dead – it is also my nephew’s 25th birthday.  I’m not quite sure how that happened.  I very clearly remember his 16th birthday, high school graduation, and missing his big 21 party because Gretchen was missing…

And now, he’s solidly in his 20s.  I won’t flash a photo, but I’m proud of the man he’s become.  He’s a volunteer firefighter, he has a heart of gold, and he lives life to the fullest.  He’s not afraid to speak up for what he believes in nor is he afraid of hard work.  I’m still a little shocked that he’s been around for a quarter of a century already, but time does march on…

So happy birthday to him, and my most sincere thanks to those who died for our freedom.  I am fortunate that no one I hold dear has lost his life for the cause, but I am so grateful to those who were willing to do so, and especially to those who continue to put themselves in harm’s way so that we remain free.    Please remember to thank our military and their loved ones every day, not just on patriotic holidays.  While death is the ultimate sacrifice, almost no one returns from war without scars and wounds.  They are truly heroes.

This entry was posted in Family.

7 comments on “A quarter of a century

  1. sue says:

    Memorial Day has special meaning for me too, unrelated to war. Yesterday the 26th was my brother Eddie’s birthday. He should have been 56. But Eddie was killed by a drunk driver when he was 14. The weekend is always difficult and emotional.

  2. AlisonH says:

    Happy Birthday to your nephew! And Sue, I’m so sorry for your loss.

    My father joined the Army from high school too late in the war to see action, but his older brother was one of Oppenheimer’s men, determined to stop the killing.

  3. gmariesews says:

    What a lovely post. I always make a point of saying thank you to anyone I see in uniform – anywhere. I am truly appreciative of what they sacrifice daily so I can choose to spend my free time knitting, sewing, walking the dogs – whatever. I also have a better understanding after developing a friendship with our dear Miss VeeDog Momma about what the families give up.

    I am having a hard time believing that it was 4 years ago that Little Miss GG spent the night in the woods. I’m positive it can’t have been that long ago. Happy Happy Birthday to your nephew. I’m thrilled he’s grown up into a man you are proud to know.

    And Sue – oh dear, my heart breaks for you. Hugs to you – g

  4. Ruth says:

    Remembering is good…I too am thankful that my father and his brother both returned from WWII and two older brothers both made it home from Vietnam, but understanding that not all were so fortunate. Today is unite, cool, and wet…a good day for remembering.

  5. Troy Boyer says:

    THey truly are heroes CHannon. I write to a Sgt in Afganistan, who is a woman. I send her little care packages. SHe is due home soon and I want her to know how much we think of her and thank her.

  6. Katherine says:

    Well said Channon!! Sue, I am so sorry this day holds such sad memories for you. You are in my thoughts and prayers!

    It always brings tears to my eyes when DH, who is a veteran himself, stops to thank a man or woman in uniform or another veteran. It’s a club with extremely high membership dues. God bless every one of them today and every day!!

  7. Nancy says:

    Today is a bittersweet day – without the sacrifice of those who gave all, we can enjoy our freedom. Thank you to those who proudly serve or have served this country.

Leave a Reply

