Ramped… down?

Happy Thorsday, little friday, Thankful Thursday and last day of spring.   I need a little advice on training over on the girls’ blog, please?

photo.JPGSee that rustic boat landing?  Yeah.  That’s what it looked like in the dead of winter.  Imagine what it’s like after several inches of rain in just a few days.  Imagine what kind of idiot would venture near it, even in (very worn) trail running shoes.

Hem.  There are no photos of me, with mud from shoulder to toe, but the girls begged to go to the river, and while I was assuring them it was too wet… 

Yeah.  I am sure I looked like a cartoon, with my feet flying out from under me, but I landed on my right side.  From the looks of the drying mud, I decided my hip/thigh had taken the brunt of the fall, but based on what still hurts five days later, I evidently tried to catch myself and twisted my arm and shoulder. 

Brooks Cascadia 8 (current version... not the 6 that is tried and true for me)

Brooks Cascadia 8 (current version… not the 6 that is tried and true for me)

I’m thankful I wasn’t really hurt.  I’m thankful that thus far, my walking injuries have been very mild and have allowed me to tote myself home, even with two energetic dogs in tow.   But I’m wondering how to know when to retire my beloved trail shoes.  (I do have a brand new, identical pair in waiting.)  In the past, I’ve simply waited until the shoes no longer protected me from my old athletic injuries and their pains, or until something cracked, split or otherwise signalled that the time had come.  But these Brooks Cascadia gems just keep on. 

Why yes, the soles are slick, and I do realize that’s a bad idea for trails and on a hard-surface road, but these shoes still feel like no other on my feet and cushion my somewhat fragile back from the stress of covering 20 miles or more most weeks at all sorts of paces.  I’ve put way more than 600 miles on them, and they’re pushing a year old, which is really saying something; I generally have to retire my walking/running shoes after about 6 months, no matter what the exterior looks like, because being an accident-prone youth athlete is a gift that keeps on giving.

I do rotate shoes.  I have hiking shoes that are worn about once a week in the colder months, I have grete Brooks Ghosts for cold, wet trails, and I have the New Balance road runners the Knight bought me.   Currently, I rotate back and forth between the Brooks Cascadias, the New Balances and a dash of Brooks Ghost if it’s cool and wet. 

What do you perhaps need to let go of soon?

9 comments on “Ramped… down?

  1. kathy boyer says:

    Isnt it wednesday??
    But poor you falling. Did you hit your head sweetie?? its wednesday…

  2. Katherine says:

    Ummmm I thought this was Thursday. Anyway, I’m going to have to let go of the idea that I have two hands to use until the pinched nerve in my shoulder gives up and goes away or just stops hurting. Maybe I’ll start running (with my arm in the sling) instead of knitting. Hahahaha–that’s not going to happen!!

  3. sue says:

    Ha ha, I saw this post on my Kindle yesterday but by the time I got to my computer it was gone. Now here it is again.

    I have a pair that are smooth from overuse and although they’re comfy, I know they’re dangerous. I need to toss them before an accident happens.

  4. Nancy says:

    I just retired two pairs of sneakers: I tend to wear them waaaaay too long. It’s amazing how much support the new pairs provide in comparison.

  5. Marjie says:

    Brutus wants to help me retire a pair of maroon velvet flats; he keeps taking the insoles out of them. He thinks it’s great fun; I want to keep wearing them.

    I hope you can convince the girls to stay out of the river; I surely wouldn’t want two leashes pulling on me in the mud! Glad you weren’t hurt too seriously, save for your pride.

  6. AlisonH says:

    Oh, Chan! I’m sorry! So while I was complaining about my own fall you were already dealing with yours and not mentioning it nor complaining. You’re a trooper. I’m wondering what kind of non-skid substance one could put on the bottom of those favorite shoes of yours–or something, so you wouldn’t have to give them up, but, taking care of you is more important than any pair of shoes.

  7. StarSpry says:

    I’m glad you didn’t get hurt too badly! I hope it dries out a bit over there. Maybe you can send some of the rain our way 🙂

  8. Blond Duck says:

    I need to let go of the idea that I’m going to figure out what I’m supposed to be doing.

  9. Barbara says:

    Yikes! I probably would have broken something. Glad you’re OK. I don’t know what will help shoe wise on your walks. I do know one is supposed to replace gym type shoes every 3 months. When my legs start hurting I know it’s time.

Leave a Reply

