Very Light Reading

51+XXM6ipML__BO2,204,203,200_PIsitb-sticker-arrow-click,TopRight,35,-76_AA278_PIkin4,BottomRight,-52,22_AA300_SH20_OU01_I keep forgetting to review books.  I re-read Tough Cookies for the JLC book club last month, and I also zoomed through Death Catches a Killer, another little novella by Teresa Watson.   Lizzie Crenshaw is a sassy, smart, loyal gal, but I don’t think I’d want to hang out with her.  She’s totalled a few vehicles, been shot, gotten others shot at, etc.  Talk about a magnet for trouble! 

I hear the next book is longer – more like a full-length novel, and I’m looking forward to it.  Lizzie lives in a podunk town too, where everyone knows everyone else, so I find it very easy to relate, but I wouldn’t want her to watch the fur-girls for me either.  Her house is broken into so often she might consider putting in a revolving door.  Those are kinda’ fun, aren’t they?

While I have a pile of cozies waiting, I’ve started Farenheit 451, also for the JLC book club.  I believe I’ve mentioned that our new focus is literacy, so the vice-chair of our Literacy Go Team thought it would be a neat way to honor our new focus.

What are you reading?

8 comments on “Very Light Reading

  1. gMarie says:

    There’s a new Lizzie coming out? Fun. I’m reading Lost and Found. After finishing a good book with a horrible ending by a favorite author. Sobbed through the end. g

  2. Katherine says:

    I have a bunch of cozies waiting too but I think I might like to set them aside and read Death Catches a Killer. I think I might also like to hang out with Lizzie! She sounds like one of the “gang of three” ladies I hang out with–the one who carries the .45 in her purse. I stay away from heave reading in the summer. Books like Farenheit 451 is curl up by the fire winter reading for me.

  3. AlisonH says:

    The temperature at which paper spontaneously combusts.

    I’ve been trying to get myself to sit down and take the time to read Letters From Yellowstone.

  4. Kathy says:

    A couple days ago I finished the new Dan brown book Inferno. It was suspenseful and I kept reading to see what Robert Langdon was up to.

    Now I’m reading the new Stephen King, Joyland. He released this in paperback only, no ebook version.

  5. Sue says:

    I’m rereading an old favorite “And Ladies Of The Club”. It takes place in the years following the Civil War in a fictional town that is modeled on Zenia, Ohio. It follows the members of the literary club and their families and friends. It deals with the politics of the time: aftermath of war, immigration (Irish and German), education, a do nothing Congress and of course women’s rights. Sounds familiar somehow, doesn’t it?

  6. kathy boyer says:

    oh fun fun. IM planning to read GULP. IT is about eating and our eating ways.
    My friend Linda is my book finder.

  7. Nancy says:

    Do audio books count? On my way to and from Denver, I listened to Firefly Lane and To Catch a King – both great, by the way.

  8. Ruth says:

    Still not quite back in reading mode yet, so limited to reading The Patriarchs for my weekly Bible study…hoping I get busy reading at camp next week.

Leave a Reply

