Light up the Night!

UntitledHappy Thorsday, little friday and thankful Thursday.  The girls have their own colorful post here.   This post features dog-walking at night.   We don’t do much walking in the dark, but Tuesday evening, Sissy fairly noted that it was cool enough to walk RIGHT at dusk… so we did, with their rope-light leashes in hand(s).

Yeah, Sis has boring yellow, because in natural light or unlit, Gg’s leash is pink, and if you are a remotely regular reader, you know that Gg can in fact discern PANK, and it is her signature color, and as such, ANYTHING of said hue is HERS, whereas Sis just wants to walk and doesn’t care what she’s wearing as long as she’s comfortable and moving.

The leashes don’t provide enough light for truly dark conditions for the human to safely move along, but at nightfall, they were adequate in the more open areas, given that it was a full moon.

Untitled

This photo gives the most accurate picture of our walks.  Note that Sis has her own agenda and is headed for it, and Gg is dancing happily, but moving in Sissy’s direction.   There’s rarely a dull moment walking these two.

Today, I’m thankful for the cooler weather.  I was tempted to play hookie from work so the girls and I could head for the trails!  I think it will be cool enough for us to do just that after work.

What are you thankful for today?

12 comments on “Light up the Night!

  1. km says:

    Love those leashes. I’m working on my thankful list. A few months back a friend gifted me a journal…and I want to keep my list in there. Until then, it’s in my head. I’ve been reading 1000 gifts. It’s like you Thankful Thursday already took you there.

    We’ve had cooler temps too. My back isn’t tolerating walking, so I’m taking Holly with my bike to the school.

  2. AlisonH says:

    Those are cool!!

  3. kathy boyer says:

    How cool are those leashes. I LOVE The pictures. LOVE LOVE LOVE Them. I bet they weren’t easy to take. Thanks!
    Im thankful Pie gained a tiny bit of weight….not much but it is a gain.
    IM thankful Zach got a teaching job!! !Yipee

  4. Mary says:

    Thankful? Butterflies–there are hundreds of them around our neighborhood right now…as well as an immature Bald Eagle in the tree (and on our gutter) by our deck. S/He is one very loud bird; evidently thinks our bird feeding stations are intended as a personal lunch table.

    As for leash-walking, DH says walking our two dogs is like trying to water-ski behind two boats (not necessarily going the same speed or direction).

  5. Nancy says:

    Not having a pet, I am learning a lot about accessories from your posts. These leashes are amazing.

    I am thankful to get back to my regular routine after two extended stints with visitors. So nice to have them here, but I am more comfortable with my own activities.

  6. Katherine says:

    Those leashes are amazing! The girls are so cute prancing along. I wish Macy and Max liked to walk as much.

    Today I am thankful for a, once again, healthy family!! Nothing brings our focus back to center faster than a sick child (furry or otherwise)!

  7. Kathy says:

    What great leashes! Where did you get them? I could see a use in my & Lucy’s lives.

  8. Sue says:

    Those are some fancy leashes. We don’t usually go anywhere but our back yard after dark. Mom did buy some flashy lights to clip on our collars so she could see us in the dark, but they didn’t show up very well in our long hair. Now she just uses a flashlight.
    Morgan, Sebastian, the Porties, Syd and Mac

  9. Marjie says:

    Those lighted leashes are fancy indeed! Brutus would be envious, if he didn’t dislike the leash so much, and if he had to have a leash. It’s funny that the girls look like a larger and smaller version of the same dog in this picture.

  10. Blond Duck says:

    Party on the trails!

  11. Barbara says:

    Very clever…never knew there were lighted leashes! I’m so out of the pet routine, that I learn about all the new things from you. 🙂

  12. Fun leashes, though not needed here in the land of street lights and no dark until nine at this point. We can’ t walk after dark anyway, tho, because of Misty’s cataracts…she just can’t see and gets nervous.

Leave a Reply

