Motivation?

0708_01Skirt Sports sent out an email earlier this week with their newest tees, and then on Wednesday, a friend and I joked about my Nana’s age-old admonishment…  I do indeed live to eat rather than eat to live.  (My friend agreed that she does too.  Food is good!)

I think these tees are cute, but none of them really speak to me.  Where’s the one that says I run for lasagna?  Or cheese?

But the truth is, I exercise because I feel better when I do.  I grew up active, and I don’t mind a good sweat, especially now with all these technical fabrics wicking my own rivers of funk away from me. 

And I exercise because the fur-girls are hairy, high-energy machines.  It gets annoying quick, fast and in a hurry, but it’s cute when Sissy whines, and then jumps and spins and spits while she barks because she wants her walk.  It’s adorable when Gretchen Greer pounces in my face because it’s walk time and  I still have my laptop in my lap.

No, we don’t do off days too often in the Woods.  We only run once (or twice if one of the dogs insists) a week, and the daily walking mileage varies from 2 to 7 miles.  However, given all the rain and storms of late, there have been several sprints home and a few more “indoor mat” dvd sessions than the dogs would like…

What’s your motivation?

This entry was posted in Fitness.

12 comments on “Motivation?

  1. Katherine says:

    I love the t-shirts. Really cute! Food has always been my exercise motivation. I definitely exercise for chocolate and wine. Cupcakes and doughnuts just don’t do it for me! I do feel better when I exercise but I also feel better when I sit down and read or knit after a long day at work. Yes, food’s the thing!!

  2. Nichole says:

    ha ha Cute Tees… I’m with you though – where’s the cheese one?

  3. Sue says:

    I have ten dogs. Do I need any more motivation?

    I want to get Morgan a shirt that says ‘powered by bacon’.

  4. AlisonH says:

    Chocolate.

    Motivation for exercise: if I can do anything to make me feel healthier, than how could I not, and exercise really really makes a difference there.

  5. Marjie says:

    I also live to eat. That makes it hard to not gain a million pounds a year. My dearly beloved eats to live. That honks me off, because if he “forgets” to eat, and I don’t shove food in front of him, he loses a couple of pounds a day and doesn’t even notice. Gah!

    And where’s the shirt that says “I don’t run! I stroll slowly!”?

  6. I (walk not run) to stay sane! Oh, and yes, wellness issues, too, not food motivated.

  7. Kathy says:

    Cute shirts! But in reality my running motivation is so mental and personal that it would never make it onto a shirt nor would I wear it if it did! Luckily there are physical benefits too!

  8. kathy boyer says:

    My motivation is negatively based and that’s not good. I use the ecky liptical out of a sense of must lose some weight. Im seriously considering a cat stroller for Beatles …I like to walk with a dog but that’s out of the question right now….
    My motivation for Dropping Coke is weight loss for sure.
    Fireman and I both agree we’d love a pool in our yard someday but it is too short a season in Chicago
    I love to eat.

  9. gMarie says:

    UGH! I hate wordpress. For some reason my password wouldn’t work and I had to reset it – losing the long comment I wrote which actually made sense to what the post is about. I’m not typing it again – but stopping by to say hi, I miss you and I am reading even when I’m not commenting. And like my hounds I’m incredibly food motivated and live to eat. Hope you are well. g

  10. Barbara says:

    I HATE working out. I take classes, otherwise I’d never do it. Not self motivated like you are. I was always sports-active and always am thrilled when the class is over, but most classes, I am a clock watcher. Especially weight classes.

Leave a Reply

