The rest of the story

Photo courtesy of Kathyb

Photo courtesy of Kathyb

Last Tuesday, I had the distinct pleasure of hanging out with Kathyb and family, right here in podunk!  Nothing like playing tour guide to make you appreciate your hometown.

Kathy gives me far more credit than I deserve, but I’ll try to fill in the gaps. 

We dined at Hamiltons’ which never disappoints, but you have to know Hamiltons’ wasn’t my original choice.  First, I’d thought we’d do a brewery, but they’re all roughly half an hour out of town, and we were wandering around the shops on the downtown mall while Al – Kathy’s daughter – made her way to us from another part of the state.   There is a brewery downtown, but it’s closed on Tuesdays (of course!) so I suggested South Street, because it after all, South Street Brewery.  (Their website isn’t working, so no link today.)  However, they’re not open for lunch either!  We also tried to stop in another eatery downtown and they weren’t open either, and I confess at this point, I don’t even remember its name.  But there’s always Hamiltons’, and while it isn’t known for its beer selection, we did have a great meal.

Courtesy of the Monticello Store

Courtesy of the Monticello Store

Kathy wants to know more about Sally Hemings.  Don’t we all?!   I confess, she fascinates me too.  Who was the woman Thomas Jefferson seemed to love?  Well… she was his wife’s half-sister, for starters, and there is DNA evidence – although not a consensus among historians – that Mr. Jefferson sired at least one child with Hemings.  Kathy wants a reading recommendation, and I suggest The Hemingses of Monticello.  Yes, its subject is broader than the span of Sally’s life, but as a native of the area, I can assure you, the Hemingses are as much a part of local history as is Mr. Jefferson himself. 

Side note here…  yes, you can find the book on Amazon too, but if you buy from Monticello, a portion of the sale supports said national treasure.   I can assure you, it’s fiscally secure, but I hope that 200 years from now, it still will be and people from all over the world will continue to visit and be inspired to learn more about Mr. Jefferson.   As his relationship with Ms. Hemings illustrates, the great patriot, farmer and philanthropist (to name just a few of his claims to fame) was flawed, but that just makes him more interesting and sparks more discussions, right?

Next time Kathyb, we’ll tour the Grounds of Mr. Jefferson’s college.  I love his original “campus” best, and you can also see Edgar Allen Poe’s room on the same short walk.

What’s the infamous scandal in your town’s history?  (As if the Jefferson affair was the only one here…)

 

 

 

10 comments on “The rest of the story

  1. kathy boyer says:

    IM OFF TO the site to buy the book! and support the wonderful place that is MONTICELLO.

    Scandal ?? IN CHICAGO??? too many to list. BUt the one scandal in my own little village is the unsolved mystery of the death of Mrs. Brach the candy heiress. Some say the evil Silas brothers and their horse trades were involved….we don’t know. Love me some butterscotch candies.

  2. Nancy says:

    Great photo – please tell us more about “The Noodle Lady.” Did you and Kathyb share any knitting stories? Did the fur-girls meet Kathyb, too?

    It would be great fun to meet some of my blogging buddies.

  3. AlisonH says:

    Cool! I will have to read that. Glad you had a good time!

    I once asked someone who Peter Coutts was, since he’s got a road named after him at Stanford, and apparently he was a prominent con artist in the 1800’s, a total flim flam man. So they honored him like that? Why?

  4. Ruth says:

    Yay for great visits and new histories to read….I am a big fan of both. True confessions…I don’t know what the local scandals are, but drive a few miles SE to Sacramento and you can find plenty to choose from!

  5. Dee says:

    Sounds like y’all had a great time in spite of all the closed restaurants.

    I don’t know of any *OLD* scandals where I live, but we certainly have enough in modern times (the Casey Anthony trial and now the George Zimmerman trial). Sometimes living in the *happiest place on earth* is not what you would expect. 😦

  6. Katherine says:

    I was 5 years old the only time I went to Monticello but I do remember bits and pieces. My mother remembers that I said I wanted to leave because I didn’t like the “feel” of the house and grounds. I am going to get the Hemings book ASAP. It looks like a great read!!

    Scandal in Fort Worth, Texas–the biggest has to be T. Cullen Davis and his ex-wife Priscilla. He is said to have killed her daughter and the daughter’s boyfriend, but he was acquitted. It is generally accepted that his oil money bought off the judge and said to be the “best justice money can buy.”

  7. Nichole says:

    Glad to hear you had a nice time!

  8. Marjie says:

    Monticello is wonderful, and it’s nice that someone else got to meet up with you.

    Scandal in our little town? Well, in one square mile, how much can there be? The meter reader who broke into my house when the governor owned it? The police chief had him nabbed in about 4 minutes, so goes the story. Rumor has it that the governor would have a helicopter fly him home and land on the back lawn, but I’m not entirely sure I buy it.

    The negro woman who lived in the house on the site of mine in the 1850s is rumored to have clobbered her husband with a skillet once. The school originally across the street from my house (which burned down around 1930) was named for a friend of its founder, President Madison.

    Nope. Nothing qualifies as a scandal.

  9. Well, it seems like you over came some “dining” obstacles and had a wonderful day, Channon. I have ordered seeds from Monticello many times and have never been disappointed. I may just order that book because I’ve been looking for a good “factual” read. I’m going to pass this link along via twitter because I know someone who is a huge fan of Jefferson. I’m sure he knows about it but just in case.

    I don’t know of any scandals in my neck of the woods…

    Thanks for sharing…

  10. Blond Duck says:

    I bet his wife was furious!

Leave a Reply

