Books by the Bay Mysteries

I’ve been reading a lot again.  I finished Bradbury’s Fahrenheit 451 last Friday, and dove right into book #2 of Books by the Bay Mystery Series by Ellery Adams.  But first, I’ll touch on F 451.  The League book club will discuss it tomorrow night, and it is an interesting selection for a group whose new focus is literacy.  It’s even more interesting because the main character is a fireman, whose job is to burn books.  That’s so foreign to my own experience as a firefighter, where I truly enjoyed that books, by their very construction, usually weathered a fire better than other personal items.

I’m eager to discuss how well Mr. Bradbury predicted large TVs that dominate a home, and how his wife cares more about the characters in her TV shows than what’s going on in her own life.  It will be interesting to see how this still very new to us focus on literacy will wash over our discussion. 

If you haven’t read this classic, I will note that it’s a short, easy read.  Yes, it can be as deep and thought-provoking as you want it to be, but it’s also a quick way to add a classic by a great American Author to your reading list.  He’s not Faulkner or Michener, but I am indeed a Bradbury fan.  I read it on my iPad via the Kindle app.

a_deadly_Catch_smI rewarded myself with a little – okay, a lot – of light reading.  I quickly devoured A Deadly Cliche, book #2 in the Books by the Bay Mysteries, and finished The Last Word last night.  I started Written in Stone immediately, and have already confirmed that Amazon is pre-selling the fifth book in the series for a fall release. 

I hesitate to call these cozy mysteries.  The books are over 250 pages in a not-large-print font, and at least with books #2 and #3, once the murder is solved, there’s still a personal mystery or two to wrap up before the book reaches its conclusion.  I can’t say more without a spoiler alert, and I really think a lot of you would enjoy this series, so… 

It doesn’t hurt that the books are set in coastal Carolina, or that one of the main characters is the impeccably well-mannered Captain Haviland.  Yup… that’s the good dog right there, front and center of the cover.  He reminds me very much of another black standard poodle I knew in my childhood, who was also the constant companion of a stately, single woman.   However, Mrs. E was a mature widow, not a dead-body finding 40-something…

I’m reading this series in paperback, courtesy of Basically Blogless Susan, aka: my book source.  Most of my cozies come from her.  One advantage of paper (real?) books is that they can be shared as long as the binding holds up.  Susan buys them and generally, at least two others read them before they come to me, and then I send them west to gMarie, who then sends them back east to a couple of others…

Do you share books with friends?   I’m actually eager to see what the book club will pick next, and I still have a deep pile of cozies to tackle!

10 comments on “Books by the Bay Mysteries

  1. Nancy says:

    It’s been years since I’ve read it, but I also enjoyed F451. Several of Bradbury’s books/stories feature inventions that we currently have: I find that fascinating.

  2. kathy boyer says:

    Wow you are a reading machine! Glad you have downtime now that League responsibilities have become less demanding of your time. WHo reads with you Gretchen or SIssy???

  3. Huge fan of Bradbury, Channon. Have you ever read The Illustrated Man by him. LOVE that book but I haven’t read it, or any other fiction in quite some time. Soon though, soon:)

    Thanks for sharing…

    P.S. The letter B is yours!!! Can not wait to see what you tote!

  4. Katherine says:

    I love everything Ray Bradbury wrote but my favorite was Dandelion Wine. And now, this is me headed off to browse the Bay Mysteries! Thanks Chan. You always come up with great books!

  5. Sue says:

    Read F 451 years ago though I might need to find it again. I’m sure I have it in the library. I don’t really like mysteries or detective books so I can’t contribute to the Cozies conversation. I no longer loan books because I’ve had too many not returned even when I wrote my name in them and told them that I wanted them back. Not everyone respects books.

  6. I like some Bradbury, and think you will have lively discussions at JL about Fahrenheit 451. Yes, I do share books, though with reading more on my Kindle these days, it looks a bit different than in years past. Started The Moonstone last night…classic.

  7. Marjie says:

    I read F451 with Ryan as summer reading before his freshman year of high school. I found it deeply disturbing, and promptly went out to buy more books. About 100 more books, from an ad in the paper, actually. I read a light and easy book on my trip to Florida, along with 2 Dashiell Hammett books, a history of the US, and another that I’ve only half finished. Some Kindle, some real. I don’t often pass on books, because they are my friends (and I only buy hardbacked books), but I do encourage the kids to take them off the shelves and read the tarnation out of them. Of course, you’ve gotten a couple of my duplicates, so you know I’m not above sharing….

  8. Blond Duck says:

    Totally going to check out Farenheit 451. What is a cozy mystery, exactly?

  9. gmariesews says:

    Hmmm – F451 sounds interesting actually. Might have to look into it. I just finished “Lost and Found”. Funny thing is I remember reading it before, but not all of it. I also did a ‘very lame’ review of it back in 2008 (really?) and passed the book along – this time, I enjoyed it so much more. And regarding our convo the other day about Lizzie Crenshaw? The current book is 250 pages according to Mr. Nook and not 70 or so like the others. She did okay with that transition?

    I have a box of books about ready to head east again. I think I’ve read all the series in the box. g

  10. Barbara says:

    I’m amazed your book group continues over the summer, Chan. Everything comes to a halt here.
    As far as sharing books, I usually download to Kindle, although I often buy used books…cheaper than Kindle frequently.

Leave a Reply

