Another in Search of…

July 2012 022

THE bag (and a basset ear)

Remember my quest(s) for the perfect handbag?  Well, it would seem that search is over, as I’m still carrying the coated fabric tote the Knight gave me for my birthday last year.  For those keeping score at home, that’s one bag for nearly one year.  I did switch out to a larger tote for the trip to Chicago, but for DC’s conference last month, I stuck with my trusty friend.

And when one suffers from chronic analysis paralysis, there must always be a quest.  Currently, it’s for perfect workout attire.   For comfort and function, my favorite pants are the Yogasmoga crops.   Their only flaw is a lack of pockets.  There’s one key/card pocket in the front waistband – a feature I adore – but that isn’t enough.  I need to have my iPhone (it is my GPS/pedometer and my security device) and a key with me when I leave the house.  The fabric is phenomenal, enough so that I can say Luluwho?

Let’s stop right there.  Maybe I’m unrealistic, but I don’t want to have separate, activity-based workout attire.  I do have four season’s worth of options, so adding in elements that only work in a gym or studio isn’t practical.  And besides, don’t those of you who workout inside still need a place to at least tuck a locker key?  Why do they make workout pants with NO pockets?

LS_1023-001_Adventure_Girl_SkirtMy favorite summer bottom to date is my Skirtsports Happy Girl (link to a sale) skirt.  It has pockets on both thighs and a back zippered pocket.  However, it’s a little long for petite me.  It’s great for coverage, but annoying for brisk-paced walking or jogging.  The shorts are mesh though, so that’s nice now that it’s very warm.  I want to try their new Adventure Girl Skirt, with FIVE pockets, but I believe it’s as long in the back as the Happy Girl, and that’s where the Happy Girl annoys me most… right “in” my knee.

I have a Nike dress to try, and yesterday I discovered Runningskirts.  Anyone know anything about them?  I want to try Athleta too, but they’re short on pockets.  And no, we don’t have any of these stores in podunk.

Anything exciting in your weekend plans?

 

9 comments on “Another in Search of…

  1. Katherine says:

    I try to find sports bras with pockets. Colosseum and Moving Comfort both make them. I really like the Runningskirts! I sent the link to my running daughter. Can the length be altered to make them fit you?

  2. kathy boyer says:

    I love the Athleta magazines they send here. I see you are getting lots of Andrea rain currently.
    AL is hiking in Shanendoah this weekend with nathan. IM OFF The weekend, and although I have a sore throat, I dont care. Im knitting and enjoying time away from work. THere is an art fair nearby and Fireman and I may go tomorrow.

  3. Nichole says:

    I’m with you on the WHY don’t work out pants have a tiny pocket! When I used to hit the gym, I used a combination lock just because of that… although I once used to put a key around my neck on one of those ball style chains… :/ I recall years ago Rebok made a thing that went around your wrist that could hold money, a key, etc…

  4. Kari says:

    Kari over at Dog is God in reverse wears skirts to run in all the time – stop by and ask her – she is a good friend of mine. I know we have the same name 🙂

    I can only walk in capris leggings – I cant stand wearing shorts while walking and sweating – they creep up in the crotch.

    No big plans…just web design, writing and CHORES…oh and taking care of the princess I suppose 🙂

  5. Marjie says:

    The bassett ear is a perfect complement to the bag. It seems to be the perfect bag for you. Maybe the hubby should have gotten you a spare for when this one wears out?

  6. AlisonH says:

    I’m chuckling. I just spent far too much time shopping–for arriba-bean chocolate and cocoa powder!

  7. Weekend plans include lots of baking in the WAY too much heat (104 at least) and a grad party and a picnic and dessert auction. Otherwise…just resting and knitting. 🙂 Love the basset ear.

  8. Sue says:

    I’ll be trying to catch up on all the stuff I missed this week. We had intensive training of two spotty pups this week and nothing else got done.

  9. Barbara says:

    No pockets in my workout pants. I carry a small workout bag and leave it right behind me on the sidelines in the workout room. So does everyone else. When I walk, I safety pin a key to the inside of my pants. 🙂

Leave a Reply

