Straps showing?

I think most of you who are regular readers have figured out I’m a fairly conservative dresser.  I like things covered up, in downward dog and especially out and about. 

47416I’m craving built-in bras for some reason, which if you know me, is a little silly.   (Pigs and wings, anyone?)  But Sahalie has a cami that LOOKS like it would work, especially since it has underwire AND comes in conventional bra sizes. 

Hem.  The Knight told me to send it back and maybe try one that fits.  I’ve worn the same size bra for going on two years now, so I’m pretty sure it’s not me.  I’d say it runs close to two cup sizes too small, so…  I’m just going to send it back.  Besides, you can’t really tell from that photo, but the back straps feature an adjustable “bra strap” type thing that I won’t be showing in public. 

74737It’s clearly evident in their other type of cami photo, but I didn’t have a clue for the above-tank, although I should have from the detailed product description.    Am I being too uptight to not want something that to me, is a bra strap showing in public?

It’s one thing to have a spaghetti-strap tank with adjustable straps showing.  Those sliders are discrete.  This thing has 1″ straps with the metal hardware to match.  I do have a maxi dress with spaghetti straps, and I wear a strapless bra when I wear that dress.

Here ends my search for non-athletic wear tops with built-in bras, regardless of how you weigh in on the strap issue.

This entry was posted in Fashion.

12 comments on “Straps showing?

  1. Mary says:

    I can’t find a bra that fits, much less a bra/top combination. Doesn’t help when you are a 38…Long. Good luck.

  2. Kari says:

    I have several tank tops with bras built in and I hate them all. I love the idea of the first tank because its not spaghetti strap. I have boobs not ant bites 🙂 I need thicker better straps. I love the idea thought esp for a stay at home mom who doesn’t want to wear a bra all day these are perfect.

  3. km says:

    1″ adjusters?! I think you could wear that *under* a jacket or something, but really why bother. I need a new sports bra for the summer. Hmmm…don’t really want to shop for that. Have you tried http://www.athleta.com/

  4. Walden121 says:

    Every built in tank I’ve tried I disliked, but who knows maybe there is one out there that is good.

    In general I am not a fan of bra straps showing, but if it’s technically part of a top, I don’t care.

  5. Marjie says:

    I don’t think “built=ins” work on girls who are “built”. And if your hubby is saying it doesn’t fit, then it really and truly doesn’t fit. It’s interesting that all of your commenters say you’re hunting something which they find doesn’t exist!

  6. kathy boyer says:

    I sort of solve this Channon ( OMG Im giving YOU dressing advice) by purchasing tees with fat straps. No skinny straps. THen I can wear a light bra under it and the straps dont show through.
    I buy dresses this way too….

  7. Katherine says:

    I really dislike the bra strap showing thing!!! I know “all” the girls do it these days, but color me old fashioned, it’s not for me. As for a cami with a built in bra, after about the 10th one I tried that looked awful and didn’t support, I gave up and never looked at them again. I will definitely be interested in what you come up with!

  8. Nichole says:

    I’ve never been a fan of the tanks w/ built in “bra.” They’ve never worked and just aren’t for me…

  9. Sandi T. says:

    I have this wonderful double sided sticky tape designed for hiding your bra strap under a tank top. I LOVE IT!!! It is wonderful!!! Maybe that will work for you??

  10. Built ins never work for me, and I don’t like straps showing either! Fat enough shirt straps to cover, or two shirts, or…cover ups. The end

  11. Nancy says:

    I’m not a fan of showing bra straps, but I know it is all the rage here. Camis with built-in bras simply would not work to corral my gals, so I’ll leave them to those who wear an A- cup.

  12. Sue says:

    I should stay away from this one, but I’m not one to avoid controversy. Back in my active feminist days I threw away my bras. I didn’t burn them, just discarded them. I haven’t owned one since. I love the feel of silk against my body and have had many lacy silky camis and slips but no bras. I think every now and then that a woman my age shouldn’t go braless, but now that the girls have known freedom, they don’t want to be confined. Too much info, right?

    For what it’s worth, I hate the new style of showing the straps. Really ugly!!

Leave a Reply

