Yoga Nogo

With a wee dog with a big tummy bug and too much heat and humidity this weekend, we skipped the trails and hit the mat.  (Gretchen’s fine now.  Like a person with the same symptoms, recovery is a little slow, but her appetite is back.)

The first dvd I tried is so bad I can’t even send it to GoodWill in good conscience.  I confess, I’m not a Jillian Michaels fan, but Yoga Meltdown is DANGEROUS.  I’ve been doing yoga for more than 15 years, so I’m no novice and it took all of my experience and self-awareness to avoid injury.  She does have one “student” doing basic modifications, but she encourages the viewer to “jump” between poses that don’t really allow for a rapid transition.  And that was at level 1.  I’m putting it in the trash before my curiosity leads me to try level 2.

51Wi2evnMrL__AA160_In sharp contrast, the Element Total Body Pilates with Mini Ball workouts are very safe and beginner friendly.  Getting the ball inflated and the plug back in before it deflated… not so much.  I tried and failed enough that Gretchen was stressed, and it took the Knight a few times to get the timing right.

But the workouts – a 20-minute or a 30-minute – are adaptable to your fitness and comfort levels.  There are some fairly advanced moves, and while I think she only suggested one should only do what is comfortable at the start of the video, again…  I know my limitations and I don’t do “full-body” rocking motions in any form – yoga, pilates or barre.   This one is a  keeper.  It’s hardly as rewarding as an hour of a barre class, but it’s a nice addition to my home workout video collection.

If you follow Living Social for discounts, look for a barre offer.  gMarie had one in her market last week, and I just scored 4 Pure Barre sessions for $35 today.  It doesn’t expire for five years, so I’ll have plenty of time to use them.

Have you ever tossed a DVD (or book or …) because it was too awful to pass on?

11 comments on “Yoga Nogo

  1. Sue says:

    Yes! It’s hard for me to part with a book even a not so good one that I might not finish, but there have been a couple that were so bad I wouldn’t want anyone else to have to suffer thru them. I’m not a Jillian Michaels fan either. I’m turned off by people who are so much in love with themselves that it shows like a flashing light.

  2. Katherine says:

    Oh, no,no,no–no jumping between yoga poses!!!! I would have thrown that one away too! Like others here I am NOT a Jillian Michaels fan. I think her workouts include a lot of iffy suggestions. Yoga is supposed to be calming and stretch you out in a relaxed way. Rodney Yee would have a fit about that one!! Namaste.

  3. kathy says:

    I certainly have tossed a book so no one else would be subject to it. Just once, I think. It was Sweater Quest by Adrienne Martini. (Link for reference only: http://www.amazon.com/Sweater-Quest-Year-Knitting-Dangerously/dp/1416597646/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1295026852&sr=1-1 –Please don’t bother reading it.)

    As I wrote in my year-end reading review:

    I should not have bothered! A book about knitting a sweater–I thought I’d like it. But I found it to be awful. A knitter who is internet and Ravelry connected would not learn anything new here. And the story would not at all appeal to a non-knitter. At the time I finished this book, I was wrapping up a swap. I had originally thought I’d pass it on to my swap person. But I could not do that to her!

    And regarding workout wear, expecially post-workout wearing, to run errands: I am so not in favor of this! Like you, I am a sweaty mess when finished running. I have to take off my clothes and wring them out before hanging to dry. It would be extremely uncomfortable and gross to go anywhere in them. And even if I wasn’t, I don’t believe in wearing workout wear if one is not working out.

  4. kathy says:

    especially not expecially

  5. AlisonH says:

    The Dorothy Parker type, ie, “it should be hurled with great force” across the room. I’ve had two books I’ve put in the recycling rather than Goodwill. One of them, the protagonist was a creepy lecherous old man preying on the vulnerable, and it was clear the author wanted his audience to like the guy–leaving one thinking, oh, so it’s really you sir and you’re trying to justify that mindset? Get OUT of my house.

  6. Nancy says:

    Yes, I have tossed both DVDs and books rather than pass them on to an unsuspecting person. I don’t know how those who profess to be physical trainers can in good conscience produce a dangerous video, but I’ve had some, too.

  7. Blond Duck says:

    I don’t understand why trainers are throwing pylometrics into everything. Have you tried blogilates on youtube?

  8. Barbara says:

    You know I take classes rather than use DVD’s, but do you know…the problem is the same? The instructors so often do things I can’t manage. One needs to know one’s own limits and stick to it. But so often, I see them jumping around and want to say…don’t do that, you’ll be sorry in the future. (Think that everytime I see those side planks. So hard on shoulders.) What a fuddy duddy I’ve become. 🙂

  9. Marjie says:

    I hide from exercise. I’m sorry; am I not supposed to admit that? Oh, well.

    And I hate to discard books, but sometimes it’s necessary. I’ve had to do it with a couple of Kindle books, which doesn’t make me feel as bad, because you can’t hold electrons. But it’s sad to discard paper; it reminds me of Fahrenheit 451.

  10. kathy boyer says:

    Most definitely . Sadly, it was our neighbors book that she wrote. Hate to say but it the book depicted mental illness horribly and was written supposedly for children. I dont know what she was thinking…

  11. To answer your question…yes! And, I think for the foreseeable future, I will be skipping all workout videos…since I hurt myself on the yoga for arthritis suffers, aka yoga for the oldsters. 🙂

Leave a Reply

