Timeless Classics

47222803Way back when I was an energetic youth and teen, tennis was one of my passions.   As best I can recall, I never wore anything other than Tretorns on the court.   I have a just barely narrower than average/medium foot, not enough so that I can wear a narrow width, but enough so that I get blisters if I don’t wear thick socks.  Tretorns fit like a glove.

Maybe they never left, but I sure stopped being able to find them.   Then, they turned up on Reese’s feet in a Budget Babe Dress by Number post.   Finally, a celeb look I want to copy!

Of course, they take me back…  in high school, I wore pearls EVERY. SINGLE. DAY.   Actually, I still do wear at least pearl earrings more often than not.  I’ve babbled here more than once that pearls were just a few hours short of being my birthstone.  Oh, rubies are pretty too, but there’s just something about pearls…

Image courtesy of Pearls with Purpose

Image courtesy of Pearls with Purpose

Maybe it’s because they are gifts from the sea, so to speak.  (Don’t spoil my happy with the facts; I realize natural pearls are increasingly rare and that there are freshwater pearls too.)  And then there’s the oyster connection… love me some mollusks.  I also appreciate that pearls go with everything, so I don’t have to think about whether they match the rest of my outfit.

What’s making you nostalgic today?

 

This entry was posted in shoes.

11 comments on “Timeless Classics

  1. Amy Darsie says:

    I have a patient who uses the same before/ after shaving products as my grandfather did. Makes me all warm and fuzzy inside every morning at work.

  2. gmariesews says:

    Nostalgia – hmmm. I don’t know. Nothing really. It’s a gorgeous, sunny day in Seattle the water looks amazing and I’m all caught up! I think I’ve finally figure out this job I’ve got. Now I’m ready to go home. 🙂 g

  3. Nancy says:

    It’s County Fair time, and that always brings back my 4-H days and all the items I used to enter: canning, baking, sewing, knitting, crafts, demonstrations, etc. At least this year, I did enter a few items, mostly knits. I’ll find out next week how they placed.

  4. Katherine says:

    I am definitely nostalgic over my pearls. A business acquaintance of my father’s gave me a pearl necklace for a wedding gift and I wore several times a week. Then when they needed to be restrung 20 years later I learned that they are uniform sized, 12 mm Tahitian pearls. Now they live in a bank across town and I never wear them.

  5. Kathy says:

    We must be sisters! Love, love, love tretorns! The ultimate woman”s tennis shoes, the box said. Wore them in college as my casual shoes. So hard to find now. Do you have a source?

    Pearls are my sorority gem. Yes, i wear a string fairly often.

  6. Walden121 says:

    Don’t know that I am nostalgic about anything . . . my sister informed me that my niece keeps telling her that it’s time for Aunt Jodi to come home, which is sweet and makes me miss them.

  7. kathy boyer says:

    Well Zach got a teaching job at my elementary school. I dont have many good memories there…I was always trying to get out of going to school.
    Nostalgic for : my mom’s fried chicken…
    summer camping: so we’ll have a campfire in the yard tonight instead
    and
    my nurse’s cap.. I lost it years ago.

  8. Not surprisingly, I have never heard of those shoes! Nostalgic…been sorting through lots of old pics lately. Wow, we were young 30 yrs ago!

  9. Sue says:

    I have two piercings in my left ear and for years I wore a small pearl stud in one of them. A few years ago for Christmas, Rob gave me a diamond stud to replace it. I do have lots of pearls, but don’t think of myself as a pearl type person.

  10. Barbara says:

    Looking in my closet at my old Keds! And a pair of beat up old LLBean moccasins (that my daughter would kill for)!

  11. AlisonH says:

    Answer: your post.

    My grandmother at one point, I found out years later from my mom, decided to give a pearl necklace to each of her granddaughters. I got a silver strand with one very large pearl suspended, simple, elegant, just my then-teenage style. (Still is.) A year or two later she gave me a short matched strand, and it wasn’t until her funeral decades later at 96 that I discovered she’d gotten her two December-baby granddaughters mixed up and we were each supposed to get one but I got two. Oops. I’d had no idea. But we granddaughters were each offered a piece of Gram’s jewelry after the funeral and it came out okay.

Leave a Reply

