Fight for the Living

Thank you for the prayers, kind words and support after yesterday’s post.  Sadly for the world, blessedly for the suffering, another friend’s sister gave up her fight early this morning. 

UntitledSo how timely that my favorite cousin popped in yesterday – herself, a cancer survivor x2 – for hugs, laughs, jabs at the Knight (whom I’m sure she claims as HER favorite cousin), and some perfect gifts.

The shower cap is a highly personal joke, but let’s just say that thanks to my well-traveled cousin, I am pretty sure I have the best international shower cap collection anywhere.

The Mother Jones card is just because she saw me “like” a post on Facebook.  Mother Jones is an American civics icon and an inspiring woman.  If you don’t know her story, click over.   Her quote, “Pray for the dead, and fight like hell for the living!” is one of my favorites, and ever so appropriate right now.

Have you gotten any great gifts lately?

8 comments on “Fight for the Living

  1. AlisonH says:

    Oh honey, I’m so sorry. Another loss. Prayers for all those who love them.

  2. Katherine says:

    I’m so sorry to hear of your loss! I will continue to pray for your friend’s family. I hope they feel all the loving arms of prayer wrapped around them at this time.

    We received a really great gift yesterday when our second oldest son came out of surgery after having a stent inserted in a crimped artery. After a mild heart attack on Monday evening he looked wonderfully healthy and said he felt much better! I am breathing much better today!!

  3. Marjie says:

    Sorry about yet another loss, yet how fortunate you had a visitor at just the right time to cheer you up!

    I found my baby fork in the trailer….here and I thought my idiot mother had lost or sold it over the last 40 years. It was black with tarnish and barely recognizable, but I remembered the handle through the crud when I saw it! So, it’s kind of like a present, right?

  4. kathy boyer says:

    WEll yes, Your Yarn for one. Katherine sent me two skiens of Lion Brand that looks like Noro and are so pretty. Finally, I bought myself THE HEMINGSES OF MONTICELLO and it just arrived in the mail! all nearly 800 pages of it!

  5. Sue says:

    I can’t think of a gift that has arrived recently but I’ve received some great ones in the past.

    It does seem that illnesses and losses come in groups. We’re glad you had a visitor to cheer you.

  6. Nancy says:

    I was totally surprised by a floral arrangement delivered to my house on my birthday (thanks, Cheryl). The flowers made my day extra special.

  7. Walden121 says:

    So sorry, I agree with the quote though.

  8. km says:

    No gifts lately…except for that purse I bought myself. It shipped. I haven’t gotten it yet.

    Sad day here. My Gramp found our the spots on his lungs are cancer. He’ll see the Dr. tomorrow to discuss.

Leave a Reply

