Sunset and evening star

I’m pretty sure I’ve mentioned before – repeatedly – that I was blessed to have the best introduction to serious poetry as a ‘tween.  Between that and the compassionate care my mother demonstrated – and took me along as she did so – for our family, friends and neighbors, the concept of hospice is something I wholly appreciate.

Please bear with me.  Posts are likely to be sporadic again, as I focus on needs right here in front of me.  Cancer is raging in too many lives of those I hold dear.  Their stories aren’t mine to tell, but on Thursday, I learned of two League members I consider treasures… one had finally lost her fight, and another is giving us the gift of her final days so we can assure she knows what a positive impact she has had on the League, on our community.  On Friday, two great patriarchs from families that have been a part of my life for ages both slipped away after very long fights.

There are others.  I honestly don’t have it in me to list all of the people I know who are either fighting cancer or caring for someone who is.  And then, there was a very dear doggy death – not from cancer, thankfully – I haven’t mentioned here either… (His mother isn’t a blogger, but he was a very special companion.)

Because of Mr. Murray’s english classes, I have a death poem for any mood, but today, I give you my favorite poet’s more gentle thoughts.  I wish such a gentle glide into that good night for everyone in hospice care.

 

Crossing the Bar

 
 
Sunset and evening star,
  And one clear call for me!
And may there be no moaning of the bar,
  When I put out to sea,

But such a tide as moving seems asleep,
    Too full for sound and foam,
When that which drew from out the boundless deep
    Turns again home.

Twilight and evening bell,
And after that the dark!
And may there be no sadness of farewell,
    When I embark;

For tho’ from out our bourne of Time and Place
    The flood may bear me far,
I hope to see my Pilot face to face
    When I have crost the bar.

 

This entry was posted in Friends.

15 comments on “Sunset and evening star

  1. Krystle says:

    What a beautiful poem. So sorry to hear you are dealing with so many people (and dogs) passing, and all related to the same terrible cause. I’ll be thinking of you, and your friends and loved ones.

  2. kathy boyer says:

    Channon So SOrry for you recent losses. That’s a lot at once. Death is never joyful for us…but I hope it is for the dying somehow. I think of Steve job’s last words; OH WOW OH WOW!

  3. Mary says:

    Strength, courage and love will carry you through. You have all of them in abundance. Remember, and hold on. Prayers are with you.

  4. Katherine says:

    Thank you for sharing Channon!! My thoughts and prayers will be with those so dear to you who are standing strong as the end approaches. I have a special place in my heart for Hospice. They cared for my dear Mother at the end of her time on earth, and in so doing cared for me and my family in a loving way I would have not thought possible. I am reminded of the Hospice nurse who held me in her arms as she put the stethoscope on Mother’s chest for the last time. I love that nurse to this day!!

    The poem is lovely!

  5. km says:

    No words…just thoughts and prayers for you and those you hold dear.

  6. AlisonH says:

    Oh, Chan! I’m so sorry. Okay world: nobody else for awhile. Give our Chan a break while she concentrates on looking out for those who are struggling now and their loved ones.

    Prayers that the burdens may be light on the shoulders.

  7. Marjie says:

    So sorry for your losses. The girls will give you hugs any time you need them. The rest of us send them from afar.

  8. Nancy says:

    I, too, have a special place in my heart for hospice. I only wish it had been available 50 years ago when my father was terminal: it would have made his final days more comfortable. My community now has a hospice house (it’s three years old) which offers patients a gentle way to leave this world.

    May the families of your friends have the opportunity to say good-bye, and may the patients (your friends/loved ones) be surrounded in their final days and moments by those who love them dearly. Blessings and Peace

  9. gmariesews says:

    What an incredibly lovely and peaceful post with such an ugly underlying topic. I’m sorry you are dealing with so much. I am however thankful that you’re friends have you to lean on as they deal with the tragedy that life is handing them. g

  10. Oh Channon, I’m so sorry you are dealing with all of this now. As you know, my daughter is under going chemo “as we speak” I had positive news from her today. The loss of life to cancer is unspeakable. However, the poem is lovely.

    Thank you so much for sharing…sending hugs your way:)

  11. gypsyknits says:

    Beautiful and peaceful poem in the dark fight of cancer. Prayers and love to everyone.

  12. Blond Duck says:

    I’m sorry there’s so much pain in your little pond.

  13. Sometimes life seems so difficult to bear…with all it’s sorrows and trials…you do what your heart tells you…with you in spirit, my friend

Leave a Reply

