Beating the Heat?

photo.JPG

This is why we go to the beach off-season!

Happy Thorsday, little friday and Thankful Thursday!  Given the first heat wave of the summer, we are varying our walking schedule to make it happen.  Some of you may not know that Basset Hounds are double-coated.   That means Sis has a fine, downy undercoat and a coarse outer layer to protect her from briars as she hunts rabbits.  You know… in theory… as the breed was designed for a specific task years ago.

My body is also requesting more yoga and less pavement pounding anyway, so… good timing, Mother Nature.   Do you have a favorite yoga, pilates, stretching resource to share? 

For Thankful Thursday, we’re grateful for free goodies, especially when they’re Sissy-friendly and fur-girl approved.  I was talking with another dog-ma, newly gluten free, and she was guessing how hard it is for me to feed Sis.  (Sis isn’t truly gluten free, but … close enough.)  It was really a challenge for the first couple of years, but we are fortunate that we are a consumer-driver world, and we are educated consumers, demanding healthy food options for our pets too.   We still read labels, even on trusted brands, but we have so many more options virtually every time we go to the store.

What are you thankful for today?

8 comments on “Beating the Heat?

  1. Ruth says:

    Thankful for a quiet morning and a nice cuppa

  2. Troy Boyer says:

    Im thankful for you. Im thankful Bea is turning two on Sunday and he MADE it. He was the scrawny half haired poor doer…and he’s thriving. IM thankful for the summer weather here and even the storms. I am very thankful I ran into my aunt at the store today. She knows my families Drama and she is so supportive.

  3. Katherine says:

    Thankful, like you, for doggies to take a walk with!! This weekend is bath time for the two pups and as much as I love them I am not looking forward to it. I get as wet as they do.

    Yoga is a good thing!! Just last week our Doctor was telling DH that he should do yoga with me. The suggestion was not well received. He looks at me doing yoga and says, “Bye, I’ll be on the golf course.”

  4. Sue says:

    Dr B and I had a long talk about dog foods the other day. I’ll send an email with what I discovered. I’m having quite a time convincing the little girls that exercise is not recommended these days. Mac has been busy eating her plastic hat.

  5. AlisonH says:

    For all things that live and grow, as I look outside at my new cherry tree, leaves wide to the sun and branches dancing with the breeze. For getting to see the Nuttall’s woodpecker just now for the first time in a year. For the safe arrival of my child after a 12-hour drive, for the grandsons we’re about to fly out to see and hold. Life is good.

  6. Marjie says:

    I was talking to someone last weekend who said she found a grain free food called Taste of the Wild at Tractor Supply. She said she started feeding it to her 11 year old Golden Doodle, and the dog really perked up after a couple of weeks on it. Her Golden Doodle likes the salmon food the best, but there are evidently other kinds, as well. Just a thought, in case you need an alternative for Sissy.

    It’s good to enjoy the heat after all of these weeks of cold and rainy weather, though, isn’t it?

  7. gmariesews says:

    Today, I’m thankful for:
    *not appearing as frazzled as I feel during the week day
    *Squirrel!
    *having cute clothes to wear
    *eating better – love this time of year for fruits and veggies
    *friends for dinner
    *healthy dogs
    *and good friends, who are still around when I figure out how to make time in my day again.

    g

  8. Barbara says:

    I’d be more thankful if these torrential rains would stop. Enough already!

Leave a Reply

